We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful peace and tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of South Lodge

South Lodge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South Lodge.
Kitchen with washing machine, microwave, ceramic hob, oven and all you will need to prepare meals. Hob and oven.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
South Lodge.
Kitchen with washing machine, microwave, ceramic hob, oven and all you will need to prepare meals.
Hob and oven.
Original art work.
Sitting room with wifi, docking station, TV, and DVD.
Sitting room with Clear view log burner.
Super-king bed.
The Bedroom with two windows looking out over the lawn and the wood.
Bedroom flowers.
Large walk in shower.
The shower room with heated flooring.
Wash hand basin.
Views down to Loch Ederline.
Traffic on the hill roads!
View across the valley towards the cottage.
Great walks for the dogs.
Kayaks to hire.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VanessaSe...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

South lodge is a beautifully equipped and perfectly situated cottage for exploring the wonderful sights and sounds, (or perhaps peace and quiet), of Argyll and Bute. Willa and Angus could not have been more helpful regarding the best of what their estate and the surrounding coastline had to offer. It would not matter a jot what time of year you visited the Ederline estate, the comforts of South Lodge would make you feel at home as soon as you walked through the door. We are recommending the cottage to anyone and everyone!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Thank you for such a kind review and we are thrilled you loved South Lodge. I have just
Come in from mowing the South Lodge lawns and when you know guests have had a good week it makes it all worth while!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markwhite...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Over the years we have stayed at many places on the west coast of Scotland and the Ederline estate is our favourite place .if you like wildlife and walking ,the estate offers all this from your front door Angus and Willa are lovely people who are so helpful and friendly.The cottage has everything you need and is a warm and comfortable cosy cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Many thanks for writing a review. Loved having you and hope to see you back at Ederline soon. All the best Willa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baldybate...
Weston-super-Mare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pure Relaxation”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in May 2017

My husband and I were hoping for a relaxing break and South Lodge, located on the shores of Loch Ederline, was absolutely perfect. South Lodge was spacious, beautifully situated, warm and comfortable with a huge bed to drift off in to nothing but the sounds of nature. We walked, cycled and my husband ran. Loch Ederline is small, peaceful and out of the way but within easy driving distance of places of interest. Willa and her partner made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and the cost of a week in South Lodge was great value for money. The weather was also superb at the time of year we visited (May) and no midges at all to spoil things. When time and finances permit, we would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
May was our best month last year and we are so pleased you had a good week! Many thanks for writing a review and we hope one day you will return. All the best Willa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton342...
Corby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Calm in an Idyllic Setting”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Spent a wonderful week in South Lodge, Willa and Angus could not have made us feel more welcome.
Even spent a morning out on the hills helping Angus bringing the sheep back from their 'Hefts'
Cottage was clean, tidy spacious and had all the necessary items needed for a weekly stay.

I highly recommend South Lodge.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
Thank you for having the time to write a review! Thanks for helping Angus! All the best Willa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gfstrong
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage with local walks and historical sites to visit.”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent accommodation. Comfy bed. Spacious and well equipped. WIFI! excellent. A lot of care in making the environment easy for local walking and exploring places of interest. The décor is well thought out and homely. Very quiet and out of the way. Easy parking outside. Altogether a very nice place to spend a week's holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice size of cottage.
Liked least: Getting to grips with working the high tech cooker. My fault entirely. I got there!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review..it all helps! We hope one day you may return to Ederline.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing