We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
US$118
US$101
View deal
SAVE US$17
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$113
StayForLongUS$118
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
294
72
13
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
294
72
13
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland games braemar gathering family run hotel red squirrels log burner steak longer stay lovely atmosphere on tap residents lounge warm welcome following morning dining room few minutes walk friendly owners local area mar lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2020

Despite being wet and muddy cyclists, we were welcomed inside. Room was really cosy and the whole hotel was warm and inviting.
It has a clearly Scottish theme without being over the top and cliched, and I found myself wishing we were staying for a while and not just one night.
The owners were really friendly and arranged for us to eat despite the Covid restrictions. We had steak and chips from their restaurant (Cairn grill, Braemar) delivered to the hotel. It was divine and excellent value. I have never seen such a huge steak, and it was perfectly cooked.
Lots of Covid mitigations in place too. Felt very safe.
Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stephenfran2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Beautiful guest house a few minutes walk from the village centre through the Highland games arena.
Nice room with a great shower and views over the arena.
The continental breakfast bag was ample and kept us going for the day, and Maria was everything you could want from a host.
We would definitely stay here again

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank essbeeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2020

We had a great experience at Moorfield House. The staff (they may have been the owners actually) were consistently friendly and nice and were happy to chat about the area and our plans. The room was clean and tidy. It's not large and nothing fancy, but given the location and price we were very pleased. Our only downside was one side of the mattress had slightly dodgy springs which meant my wife kept sliding towards the floor all night.
The breakfasts were excellent, simple local food but well cooked and generous portions in a nice restaurant with good views (we even saw some red squirrels on one day). The whole place is only a ten minute walk max into Braemar along well-lit roads with pavements, so it's a great location for the village and the surrounding beautiful countryside and mountains. Strongly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 897timw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Moorfield House. The room, although compact, was clean and well presented. There wasn’t a tv in the room which was a shame, however there was one in the general room downstairs, along with board games.
Hosts very welcoming and good breakfast.
The guest house is a short 10 minute walk to the centre of Braemar which is ideal for nights out.
Would stay again.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lynseystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

POSITIVES

- Clean room and bathroom
- Good location (a short walk to the village centre)
- Communal area to eat food

NEGATIVES

- Breakfast was disappointing but difficult due to restrictions

One other point to note. There are limited food options in the village so book your tables in advance. We didn't and ended up at the local chippy!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TruePendles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews