We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
248
84
17
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
84
17
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coaching inn the general manager poster bed amuse bouche superior room steak received a very warm welcome sourdough bread ice cream high standard front of house main course one night stay cooked to perfection a wee bit salmon scrambled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in June following a 2 week tour of the Outer Hebrides. The guesthouse was very comfortable and staff very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the local area.
Our room was very comfortable - we had a lovely 4 poster bed as well as a couple of really comfy easy chairs. We brought our little Border Terrier, Skara, and she was made very welcome too. She had her own little basket supplied with blanket, food and water bowls, poo bags and gravy bones - a lovely touch.
There is no bar or restaurant, which is a shame, but there were plenty of eating places nearby if you want to eat out. Breakfast is continental style and is very good. You can have toast, scrambled eggs, porridge, etc if you wish.
Christine is very friendly and helpful as are all the staff we met.
There is a comfortable lounge if you wish to sit in there and you can order a variety of packed lunches. We ate in Oban on a couple of occasions and ordered a packed lunch which we ate in the evening. There was so much in it, we saved some for the next day.
The location is very good - it is an old coaching so is on the main road - our room was at the front but we were not really aware of any road noise. It is well located for Oban - we chose this as our final stop before driving home to Northumberland, having taken the long ferry crossing from Barra to Oban.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jk1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, General Manager at The Taynuilt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was so nice to meet you both and the sweet little Skara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

I was booked for one night and ended up staying for two. The hotel is clean and comfortable. A lovely old Coaching inn. Be aware there isn’t a restaurant or bar here but Oban is not far away. Christine and Karina are very friendly and helpful. Christine is quite knowledgeable about the area and I seen some of the area that most people probably wouldn’t see . Thank you Christine.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank nancy_stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Christine made our stay at this charming 1500's guest house exceptional. Her knowledge of Celiac Disease meant I could completely relax and devour everything she prepared for my breakfast -a GF bagel with locally smoked salmon and cream cheese- and our very generous lunch. The 4-poster bed was super comfy, and our 10-yr old daughter squealed in delight at the shark sleeping bag on her roll-away bed. The guest house is easy to find and has plenty of parking. The main street out front is super quiet overnight. Thank you Christine!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hannahminzloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Location is certainly traditional, a bit creaky and low ceilings, but this comes with the character and history of the building. Bed was comfortable and everything was clean and tidy. However show was very noisy. Breakfast is continental only, and does the job.
Very difficult to get the key in the room door, and from speaking to another guest they had this problem too. Had to fight with it to just get into the room, but at least it’s secure!
Turns out Taynuilt is incredibly quiet and you have to drive or taxi to any “local” pubs for dinner.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Four of us stayed here whilst cycling route 78 - Caledonia Way. Christine is the most incredible host. Stored our bikes, was waiting with lemon iced water and arranged for Dave from Brander Lodge to pick us up for dinner. She really looked after us and the breakfast was amazing - fresh blueberries and smoked salmon. The rooms have character and are very comfortable. Great value for money. Thanks Christine.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank FreespiritBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews