We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$155
Agoda.comUS$155
PricelineUS$155
TripadvisorUS$155
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
297
181
68
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
297
181
68
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bothy bar west highland way drying room loch leven bunk beds amazing views last stop last night dog whw walkers midges camping toilets campers highlands campsite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2020

I stayed here on my penultimate night walking the West Highland Way. They have a good approach to keeping people safe from Covid. Food was good, rooms spacious and staff friendly. Would use again. If doing the walk, the hotel is literally next to it. I stayed in a room which was lovely but there are also camping pods and tent pitches.

Date of stay: September 2020
2  Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2020

We came for dinner here when walking west highland way. The views from the dining room are nothing short of spectacular and I’ve been in that area many times walking and running, service was excellent as were the food and drinks. Will definitely return, the staff were working hard and tables were all spaced out and covid stuff adhered to.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santababy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

Stayed in a cabin while walking the WHW. Best choice ever and a small amount more than camping. Service excellent.

Hotel bar had an awesome menu, quite unexpected. Good quality and a break from the typical pub menu. Given the current climate and being responsible to the good residents of KLL, clearly the management have well trained their staff about covid security. Great to see. Track/trace enforced, all guests wearing masks, one way system enforced, incredibly organised booking system, but service remains awesome. Had a great evening. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank NeilR766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020

good location but that's about it. we were camping (still paying guests and spent money on drinks in the bar). but pretty much just paid for a patch of grass and the view. Toilet block clearly not cleaned daily. visibly dirty with not only toilet material but obviously not cleaned to covid standards either. Staff in bar and restaurant area obviously trying best with new covid measures but this does not excuse rudeness and uncleanliness. we were forced to wait in car in rain for a garage to restart our car battery. No apology given for not being allowed in the lobby area at that specific time and treated as if we were expected to know this. understandable that the rules have changed and they are clearly struggling to keep on top of this but they maybe were not ready to open. singposting obviously not big enough and queues forming at the bar area looked crowded. we could not wait to leave quick enough as were treated as such a burden rather than paying guests. maybe differrent treatment to campers rather than hotel stayers. ? hopefully, anyway.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emilyg154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Thompson, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Thanks for your review, it’s a little bit garbled so I’ll try and address each point, toilets and showers are cleaned daily, we also leave wipes for guests to clean before /after use. We close the hotel from 10am to fog the whole area for new guests arriving. You appear to be blaming us for your car breaking down? And contradicting yourself by saying we are struggling, yet you felt compromised by our measures? There’s no different treatment regardless of whether you pay hotel or campsite prices, we just expect any guests to be respectful of our COVID measures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2020 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin, location is very nice, in the middle of nature. You can either camp or get a cabin. The cabin was a bit hot as we were lucky to get high temperatures all day long, the problem is that the place swarms with midges and the cabins does not have any bug net around the window, so opening it during the night wasn't an option. Cabins have 4 beds, are a little small but we honestly felt comfortable being 2 plus a big dog. If you visit prepare to get into a lot of biting flying insects, so get all the necessary stuff.

Location is lovely and the staff very kind.

Recommended!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank sam_argonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews