We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Honeysuckle House

Autumn view of the mountains behind Honeysuckle House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn view of the mountains behind Honeysuckle House
Spectacular scenery from every window. Here is a view of autumnal mist in the glen. Spectacular views from every window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Autumn view of the mountains behind Honeysuckle House
Spectacular scenery from every window. Here is a view of autumnal mist in the glen.
Spectacular views from every window
The kitchen has been designed so that the cook is not excluded from socialising
Childrens room may be a twin or double and also has bunk beds
This spacious room zip and lock beds. 
Extra single beds are easily accommodated
All the spacious bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms with showers
The downstairs bedroom has an en-suite wet-room with wheelchair access
Wet-room with grab rails. Shower chair and loo-raiser available
There is ample space outside to enjoy a BBQ or just watch and listen to the birds
There is space in the shed to store bikes
Glorious views whatever the weather, with the perfectly situated hot-tub from which to enjoy them!
Glorious place to relax!
The icing on the cake for many of our guests.
Soak up the view!
Direct access to the patio and hot-tub from the sunroom. The perfect room with lots to entertain.
Perfect for relaxing, lots of books, games and toys available
Ariundle oak woods are very special. Walks from the doorstep.
See www.walkhighlands for more walks
We keep Castlemilk Moorit rare breed sheep
Our ewes are quite friendly and some will eat from the hand
We keep chickens, ducks and geese. Here are some of our Bresse Galloise cockerels
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Strontian, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alimaung
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

There are not many places that i have visited that left me speechless but Bluebell Croft is one such place. It was a total destress long weekend consisting of 4 couples.
To have your hot casserole in the aga on arrival & the smell of fresh hot scones wafting through the cottage just convinced us from the word go that we had made a good choice.
Both cottages are equipped with everything you could possibly need & the quality & comfort of the beds was 1st class.
We had the log burner in constant use & the supply of logs was endless
The serenity & vistas of the surrounding area is just devine as you relax in the hot tub. Chris & Chrissie, the owners should be proud of the haven that they have created.
There is plenty to keep you occupied both in the property & the area. Sanna beach is a feast for the eyes & could rival the Carribean any day!
I would highly recommend this property to anyone who appreciates nature. This is definitely in an area of outstanding natural beauty & the owners have added an ambience that is magical. Would return in a heartbeat.❤

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Thank you so much taking the time to review your stay.
We are delighted that you all had a wonderful birthday celebration and enjoyed the property so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent return visit”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Bluebell Croft last year with a larger group and this year returned to Honeysuckle Cottage. The weather was not kind for the whole weekend but we achieved our goal of reaching the summit of Sgurr Dhomhnuill, the peak of the ridge visible from the cottage's hot tub. After a 10-hour walk involving navigating through mist and wading across a swollen stream, I can't tell you how welcoming it was to have Shepherd's Pie provided for us by Chris and Chrissie, the owners! The hot tub had to wait until the following morning when we could enjoy the view even more, knowing we'd been there the previous day. Thoroughly recommended but do remember to take midge repellent if visiting in summer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Thank you for choosing Bluebell Croft again and for taking the time to review your stay, we really appreciate it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, much appreciated.
Very happy to hear that your holiday was such a memorable one!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid stay in Strontian”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Honeysuckle and Rose Cottages can be booked separately or together. If booked separately, the connecting sun room belongs to Honeysuckle. We booked both cottages and are glad we did as it gave us exclusive use of both the sun room and the very splendid hot tub. The cottages are walkable from the village, though it’s a bit of a walk up a fairly steep hill from the road. The cottages were spotless, with well-appointed kitchens, all bedrooms en suite and lots of comfy sofas. The dining table in Honeysuckle could easily seat 10 (Rose has a smaller table for 4). Honeysuckle also has an Aga so it’s cosy at all times. There are woodburning stoves in both cottages which we didn’t use as it was pretty warm without, but would be nice later in the year.

The owners live close by and are friendly and helpful, providing us with fresh bread and warm scones on arrival and on hand to give advice on local walks and places to eat. They also provided a casserole and vegetarian moussaka one evening (requested in advance), which were both delicious and very reasonably priced.

Difficult to find any fault! Booking together currently costs the total of both cottages but we thought a small discount for booking both together might be an incentive to book both cottages in order to have more space and exclusive use of facilities. The cottage has wifi but there is no mobile signal – little or no signal anywhere in the area – and the nearest payphone is in the village, so a landline payphone would be a good idea for emergencies. And take plenty of insect repellent – the midges are relentless!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort of cottages
Liked least: No mobile signal - recommend installing a payphone.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bluebell Croft.
We're pleased to hear that the properties were suitable for your group and that you enjoyed the home cooking.
We appreciate your comments re pricing and renting the Whole House and do offer a loyalty discount for repeat guests.
The mobile phone mast in the village has been experiencing breaks in service over the last few weeks and this is being dealt with by the telephone company. We do live on site and welcome guests to contact us for assistance, especially for emergencies.
For the infamous Scottish midge we unfortunately have no remedy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJL91
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Long Weekend”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Booked Honeysuckle House for our group of 9 friends.

Throughout the process from Booking to Leaving the process was supremely easy, straightforward and well communicated. Not only that, both Chris and Chrissie are very friendly and accommodating (Especially when you need to change your dates and numbers slightly, thank you both soooo much!!)

On arrival it was fantastic to walk into such a large house with fresh bread and jams sitting giving a great smell, only to be added to by some fantastic fresh scones. Perfect for after a long drive up on a grey day!

Chris was great showing us everything we needed about the house, including how to work the Aga! That thing is amazing for cooking a paella for 9 people on!

Even with nine of us in the house, we had loads of room for eating around the table, relaxing in the common space and for cooking and cleaning.

We all loved the house, the fire, the hot tub, the beds (so comfy!) everything including the amazing views in the middle of the glen. We all loved it, thanks so much for everything!

Cheers again guys!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space, even with 9 people
Liked least: Having to leave! :)
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay, we really do appreciate it.
We're pleased that you found the property just what you needed for your relaxing weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing