We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$76
Expedia.comUS$77
Hotels.comUS$77
eDreamsUS$76
FindHotelUS$77
Agoda.comUS$77
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
53
45
25
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
45
25
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square superb location two nights reception ensuite facilities shower skye kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2019

stayed here for the weekend 7-9th June with 11 other girls. we were all there to run the half marathon. The staff were very attentive and facilities were great.. I was slightly worried but the rooms and beds were clean, no noise, no queues for the common bathrooms. It was ideal. Great weekend spent here.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Fearless747030
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2019

I like my comforts but was in skye for half marathon and bit sightseeing and wanted to keep cost low. Was with friend in 5 bed room for 3 nights. Firstly it's cheap to stay and staff v friendly. Showers on our floor clean and hot and kitchen huge and was surprised how everyone cleaned after as they went. It is a hostel so everything bit tired and dated but I can't grumble as slept well and possessions felt secure. I enjoyed cooking in kitchen as mainly walkers and runners and like minded outdoor people. Room can smell bit musty with all the trainers etc but apart from that I felt good value for a cheap base! Can't compare to other hostels as first one. Location is excellent

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2019 via mobile

Booked early so we could have a private room.
First impressions were very positive when we pulled into the car park.
Views were stunning. Superb location in the centre of Portree.
Staff checking/ out /in are all lovely and very friendly.
Our room was at the back overlooking the road, which was not an issue at all.
Very clean room and bathroom.
The kitchen was very impressive, everything you need for a meal.
We sat eating overlooking the view and felt very content.
We slept really well, odd banging of doors but not enough to be a problem.
Would not hesitate to stay again at all and I 100% recommend.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsDML
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2019

Hi there MrsDML

thank you so much for your valuable feedback, we are glad your experience was a great one. The views in the isle of Skye are so stunning I am glad you got to enjoy them.

And the fact you would 100% recommended us is ready great to hear we would love to host you again on your next trip

regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2019 via mobile

We stayed here on Sunday night. 4 adults With a shared room. Own shower and toilet. A bunk bed and 2 single beds. Facilities were great. Staff were lovely. Great location and great value for money. I will use this again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2019

HI there NatJim1

thank you for your feedback and im glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be very welcome any time you wish to return

regards

guest Relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2019 via mobile

It’s not very cheap but is one of the cheapest options in Portree. The Hostel is located a few steps from the main square and has a nice view of the lake. The Pier (painted houses) is just three blocks away from the hostel. To be fair, it’s a very small town so everything is pretty close on foot.

The bedrooms are very clean and cozy. It has a spacious kitchen with all the items you need to cook either a sandwich or a lasagne. They offer breakfast for £5-6 but there’s a supermarket (Co-op) three or four blocks away from the hostel. I suggest you to buy groceries at the supermarket and prepare your own meals at kitchen hostel. I spent £20 in groceries and was able to cook 5 complete meals with it.

They hostel has free items for guests in the kitchen such as pasta, can food, coffee, tea, bread and milk. Most guests also leave their leftover groceries for other people to use when they check out.

Staff is amazing, they’re very helpful and chill. If you’re on a budget or a seasoned traveler who likes places where you can meet other people like you, this is the place to stay in Portree. 10/10

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank abelbazua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2019

Good Afternoon abelbazua,

Thank you for your review on our Portree hostel.

We do appreciate the lovely feedback that you have given us, we do pride ourselves on having amazing staff, so thank you.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews