We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A spotlessly clean and spacious property with...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

OnAir4146...
1 review
“A spotlessly clean and spacious property with every modern convenience”
Reviewed 6 October 2019 for a stay in September 2019

A large, spotlessly clean, comfortable chalet filled with every modern convenience. We lacked for nothing during our stay. The location too was ideal as a base for exploring the Isle of Lewis, since it's centrally located but only a short drive from Stornoway.

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Oct 2019
Thanks for the great comments left about the Chalet, We welcome you back anytime.

Kind regards

Heather Isle Chalets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
166claref
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Chalet”
Reviewed 17 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019

We spent a week here while visiting some of my family who live in Lewis, and had a wonderful stay. The chalet was extremely well equipped and comfortable, and the view from the decking was incredible. The location for exploring both Lewis and Harris by car was very convenient. As semi-regular visitors to the Outer Hebrides, we would love to come back to the Chalets again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Aug 2019
Thank you very much for the wonderful review, hope you all come back soon again.

All the best

Heather Isle Chalets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
254colinc
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent quality”
Reviewed 16 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019

A really good quality cabin and very well equipped - signifcantly better quality furnishings and kitchen equipment than normal. Washer and drier also good. Good position and slightly higher meant a bit of a breeze to keep the midges away! A good distance from another cabin or any houses. Owner came round to say Hi and see if we needed anything but otherwise left us to enjoy ourselves.

Date of stay: August 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Aug 2019
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments , hope you come back soon again.

All the best.

Heather Isle Chalets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grelu2000
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“amazing stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2019 for a stay in May 2019

On arrival we found a perfect house-chalet, perfect and perfect, with a specific climate.Very close to Stornoway, 5 min drive to the local store and gas station.Don very polite and helpful. He explained everything with details, showed where the fish equipment is and where the good fisheries area.Close to amazing attractions, I recommend visiting the beach: Luskentyre beach, Traigh Bhostadh( Bosta beach), Scarista beach,Mangersta Beach.For the first time in my life I have seen such beautiful views.At Bosta beach, you must see the Iron Age House! Be sure to see the Gearannan Blackhouse Village and second great Museum Black House in Arnol.Huge impression is also made by the Viking village, available for sightseeing without a fee-full name-Norse Mill and Kiln, Shawbost.Sunday drivers are warning before driving GOLDEN ROAD.Beautiful views, but we were all sweaty with fear, like rats, a narrow road over the girdle, we drived 20 miles an hour, my wife was terryfied.The Chalet has a great location for sightseeing with a beautiful view of the lake and mountains,It deserves the highest marks, the owners also. We fell in love with this place. I threw a few photos on facebook, at work I was overwhelmed with questions about the island and chalet, everyone was surprised by the price of the chalet - very honest, amazed by the beauty of the landscape.Unfortunately, no one from my place of work was on Isle of Lewis and Harris, so all the information I got online, but I suspect that some people I talked to would go for a holiday in this amazing place.I think it was the best holiday in my life.Great thanks to Don for a wonderful chalet and professional help and kindness.

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Jun 2019
Great to hear you had the holiday of a lifetime up on the Isle of Lewis. We hope you come back soon again to the Chalets and hopefully tell all your friends and family to come also.

All the very best

Heather Isle Chalets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefKeef
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location for exploring with your four legged friend.”
Reviewed 24 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a wonderful visit to the Outer Hebrides, Isle of Lewis and Harris. When you go traveling a lot of the activities you plan and accomplish are dependent on the weather. We were fortunate that after a bit of soggy start we had three days of sunshine and rising temperatures. It was a wonderful trip and the Island offers culture, hills, stunning beaches and much much more...

So, Orisaigh Chalet, our chosen venue because of the the locality to Stornoway and the all important admission of our dog 'Basil'.

The chalet is a good size, all rooms are clean and well appointed. There are plenty of towels and the kitchen comes with every utensil you could wish for. The chalet also comes with local literature and a DVD collection. There is a good size decking with table and chairs to the front of the property which affords wonderful views.

To the rear of the chalet there is a wee loch with a little hut that allows you to take a seat and admire the scenery.

So, why after such a glowing review have i not given Orisaigh 5 stars (Excellent)? Simply this, when we arrived at the chalet we were informed in the introduction manual that we would have to pay an additional fee for electricity. This is done by taking a key for the electricity meter to a nearby shop and purchasing credit for it. We did not by any stretch of the imagination go crazy with electricity, just the normal, heating water, the fridge, cooker and the TV, but this was still draining approximately £5.00 a day which is more than i pay for my 3 bed detached house back home. My criticism is that no where on the Heather Isle Chalets website does it mention this, and although a trivial thing to some, for me personally I don't want to come on holiday and have to monitor my use of electricity when i have paid a fee upfront.

Another thing to note, the Outer Hebrides is old school, on a Sunday there are very limited places open to buy groceries, the Island basically has the day off... I like that.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Jul 2018
Thank you for the comments about the Chalet. Regarding the electricity meter, At this time of year most guests go through about £2.50 per day in electricity, not a great deal. We have been going now for a number of years and this is the first time we have heard a complaint about it. Heather Isle Chalets are 4 star rated and could charge a bit more for the accommodation but we keep our prices at a very reasonable rate to accommodate working families aswell as anyone else that wants to use them to enjoy there time on the Hebrides. You will find most self catering properties on the Island have key meters fitted and regarding the Sunday being old school, Most of our guests and Islanders included enjoy the Sunday the way it is at the moment, nice and quiet.

Heather Isle Chalets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.