We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming comfortable accomadation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dorwil Cottage

Kitchen which faces east
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen which faces east
Lounge from the conservatory Front of the cottage looking West
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Kitchen which faces east
Lounge from the conservatory
Front of the cottage looking West
Front of the cottage looking from the West
Kitchen
Small toilet
Dining area
Ensuite area
Bedroom looking East
Ensuite double shower
Dining area looking towards the conservatory
Bedroom
Lounge
Front view looking from the North
Garden area to the South
Front view looking from the West
Garden area to the North
Garden area to the West
Main driveway looking to the West
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Bathgate, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Purdysjp
Derby
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Welcoming comfortable accomadation”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely annex, very comfortable, quiet location and excellent hosts. lots to see and do in near vicinity. nice grounds with walks on doorstep central for the cities of Edinburgh, Glasgow, and Sterling. will return highly recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Hi Steve
Thank you so much for taking time out to provide an excellent review on your stay at Dorwil Cottage. It really is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Bruce & Dorothy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingP...
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

exactly what we needed peace quiet and close to family. the cottage was perfect and close to lots of visitor attractions .we will definitely be returning and recommending to friends

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you both so much for submitting your review. Dorothy and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Dorwil Cottage and do hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler6...
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is a five star self catering cottage. Great hosts, fabulous accommodation, good location. Loved loved loved it!
Would I stay again? Of course I would, it's a no brainer.
Great if you have a dog, although local hostelries are not so dog-friendly. No matter, the a comodation is so well equipped that eating in is no problem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We do aim to keep high standards & love meeting people. Look forward to a further visit. Kindest regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacky M
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Explore Central Scotland from this gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Not on holiday but was escaping workmen and decorators after moving house. This cottage was just perfect for me and my little old cat who loved it there too. Under floor heating and constant hot water. The owners Bruce and Dorothy live nearby and were charming and helpful when needed. Parking is safe and off road and for a tourist visiting central Scotland, this is an ideal place for a single person or 2 people. You have a well equipped kitchen and a comfy lounge facing the gardens. Lovely shower room and an additional loo in the hallway. I stayed here twice in October and after my first visit I could not wait to return to the peace and tranquillity that this delightful cottage provided me. Should further workmen ever darken my door, I would be delighted to return for a 3rd visit. Highly recommended to tourists who do not want to stay in the city centre and want to explore central Scotland and if you too are local and have workmen in, then abandon ship and stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and off road parking for my car
Liked least: my stay was not long enough
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulderPa...
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oasis”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The cottage is immaculate and centraly located. We enjoyed the local food, especialy Bladbairdie Restaurant. We were able to do laundry and ralax in the middle of a whirlwind Europe trip. A true gem with wonderful hosts and great location!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful charming grounds with privacy and a great view.
Liked least: can't think of what we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing