We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"I'll be back" :) said Arnold”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hillview Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Living room wood burning stove and leather sofa
Living room and dining table
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Bathroom view from Kitchen
Conservatory
Bridge over the Allt Dubh stream in front of cottage
Cottage in winter snow
Cottage from West side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anon O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"I'll be back" :) said Arnold”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was temper to title this as "Do NOT stay here - Leave bookings open for my return" lol ... I loved it so much.

Now, four months later, as we are booking another trip we are very tempted to return here.

I like to explore, and finding the source of the water was a joy, stumbling over the stone circle a surprise, and then finding the lithology/strata exposed on some very local outcrops required a bigger memory card for my camera.

Directly next to the path, as you approach the gate, there is a series of waterfalls on the stream, that add nicely to a delicate ambiance, that with the house's bridge over the stream you can explore easier from the far side - near the circle ;)

The house is grand, we made a fire in the lounge each evening, and even twice in the bedroom ... not many places have open fires, even less in the bedroom. Everything was great, not just the teapot :) I don't know if it's a common feature, or only because the owner and I spoke on the phone, or even if intended for us, but the bottle of red in the kitchen on arrival, didn't last long ... It was the squirrels, honest ;) And opening a door in the kitchen, previously Unnoticed, into a second bedroom gave extra baggage space, not that it was needed, the main bedroom giving an abundance of space.

I use cameras, and tech, a lot. No power was going to be a challenge ... but I wanted the tranquillity. I took a travel solar panel with me, thinking to put it outside at noon-ish ... I ended up sitting it in the conservatory, at moon-ish, leaving it there all day/night as it was totally safe, and got so much extra power, that I could have sold it.

I also love a long bath, and finding the one there, in a cottage with no power, was a blessing - the back boiler on the lounge fire worked a treat. There is a gas cooker, fueled from tanks - important if anyone wakes on a cold morning, the heat from a boiling kettle warming the kitchen, before a fire is lit.

Candles, card games, chess (all there already) and cuddles, are the order of the night, until you step outside to moon bathe, star gazing, and listening to nature.

We parked where advised, and walked up the hill, and what a beautiful hill it is. You'll want to stop and admire everything, each time. I had a massive knee operation shortly before this trip, and managed the hill fine, leaving the area much stronger.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
79MICH210...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning little setting”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Its set back from the main roads and feels like a standalone wilderness despite being only a few minutes away from civilisation.
Its back to basics no electricity, only logs and gas but like us we're sure you won't want to leave either with its own little steam and idilic setting i'd def stay again :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming cottage with a breathtaking view”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Hillview cottage is accessed by a challenging track but its definately worth it when you reach the cottage. The view is stunning and the cottage is lovely, it has all the facilities necessary for a relaxing break. We didn't miss electricity at all, it's charming with the woodburner burning and the candles lit. The dogs were in heaven with all the open space outside and the sea nearby for them to swim in. The local area is lovely with nice shops, great walks and nice places to eat out, particularly The Kames Hotel. Would recommend a boat trip on the paddle steamer The Waverley up Loch Fyne. All in all a fabulous place to have a relaxing holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisapent
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A beautiful hamlet of tranquility”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This holiday was just what we expected and more.A beautiful hidden location it was a delight to drive up towards see it all on its own with beautiful scenery and surroundings.The cottage was so rustic and was just the step back into time we needed to unwind and switch off and feel totally relaxed in tune with nature and its surroundings.The cottage had all the facilities and equipment listed on the write up and more.There was a lot of information about walks places to visit etc which was fab.We did some lovely walks.We visited Oyster beach which is 12 miles away that was beautiful.Peter was so helpful going out his way to help us.The village was lovely the people so friendly we ate at the Bistro the food was lovely.We will be returning this was one of the best holidays we have ever had .Thank you once again Peter for making our stay so welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location hidden way.
Liked least: We were fine in our jimny but I would say the track leading up was a bit dodgy but for us added to the adventure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S A
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A Stop in Time”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013

In planning our trip to Scotland, we were looking for a rustic, off the beaten path to stay, and happened on Peter's cottage when doing a Google search. We were immediately smitten by the photos, and the reviews cemented our decision to stay at Hillview Cottage. It was not a decision that we regretted in any way, and would highly recommend it to anyone. The cottage is truly an escape from the hustle and bustle of life, isolated on a hilltop with a gorgeous view of the Kyles of Bute. Relying on the fireplaces in the main room and bedroom to heat the cottage, and candlelight (though there are the windup flashlights available) to move from room to room at night, allowed us to reacquaint ourselves with living the 'old life' ie. rising when the sun rose, at home when the sun went down, sitting by the fire, enjoying the company at hand, having 'real' conversations. It was a refreshing break from our daily lives. We did not miss being 'online'. The small town of Tighnabruaich is a short distance away, a good place to go when you want to mix with the locals, full of warm and friendly people. I would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing