We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
14
18
9
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
18
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large kitchen i stayed in a private room red squirrels stayed here for nights dorm beds village sink accommodation tidy
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Stayed for several nights while walking in the area. The showers are great which is really important if you have been out all day in the rain. The kitchen is well equipped. Large drying room for all that wet gear. There was a good atmosphere in the hostel from both staff and other guests. Wifi was available, but I thought it was a little to expensive. I'm looking forward to a return trip next year. The hostel is shut from 10 to 4pm which I thought was a little too long.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

Second night different youth hostel. After the roller coaster like drive over the Lecht the youth hostel was a welcome sight.
Different parts of our group were arriving at different times. We were the first. Checked in and given the option of a key each which was a big help. The night before in the Cairngorm syha it was one key between both of us and that was a little annoying but not the end of the world.
We were popping out and the hostel manager on reception was happy to offer to pass on messages to the rest of our group so we weren't waiting around.
Braemar isn't te easiest place to find food in for an evening meal not helped by us not needing it until 8 where even the local chippy is shut. So a trip to the co-op in the village and we cooked in the communal
Kitchen and sat around a huge table for the evening.
Not sure how many female showers there are we onot found 2 so got in early as soon as we woke up to avoid a queue. Continental breakfast available if you've booked it. Was lovely and laid out waiting in the dining room and the rolls were still warm. If you're looking for a cheap night sleep while visiting Royal Deeside and the Cairngorms can recommend this place.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We have never stayed in a youth hostel before( yes its for all ages)! ever<what a great experience and great value for money. we were checked in by the very friendly and informative ryan.the room was clean comfortable and a nice lounge for reading tv etc< the kitchen was very clean and plenty off room if you fancied cooking. we even took our chocolate Labrador along for a £5.00 supplement great weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Having not stayed in Youth hostels for nearly two decades, I approached Braemar hostel with some trepidation. I need not have worried. A friendly receptionist welcomed us and the room (a twin) was clean, tidy and comfortable. Self catering facilities are good although the food preparation area would be a little small if the hostel was busy. Yes facilities are basic but at £47 (£41+£6 temporary membership) for a warm, comfortable bed on a stormy night is very good value. Indeed if you consider the money saved by cooking your own food and opening a decent bottle of wine, it is difficult to beat. Youth Hostels have changed and after this stay I suspect my accommodation choices will too.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms will be fine
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Flexible in that because there were a dozen of us they opened a day or so earlier than they planned to. Warm in the lounge and dining room but the kitchen was chilly. Plenty of space - e.g. one group were having a committee meeting in the dining room and an impromptu band were playing in the lounge and there were still spaces for children to play games, teenagers to surf the net and old fogies to chat over a wee dram. Effective drying room. ample parking. Good location .

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews