We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place, recommend 100%”
other travellers have booked this property
Oakfield Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oakfield Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Oakfield Cottage
Sunrise from the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George.Wa...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, recommend 100%”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I recommend booking Oakfield Cottage if your staying in Tobermory or on Mull. The cottage is very homely with great views down onto Tobermory.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really value our guests opinions and its always heartening to know that our efforts in ensuring a great stay for our guests is appreciated. Thanks again.
Iain & Susan Mclean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackfamil...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fantastic stay yet again . This "cottage" (large rooms with high ceilings and galleried hallway) has everything you would have at home. Brilliant location and beautiful views. 5 minute walk to the Main Street with all amenities. Perfect for couples or families.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Hello and thank you very much for your very positive review for Oakfield Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay - it was great to welcome you back and we will look forward to seeing you again next year - it wont be long in coming round!
Very best wishes to you all.
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martyntev...
Banff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal base for exploring Mull”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My mother and I experienced a very pleasurable week at Oakfield Cottage in Tobermory.

Oakfield Cottage is pleasantly decorated and furnished with all the features expected in a ‘home from home’. When sitting in the living room you can enjoy the steady stream of small birds coming to the feeding stations along with the hedgehog arriving at dusk.

It is situated about a 5 minute stroll from the Main Street where all manner of tourist experiences await as well as a plethora of bars, restaurants and cafés. The Mishnish (on Main Street towards the ferry terminal) provides good bar food and drink (real ale chilled unfortunately!) with Italian and seafood eateries attached. We cannot vouch for the seafood outlet but the Italian is well worth a visit and reasonably priced. The bars customers include a cross section of the local community along with a broad spectrum of international tourists, all usually willing to chat about anything and everything.

Café Fish which is situated near the ferry terminal is well worth a visit but booking is advised. MacGochans also has good bar food and beer.

The Isle of Mull Cheese farm is worth a visit for flavoursome cheddar and Hebridean Blue where an honesty box is used during the week.

Most villages and tourist spots have a café where snacks and sometimes lunches can be found.

In Tobermory, the must visit places include the Aquarium where entertaining and informative sessions are held by the ‘Ranger’, Tobermory Distillery, the Mull Museum, Isle of Mull Ice Cream, the Hebridean Whale and Dolphin Trust and Aros Park. Keep checking the bay where a wide variety of pleasure yachts and larger vessels make regular visits.

On the road (almost all single track!), I recommend Iona - set off early to avoid the mainland coaches and leave plenty of time (2 hoursish), Staffa - depart from Ulva Ferry in the morning and go to The Boathouse on Ulva for lunch upon your return, and Mull Eagle Watch for stunning views of very large birds (excellent value for £8). There are also several castles, numerous beaches and pleasant and strenuous walks worth thinking about.

While driving around keep your eyes peeled for otters and other wildlife. Remember not to park in passing places!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Hello and thank you very much for posting this very helpful review - future guests new to Mull will find it very informative.
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Oakfield Cottage - it was a pleasure to meet you both.
very best wishes
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki G
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic return visit to Mull and this Cottage”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our 2nd trip to this Cottage and it was as perfect as the first time, the cottage is spotless, well equipped and definitely feels like a home from home experience, we have already booked to return next year! Jean is such an fantastic host! Excellent base to explore the Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Hello to you all,
Thank you for your great review for Oakfield Cottage. It is really good to know that you all enjoy your visits. Thank you very much for booking for next year - we will look forward to seeing you all next May.
Very best wishes
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrypayn...
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The nicest way to stay on the Isle of Mull”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Isle of Mull is beautiful and the only town on the island, Tobermory, is a delightful place to stay. It is undeniably picturesque, has interesting shops and good restaurants. So it is a very popular place and can be quite crowded on the loch-side. Oakfield Cottage provides a superior way of staying on Mull. The front garden provides a lovely view of all that is going on the water. We slept well in the comfortable bedrooms whose windows can be left open and yet still be perfectly peaceful. A comfortable lounge. A well equipped kitchen.
But, best of all, is that the owner is always on hand to help and advise.
Even before we had arrived we were making frequent enquiries and Mrs Maclean responded without delay. When we were in residence she was always immediately available if we needed to talk to her.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly and helpful owner, who was always unobtrusively on hand.
Liked least: This is really nit-picking, but the property could do with a repeater wifi router in the premises.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfield Cottage, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It was really good that you were able to enjoy the excellent weather to explore the island and that you enjoyed sampling the menus in several of the local restaurants.
It was a real pleasure to meet you all and we hope that we might welcome you back some time in the not too distant future.
We hope that you went home well rested.
Very best wishes,
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing