We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”

Review of An Taigh Clach

'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area Living area and multi fuel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area
Living area and multi fuel stove
Multifuel stove + a wee dram
Well equipped kitchen
Hallway to bedrooms and shower room
Shower room
Twin room
Double bedroom
Garden & utility shed
Peat - aromatic burning on a cool evening
Peat cutting - back breaking work but worth the effort
Sunset over Garenin - next stop America!
Kite surfing on a long summer's day
Doune Carloway Broch - 2 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Wild flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
WillieGar...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

If you are thinking that it is a bit suspicious that this place has so many great reviews learn to be more trusting !

It is the best holiday cottage we have ever came across !

My family which includes 2 x 8 year olds stayed here recently for a week. Based upon our experience and the positive feedback from previous reviews I think you would struggle to find better holiday accomodation anywhere !

The owners are very helpful, the accomodation is excellent and the location is stunning !

The house is located in the village of Carloway on the west coast and is perfectly positioned for exploring Lewis and Harris by car. Gearrannan Village and Carloway Broch are within easy walking distance. There is also a teffific coastal path offering great views in all directions. The two nearest sandy beaches, Dalmore and Dalbeag are less than 15 minutes way by car or two hours to three hours walk north along the coastal path.

Be aware that the nearest petrol station / shop is 15 minutes drive away and they are closed on Sundays !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Panoramic Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penicuik
Reviewed 20 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and location
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fm27
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, luxurious place to escape everyday life”
Reviewed 12 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

From our initial enquiries to our departure, Valerie was extremely helpful and friendly without being intrusive. We had booked the cottage for a three day romantic getaway away from the hustle and bustle of city life and we were definitely not disappointed.

The cottage is easy to find, has ample parking and being warmly welcomed by Valerie, a peat fire, home baked scones and cakes and dram of whisky was a real pleasure. The cottage has stunning views from the living room, which is cosy but modern and has everything you need whether you want to relax and watch a DVD or read one of the books supplied about the local history of the Western Isles. The large kitchen is well-equipped with everything you can think of and the bottles of wine and lamb that Valerie left us were a lovely touch. We enjoyed lovely weather when we were there and were able to sit outside and eat dinner whilst we watched the sun go down. The bathroom and bedroom were also of a very high standard and spotlessly clean.

The cottage was ideal for us - cosy and homely for the evenings when we wanted to just chill out and a good location to travel to nearby landmarks such as the Standing Stones of Callanish and the stunning beaches.

We had a fantastic holiday at An Taigh Clach and would recommend it to anyone staying in Lewis - whether you are a family or a couple. It's one of the best places we've ever had the pleasure of staying in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayos101
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A seamless blend of stunning scenery and exceptional hospitality”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

After a long journey the delights of An Taigh Clach and it's owners could not be more welcoming. Warm peat fire , home baking,a bottle of wine and a wee dram waiting for you, who could ask for more?
The facilities offered are exceptional, a high spec kitchen with all mod cons and some very thoughtful touches such as fresh flowers and local bath products. This really is a home from home and the owners provide everything you could need for a wonderful stay.
We also travelled with our grown up son and the flat screen tv and wifi connection were also a great asset! We loved it so much we have already booked for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughtful touches and warmth and friendliness of the owners
Liked least: having to go home!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Excellent all round: Beautiful well-equipped accommodation; fascinating place”
Reviewed 6 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We only got to stay four full days plus two partial days at "An Taigh Clach", but the entire experience was great. The house commands extraordinary views of the surrounding countryside on all sides; it is also very fully equipped for self-catering. Every detail has been thought through; there is even a flashlight / torch in a box in the parking area in case you find yourself in darkness trying to pick your way up and down the steps to the house (which is very unlikely since the electric lighting outside is more than adequate). A peat and wood burning stove throws out lots of heat when needed, but you won't want to spend a lot of your time indoors, because the most inspiring element of all is the surrounding countryside. We could only scratch the surface of all the interesting places and activities on offer on the Isle of Lewis. Warmly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation; amazing setting
Liked least: Wi-fi was intermittently unavailable for no obvious reason
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing