We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$193
eDreamsUS$193
Agoda.comUS$193
FindHotelUS$193
TripadvisorUS$193
Expedia.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveller rating
389
278
130
52
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
389
278
130
52
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift isle of skye town square top floor central location the main square third floor breakfast and dinner the pub lovely hotel fish and chips enjoyable stay both nights cooked breakfast yogurt greenhouse scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 879 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in last night initially for a drink and ended up being accomodated for dinner and some more drinks. Staff were superb,especially the lad from Aberdeen who couldn't have been more helpful. Food was excellent,some of the best scallops we have ever had.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is situated in the main square. Free car parking is situated 4 minutes away. Friendly, helpful staff.
We were allocated a third floor room which involved walking up over 50 steep steps each way.
The double room was very clean and small. There was a bed side light on one side of the bed. Made bed time reading tricky. The bed also had a low roof ridge above on one side of the bed which needed avoiding. There was spare floor for one "suitcase", the other was either infront of the room door or bathroom door.
Excellent fluffy towels.
The kettle is housed in a wooden tray where the heating element is balanced. Rather dangerous when replacing a half used heated kettle.
Breakfasts were in the main dining room. Contental breakfast offered the choice of cereals, smoked ham or sliced emmenthal. The bread choice was toast. The fruit bowl needed refreshing most days as it was rather depleted. The choice of cooked breakfasts was traditional, vegetarian, salmon and eggs, eggs with hollandaise sauce or waffles with bacon and maple syrup. The scrambled egg was flavourless, was always an even small size and was possibly from a reconstituted mix.
For £180 a night for two it was rather over priced.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ruthf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here and dined for one night as part of a road trip. Hotel is in a good location opposite the Portree Harbour and a good base to explore the small town. Free parking for guests is provided on a first come first served basis just across the street.

Room was spacious with a comfy bed and a good sized bathroom with shower and bath tub (fittings a bit dated but totally adequate).

Every other restauarant in the vicinity was fully booked (or closed due to CV19) so we had to opt for the hotel’s offering but as it turns out, this was absolutely fine. Evening meal taken in the residential dining room and we were surprised at the above average quality of our meal comprising of Garlic Mushrooms on Toast followed by Breaded Scampi with Chips and then a generous Cheeseboard. All delicious.

Breakfast was a bit dissapointing although edible.

Room tip: Try to get a harbour view (Room 7 was great)
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SimonsReviews1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a few days here with our friends
The minute we arrived at reception we received the most lovely welcome
The staff extremely friendly and efficient
The breakfast amazing ( Full Scottish recommended)
We had dinner in the evening again good food and service excellent Our room was fantastic especially the lovely soft towels
I would recommend a visit to this hotel
Thank you all for making our visit special
we will certainly return
Liz and Bill

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2021

We had the most amazing meal at The Portree Hotel. We experienced their greenhouses with provided heaters and Bluetooth speakers.
The greenhouses were very quirky and not like the fine dining food at all.
My one recommendation to all the resteraunts we went to in Skye is sticky tables are the worst! And when providing pudding spoons please provide a pudding fork too plus a nice napkin! For the prices that are charged for the beautiful food the table presentation does not match unfortunatly.
Anyways... I had Salmon, beautiful. The other dish was belly pork, again beautiful. Cocktails also worth trying.. long islands lovely! We had a young waitress, blonde hair. She was bloody brilliant. The best service we had on the island, thank you so much!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews