We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Smarhus Cottage

Cottage frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage frontage
Cottage drive way Living area onto garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Cottage frontage
Cottage drive way
Living area onto garden
Living area
Kitchen/dining area
Kitchen/dining area
Hall
Double bedded room
Soaps & towels
Twin bedded room
Welcome hamper
Shower room
Living area onto deck
Decked area
Cottage from garden
Decked area from garden
Cottage drive way and private parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bathgate, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erlyhexe
1 review
“An excellent house”
Reviewed 26 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Smarhus cottage is a lovely place to stay and just what we needed: Perfectly equipped, quiet and wheelchair accessible - thanks for the ramp! It is situated in a lovely landscape and a good starting point for trips to Edinburgh, Glasgow, Loch Lomond, Falkirk and Stirling Castle.
Thank you so much for your warm welcome and kind hospitality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and the family to our Cottage and we would delighted to welcome you back in the future. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday, with our best wishes Andrew and Evelyn x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Dear Kim
Thank you so much for your wonderful review really appreciate your kind words. It was lovely meeting you and your family and look forward to welcoming you all back soon.
Kind regards
Evelyn and Andrew x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Dear Vicky and Steve and family
Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Cottage and it was lovely to meet you all. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards Evelyn and Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
davidmaxh...
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Gem!”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stunning cottage in a quiet countryside location. Welcome basket of high quality, including a very nice bottle of wine!
Welcomed by both Andrew and Evelyn, who were very friendly.

I would happily rent this cottage in the future and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
David, thank you so much for the lovely review of our Cottage. We really appreciate you taking the time to do that. We enjoyed meeting you and David and hope to see you in the future,
Kind regards

Evelyn and Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_innes3
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage In A Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at Smarhus while our house was being renovated. It' was the perfect accommodation for us as a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 small children). The cottage itself is very spacious and is well equipped for a very comfortable stay. The setting is very peaceful and the views are stunning. The owners of the coattge made our stay perfect, and made some lovely little touches such as children's bedding and Christmas decorations were put up for our arrival which the children adored! The cottage is immaculate(I am very fussy about cleanliness). Would thoroughly recommend Smarhus Cottage and can't thank the owners, Evelyn and Andrew enough for making our stay enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review,. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you all and were delighted you chose our Cottage whilst your house was being repaired. Best wishes for 2017 Evelyn and Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing