We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room/dining room. New kitchen fitted winter 2013/14
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Sitting room/dining room.
New kitchen fitted winter 2013/14
Large bedroom with super-king/twin beds with en-suite bathroom.
Clachandubh Cottage big bedroom with three windows. The third looking over the fields.
Twin room with views over the fields.
En-suite bathroom with walk in Aqualisa shower, loo, wash-hand basin and bath.
Views out the back of the cottage.
Clachandubh Bridge over the burn which runs past the cottage.
Meet the locals on a day trip to Islay.
Surfing at Westport.
Walks from the cottage.
Traffic on the hill roads!
Evenings fishing  on Loch Ederline.
Canoeing on Loch Awe.
Rock jumping into Loch Awe!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny W
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in June 2017

We enjoyed our week at Clachandubh so much! It's a really lovely house, well stocked and spotless. Cozy beds. Loved walking all around Ederline Estate and boating and kayaking on the loch. From this location we took a day trip to Iona by ferry, went crabbing at Ardfern, and spent time in Crinan as well as Kilmartin (with it's museum and Temple Wood) and Dunadd Fort. Honestly though, just relaxing by the fire listening to the rain in the house was heaven. Willa and Angus are wonderful hosts.

We hope to come back to Ederline someday and highly recommend staying there. You won't regret it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Really hope one day you will return with and have a dryer week! All the best Willa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvellous cottage for a week long holiday”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed with a group of friends and found the cottage to be a great place for the six of us. There was plenty of room in the large, comfortable and bright sitting room. The well equipped kitchen also had plenty space for us all with a large table (as well as the dining table in the sitting room). The bedrooms and bathrooms were comfortable. The attached boiler room was great for drying out clothes (needed because of rainy days).
The cottage is ideally located for walks and cycling from the doorstep and also is only a few minutes from Kilmartin glen with its numerous iron age sites. The Crinan canal is only slightly further away and is ideal for lazy cyclists as it is flat and traffic free.
Although the weather wasn't great when we stayed we managed to get out for a least a few hours every day to enjoy the stunning surrounding countryside. The views from inside the cottage across fields to the hills were also splendid on a rainy day.
The hosts Willa and Angus popped round to make sure all was well and to fix any minor problems. They were friendly and helpful but not at all intrusive.
Overall highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
So pleased you had a good week despite the rain! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and lets hope 2018 will bring us a good summer! All the best Willa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert C
Portsoy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great House Great Location”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in November 2017

For a quite location that is dog friendly Clachandubh is hard to beat. The house is well equipped and spacious. We had everything we needed for a great break in deepest Argyllshire. Apart from the weather, which was very wet, but it was November so that's to be expected. We also had some snow which was great fun. At night with the fire on and a glass or two to unwind, what's not to like. I made full use of the woodshed and axe and really enjoyed chopping up our own logs. This is a great location to explore Argyllshire and we didn't realise there was so much archaeology in the area. We loved Crinan and had a nice walk along the canal. Loch Awe is within walking distance and Lochgilphead was also worth visiting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and hope one day you may return to a dryer week! All the best Willa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Heavenly peace...”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage has been beautifully restored and is in an idyllic situation on a very peaceful estate with glorious views, particularly from the back of the property. It is spacious and well equipped. You are well positioned for touring Argyll and Islay and Jura but there are plenty of glorious walks close by. I would recommend simply walking up in to the hills in the evening and watching the deer and soaking up the magnificent scenery. We were sad to leave. A wonderful holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
So pleased you had a good week and enjoyed the cottage. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope you may return one day to Ederline.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TysonRolo
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a great place for a getaway! The cottage has been refurbished to a high standard, with all you need for your holiday.
There is plenty of hot water for the amazing showers, and with the heating and open fire, it really is a cosy place to spend a cold evening.
The views from the cottage are amazing, and there is a good sized secure garden for dogs/children.
There is so much to do in the area, from forest walks to fishing harbours.
There was one minor issue, which was sorted by the owners very quickly, so full marks to them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Sofa's could do with updating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2015
Thank you for your kind review and so sorry the heating was set on the wrong timer!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing