We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, welcoming, clean and warm place with...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fisherwood Cottage

The cottage with path to the river.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage with path to the river.
Cosy retreat. A home away from home. Awaiting you: fresh hotel-quality Egyptian cotton linen and two thicknesses of memory foam pillows.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
The cottage with path to the river.
Cosy retreat. A home away from home.
Awaiting you: fresh hotel-quality Egyptian cotton linen and two thicknesses of memory foam pillows.
Fully equipped kitchen with essentials: oil, salt and pepper, herbs, fresh milk, teabags and sugar.
Shower Room. We provide fluffy towels and shower gel.
Enjoy playing some board games, listening to the radio, and watching DVDs / TV.
Relax in front of the fire on the comfy sofa and armchair with a view to the river.
Cook your own meals and have a cuppa!
Relax on the deck and enjoy the garden and the riverside view!
Our Guest Guide to tell you about the cottage and what is available locally.
Route planner Miles for Fisherwood Cottage.
Route planner Kms for Fisherwood Cottage.
Route planner for Fisherwood Cottage.
Recharge your batteries in nature.
The deck is ideal for a peaceful morning coffee or an evening toast.
Stay warm in our cosy cottage even when it's snowing!
Walk along the river path to reach Loch Lomond or Dumbarton Castle.
Our stone circle and wild garlic to use in salads.
Enjoy the relaxing sound of the stream.
Use your instant BBQ to make tasty meals.
Driveway and garden in Spring.
Snow cake.
The driveway covered in snow!
Loch Lomond from the air. Balloch is on the left side of the picture.
A beautiful day on the loch!
Enjoy a walk along the river.
Newly restored railings.
Press the bell and we will welcome you into your home away from home.
A fresh pint of milk awaits you in the fridge.
(Arty photographer time...)
An easy way to recharge your electronics.
The cooker has four induction rings and two ovens.
Homemade tea light holder.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
DenisaD10...
1 review
“Cosy, welcoming, clean and warm place with adventurous days out and friendly owners.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

This cottage is ideal for someone who is trying to escape busy life for a few days. The cottage was very clean and warm and provided everything we needed; big bed, clean shower, fridge, kitchen equipment for cooking, TV(although we didn't switch it on once and played board games instead), dehumidifier (always turned it on when we went out and the place felt always dry), and we particularly liked the radio which we listened to until late hours. We had the best sleep in weeks, and feeling refreshed went to explore Balmaha and Loch Lomond (such beautiful and peaceful places). We mostly cooked(you can get everything you need from the local supermarket-5 min away) and when we were too tired we ordered some nice food from a local Indian restaurant. Thank you Michael and Nolwenn, we would definitely like to come back in the future.
Denisa&Mattias

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstySmi...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We had a really great stay here. We spent 2 nights here in early December, the cottage was comfortable and very cosy. You are close to some nice places to eat and drink, and shops if you want to eat in and also can easily access other towns nearby. Lots of information is provided for you in the cottage to help you plan your stay.
Nolwenn and Michael were very nice and very helpful in suggesting places to go and things to do nearby, we didn't have a car so the advice was appreciated.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatsyClin...
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Cottage By the River”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The cottage is exactly as described. It is a small cottage in the woods next to the owner's home. It has everything you need. We had some internet problems and Michael offered us his lap top if we couldn't get ours to work. It was a server issue and he resolved it the next day.
There is no problem with not having hot water in the kitchen (as described on the web page) The kettle is right next to the sink so heating water and doing dishes was no issue. There was plenty of hot water in the shower. There is some humidity from living, cooking and showers but it was decreased by the 2 extractors and a dehumidifier. The cottage was also very clean.
You couldn't have a better location. We had a car but didn't need it. Restaurants and grocery were a 5 minute walk. If you were arriving by train, you have about 75 metre to walk with luggage. There is a good indoor swimming pool nearby as well.
We walked through the neighbourhoods at night and enjoyed the path along the river bank.
We were happy to return to the cottage after a busy day.
The owners have made the cottage very welcoming by adding candles for the deck and throws for the chairs.
We would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and helpfulness of owner.
Liked least: Chair for relaxing not the most comfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aeil
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wouldn't go again”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The accommodation is basically a small wooden summer house in the garden of the owners house which has some good and bad points and some general comments:

Good:

Location - On the banks of the Leven a short walk from Balloch, Balloch train station and Loch Lomond.
Price - Very cheap, the reason for which quickly became apparent.
Blinds - Lots of black-out blinds keep out most of the morning light.
Tea, milk and biscuits provided which was very welcome after a 6 hour drive.

Bad:

The accommodation is quite small, approx the same size as a caravan (considerably smaller than the static type) but not as well organised. Wouldn't be good for more than a weekend, or people that really, really like each other.
DAMP - The worst thing was the damp which is obvious as soon as you go in and very noticeable on the bedding, which was not nice, and your clothes by the end of the stay, not for asthmatics. I can't believe the other review didn't mention it as it pretty much smacks you in the face as a first impression.
Bright and contemporary - this actually meant painted orange and blue with the furniture being badly placed around the walls.
Furnishings - The most generous thing I can say is they are dated, they are not laid out particularly well.
DAMP - did I mention the damp, we had to wash all our clothes, including the unworn ones, as soon as we got home.

General

Very little contact with the landlords which is neither good or bad.
Parking - may be an issue if you have mobility problems as there was 150m walk down a gravel path from the area for car parking, this also wouldn't be that suitable for a long car as you park in front of a yacht.
If you do decide to book, plug in the supplied dehumidifier (which should give a hint as to point 2 in the bad section) and leave running, all the time.

All in all I wouldn't book again and is possibly the worst private accommodation I have stayed in, there is far better accomodation available within a 10 minute walk which while slightly more expensive fully justifies the difference.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Condition of building
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2013
We appreciate all feedback but feel much of this is irrelevant. Without appearing to shout we have used capitals to address the points. In this case it appears that the person who made the booking was not the person who left the reference, which may explain something...

"The accommodation is basically a small wooden summer house in the garden of the owners house…" OUR DESCRIPTION SAYS: "Set in the wooded grounds of our lovingly restored 1902 house"


"Good: Price - Very cheap, the reason for which quickly became apparent." WE SET THE PRICE TO REFLECT THE VALUE, BUT IT IS NOT "CHEAP" - IN PRICE OR QUALITY.


"Blinds - Lots of black-out blinds keep out most of the morning light." IF YOU MEANT THERE WAS A LACK OF BLACKOUT WE CAN REPORT THERE ARE NEW THICK CURTAINS AT BOTH WINDOWS NEAR THE BED, IF YOU MEANT THAT YOU WANTED THE MORNING LIGHT THE FRENCH DOORS FACE EAST TO GET THE MORNING SUNSHINE AND THE CURTAINS OPEN WIDE.



Bad: "The accommodation is quite small, approx the same size as a caravan (considerably smaller than the static type) but not as well organised. Wouldn't be good for more than a weekend, or people that really, really like each other." THE PHOTOGRAPHS CLEARLY SHOW THE SPACE AND WE HAVE NOW INCLUDED THE SIZE IN THE DESCRIPTION. LOTS OF PEOPLE HAVE STAYED FOR MORE THAN A WEEK AND LOVED IT, LET THEM DECIDE…


"DAMP - The worst thing was the damp which is obvious as soon as you go in and very noticeable on the bedding, which was not nice, and your clothes by the end of the stay, not for asthmatics. I can't believe the other review didn't mention it as it pretty much smacks you in the face as a first impression." THE COTTAGE IS NOT DAMP, THE FLOOR IS HIGH OFF THE GROUND AND IT IS WATERTIGHT. THE ONLY 'DAMP' COMES FROM TWO PEOPLE LIVING, SHOWERING, COOKING, AND DOING LAUNDRY WITHOUT OPENING A WINDOW. THERE IS AN EXTRACTOR FAN IN THE BATHROOM AND ANOTHER IN THE KITCHEN. WE INCLUDE A DEHUMIDIFIER TO USE WHEN IT IS COLD AND DAMP OUTSIDE AND IN THE GUEST NOTES WE EXPLAIN THIS.



"Parking - may be an issue if you have mobility problems as there was 150m walk down a gravel path from the area for car parking, this also wouldn't be that suitable for a long car as you park in front of a yacht." WE DO NOT LIST THE COTTAGE AS SUITABLE FOR ANYONE WITH MOBILITY PROBLEMS AS THERE IS A STEP UP TO THE DOOR. THERE IS PARKING FOR 2-3 CARS, THE PATH IS TARMAC, THERE IS NO GRAVEL, AND THE PARKING IS ONLY 50M, OR 1 MINUTE AWAY…

WE ARE SORRY THAT YOU WERE UNHAPPY AND WE WOULD HAVE BEEN PLEASED TO DISCUSS THESE POINTS IN PERSON. I CAN ONLY ADD THAT YOUR EXPERIENCE IS FAR FROM TYPICAL.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louise f
Leven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful weekend away!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this cottage for a peaceful weekend away and was very pleased indeed.

The main area is open plan encompassing sittingroom with table and chairs, TV and soft seating area, and a kitchen with fridge freezer, washing machine, cooker, microwave and full kitchen utensils and crockery all supplied. Bathroom is beyond the bedroom area and is quite a good size with a good sized shower. Layout is great and for one or 2 people is perect.

Heating is GREAT! There is a heater is bathroom, sleeping area and lounge area and has such a nice cosy feel about the place at night with the soft lighting and flame effect on the fire. Blinds keep out the morning sun of your after a lie in too.

Cottage was supplied with everything we needed and was welcomed with tea and biscuits. Only thing we had to supply was our food as the place is more than equiped with everything you need. The bed was comfy and warm which was a bonus and more than anything is was clean and smelled so fresh!

We arrived on a beautiful sunny day so spent most of the night out on the patio that overlooks the marina - so beautiful and peaceful. At night it poured with rain (typical scottish weather) and the cottage remained really warm. There is a stream that runs at the side of the cottage and you can hear the running water if the window is open (such a nice sound) and you are surrounded by wildlife which too is just great.

In the evening this cottage has such a cozy feeling about it and really holds the heat. It was spotlessly clean and really could not fault it at all. The price we paid for 2 nights was £105 which I think is excellent vlue for money. The cottage is within the ground of a large house which you have to enter the drive of the house to access the cottage. We were a dit dubious about haveing our 'quiet weekend away' spoiled by having others nearby but we never saw or heard anyone.

There is a co-op nearby and some great restaurants and take aways. the cottage is supplied with a vast aray of menus, leaflets for day trips, tourist info, books, DVD's and some games.

Would definately visit again and the weather has not out us off one bit because there is nothing better then sitting all cosy in a lovely cottage listening to the rain and peace and quiet :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and beautiful setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing