We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and peaceful place”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Dining area Lochead Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Living room
Dining area
Lochead Cottage
Lochead Cottage front garden
Lochead Cottage
Dining kitchen
Kitchen - patio doors to garden (table has since been replaced)
View from Lochead Cottage
Lochead Cottage back garden
Upstairs bedroom 2
Downstairs bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jaq S
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning location and pretty cottage”
Reviewed 29 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We were absolutely delighted at the location of this property as we were surrounded by peace, tranquility and an abundance wildlife. A nature lovers dream! The cottage was well equipped but sadly not the cleanest. The bedding provided (which we had to pay extra for) was stale smelling, the pillows and duvets were badly stained and the sheets were bobbly. I don't know how old these items were but they were desperately in need of replacement. It was asked that the property 'be left as we'd like to find it' but on arrival the shower rims behind the shower doors had not had a good clean in months, the stairs were dusty as was the tv stand, the carpets were old and stained, cobwebs were everywhere and the windows were filthy. If we were to leave the property as we'd like to find it, we'd have had to spend a full day cleaning. We had to pay extra for electricity and had to call the meter reading in at the end of our stay which felt wrong as the cottage was hardly cheap to rent.
If you are looking for a beautiful location whilst staying in a quaint cottage far away from a busy life then there is no doubt that this place wins hands down. Its beautiful. However, if you like fresh, clean smelling bedding then i advise that you take your own. If the cleanliness and decent beds and bedding were sorted this place would get a 5☆ from me as this cottage could be amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
Sorry to hear that you weren't completely happy with your stay in Lochead Cottage. All bedding is regularly replaced, and we always use pillow protectors etc - however we have got multiple spares of everything up at the office, so would have happily replaced everything for you immediately had we been aware that there was an issue. The living room carpet was brand new over the winter, and we are unaware of any stains in any of the other rooms - however we will look in to this and shampoo/replace them if necessary.
The windows were done on Friday after you left - apologies that this was not satisfactory during your stay - it is not part of our regular changeover, but we will certainly review the frequency of our window cleaning.
Electricity is charged at cost price only for the units used only (we pay the standing charge) - we have found this to be more eco-friendly, and advice on how to keep the bill very low is printed on the back of the slip (for example, use the back boiler on the fire instead of the immerser).
Thank you for the points you have raised - we will look in to each, and hope that you will stay with us again, and be able to leave a 5 star review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara B
1 review
“Lovely and peaceful place”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lochead Cottage is a wonderful and cosy place to be. It was our fifth stay at Ellary and it is always worth to go there all the way from Germany! :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Thanks Barbara, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherpa646...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with beautiful views.”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Large enclosed garden which was excellent for dogs. The country estate has walking paths that you can walk for miles if you want to. We saw deer, seals and a sea otter. You can actually walk all day and not bump into anyone if you want to. The cottage was well equipped and cosy, would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie O
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We visited the cottage as a party of six. The cottage is situated on a beautiful estate and this provides a wonderful quiet setting with freedom to walk,cycle, fish and kayak we felt very lucky to be there. Unfortunately the cottage itself was disappointing, the house keeping was of a very low standard. The cottage was dirty throughout it felt as if it had not been checked at all between lets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time on the estate, but are sad to hear about the housekeeping issues you encountered. All of our cottages are checked and cleaned to a very high standard before and after every single customer, but we are only human and sometimes things may be overlooked. Had you made us aware of any issues, we would have rectified them immediately - there is someone around 24/7 to help with any questions or problems you might have. Most of our customers return year after year, and are very happy with the standard of the cottages. We hope to meet your expectations the next time, should you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical ”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful few days in Loch head cottage in early July. The location is so atmospheric, and the cottage was wonderful with stunning views over the burn and estuary. There is even fishing for seatrout, though I only got a wee one. We had deer wandering past the cottage, and eagles staring down at us on our evening walks. In short we loved our stay and hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing