We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Hurb
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
295
72
13
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
295
72
13
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland games braemar gathering family run hotel red squirrels log burner steak longer stay lovely atmosphere on tap residents lounge warm welcome following morning dining room few minutes walk friendly owners local area mar lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Moorfield House. The room, although compact, was clean and well presented. There wasn’t a tv in the room which was a shame, however there was one in the general room downstairs, along with board games.
Hosts very welcoming and good breakfast.
The guest house is a short 10 minute walk to the centre of Braemar which is ideal for nights out.
Would stay again.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lynseystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

POSITIVES

- Clean room and bathroom
- Good location (a short walk to the village centre)
- Communal area to eat food

NEGATIVES

- Breakfast was disappointing but difficult due to restrictions

One other point to note. There are limited food options in the village so book your tables in advance. We didn't and ended up at the local chippy!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TruePendles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2020 via mobile

We decided to have a night away and after visiting Braemar previously for the day thought this would be ideal. From the moment we booked we received an email from Maria and Grant explaining the changes they had made for guests due to Covid-19 which we thought was excellent. When we arrived we were greeted by Maria and she went over a few things that had been in the email and told us the information was also in the room with contact details. We had a lovely double room overlooking the park where they hold the Highland games, she did explain all cushions and throws had been removed to be as safe as possible which we were pleased about. The residents lounge was open which is beautifully decorated, they are in the middle of work to create another guest lounge so people will be able to separate out more and there is a lovely decked area to the gardens for guests to use. Breakfast in the morning is served to your door as a continental style which is great as we would not have felt comfortable sitting in a dining room with other guests and there was a range of items like porridge, croissants, fruit etc. They also own a restaurant in the village where all guests staying with them get 10% off their bill and the food was amazing. We felt very safe staying here with the procedures they have in place and can not wait to come back for a longer stay!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Travelgirl1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant Mason, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and also appreciated the changes and safety measures we have put in place. We have not made these changes lightly and would rather go back to "normal" as soon as we can. Its a shame other guests do not appreciate these changes have been made not only to make their stay safe but also to protect our own family as we have a vulnerable child who has little or no real immune system. We would be delighted to welcome you back should you ever visit the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

Clean room, nicely renovated bathroom with good shower, good wifi, Covid safe and a friendly welcome on arrival.
Breakfast was ample. The owners were so accommodating to our requests and were very prompt in answering emails.
Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MossmanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant Mason, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

Thank you so much for your great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and felt safe with the measures we have put in place to keep everyone safe during these uncertain times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

Braemar is a beautiful place and one of the highlights of our road trip in Scotland. Moorfield House is a 10 minute walk from the village centre and overlooks the field where the Highland Games take place so an excellent location. Blissfully quiet and a very comfortable bed, so a great night's sleep. I don't think we saw this place at it's best as the owners have taken Covid rules exceptionally seriously! Breakfast was served in a plastic box outside of our room to reduce contact. Our trip has involved 6 hotels and this is the only one who took precautions this far! Maybe reassuring for some, but it was rather impersonal. The restaurant was closed due to Covid too, so the nearby Cairn Grill was recommended which was ok. However, we wished that we had booked the nearby Flying Stag. A bit pricier perhaps but lovely atmosphere and the food looked amazing! We would definitely stay here again, post Covid when anxious hosts feel more comfortable.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 63lindag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant Mason, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

Thanks for your review we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would just like to point out a few reasons why we are running the way we are at present as a result of Covid so that you and others can maybe understand our logic. As a small family run business we have to open in order to survive, in order to do so we need to take precautions as a result of one member of our household being severely disabled with little or no immune system, if this disease is transferred to our family then the results would be catastrophic and more than likely life ending. We have highlighted on our website very clearly that this is the way we are going to run for the remainder of this year with no cooked breakfast and breakfast served to your room. We email every guest as soon as a booking is received with a list of what we are doing (and not doing) and how things will be served, giving everyone the choice to cancel if they feel this does not meet their needs, we also offer a room only option for those who would rather save a few £s to buy a cooked breakfast in the village in the numerous outlets offering this service. We are far from impersonal people and this way of running is alien to us to a degree but in these times im afraid our family come before anyone else but we do look forward to reverting back to a more "normal" way in due course and having more interaction with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews