We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
US$310
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
506
158
91
36
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
506
158
91
36
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room loch awe single track road walled garden romantic hotel off the beaten track dining room boat shed loch view the main house antique furniture country house hotel remote location passing places mile drive set menu clay pigeon shooting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights late October with our dogs. Lovely welcome with winter warmer drink brought to room and Hayfield room was great. Yes it is an older hotel with antique furniture and this all adds to the ambience. Dinner fantastic and breakfast perfect. Views and walks ideal and out in a rainy day coming back to warm welcoming hotel was wonderful. Very dog friendly although not over the top e.g. not allowed in dining room or bar. Look forward to returning.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank andrewcA2910BQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020

Lovely welcome on arrival. Coal fires burning in the hall and bar .
Our room was very large with lovely well loved furniture.
Dinner was most enjoyable ,
all 3 courses. The chocolate brownie was particularly delicious.
There are very nice walks to do around the hotel ( bring your wellies). Also a nice walk through the gardens to the loch.
Breakfast in the morning was very good with a varied selection to choose from.

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marsaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Ardanaiseig hotel for 3 nights whilst exploring Argyll and Bute. The hotel is old-worldly and situated on the banks of Loch Awe. The location was beautiful- we explored the grounds and saw a few deer around.
The staff were friendly and they were maintaining social distancing and covid rules very well.
We stayed in Room Awe - the room was lovely, the only thing was the shower was a bit of a nuisance.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay.
Also I would definitely recommend eating at the hotel for one night - the food was delicious especially the lemon posset and berry dessert. Yum.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for one night en route to Mull. First impressions were good. We stayed in the Boathouse on the loch which is described as a honeymoon suite. Thankfully, we were not on our honeymoon as I would have been disappointed! Although the building and views were incredible, the inside felt like a student’s flat. The furniture was bizarre and mismatched and did not in any way feel luxurious or well thought out. The bathroom was very disappointing! I don’t know why dark blue was chosen as the colour to paint the bedroom walls.

The walks on the grounds were gorgeous. Unfortunately, all guests are given a map with the Boathouse marked on it to visit. As there were no curtains on the windows out to the Loch, a number of guests the next morning who had gone to have a look at the jetty had the unfortunate view of me and my husband in a state of undress which was hugely embarrassing for all. It would be worthwhile having a sign near the Boathouse to other guests making it clear that it is a hotel room!

Food was fine. The atmosphere at dinner was very quiet and service was a little clumsy. Covid procedures were all in place and it did feel safe in this respect.

We wouldn’t hurry back unless some serious investment was made in refreshing the hotel and especially the Boathouse to make it feel really special.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank taylors8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020

We had a lovely three nights at the Ardanaseig, despite our initial disappointment at discovering a significant mistake had been made by the hotel with our booking on arrival.
We decided to try and make the most of it and are so glad we did. The manager did everything he could to make it up to us and we ended up having an excellent stay, even if we did see three different rooms and sleep in three different beds over three nights! All the staff were great, and the food was fabulous.
It's good to know that when mistakes happen, the management team care enough to try and rectify things as best they can. It means we will definitely return to the Ardanaseig next year and regularly thereafter.
Also - try the Black Pudding - it really is as legendary as the menu describes!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure631521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews