We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and a beautiful bar”
Review of The Cross Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cross Keys
Ranked #2 of 2 Kippen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Last week I stayed at The Cross Keys for three nights, in search of some post-Christmas peace and quiet. The hospitality offered by the staff of The Cross Keys was second to none; the room was basic but comfortable, and the food and drink of a very high quality. Midday and evening meals seemed to attract a happy mixture of locals and visitors, and the beers on tap are brewed locally to Kippen at the Fallen Brewery. Hearty breakfast, and a lovely location. Would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

My wife and I turned up at the Cross Keys on a Sunday afternoon without booking only to find the place full to bursting with a group of 45 having a Christmas lunch.
We were still made to feel welcome and finding was no problem to the staff who bent over backwards to produce an amazing pub lunch.
I had venison croquettes to start with followed by a salmon & halibut stew fantastic.
They also have a good range of real ales.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kevin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

4 of us had linch in bar area. Very welcoming homely surroundings. Staff very attentative and pleasant. 2 of us had stovies which were really tasty and 2 had bangers and mash again tasty..coice of large or small. My sister in law and i had a lovely chocolate and hazlenut tart. Definatley go back but this time for dinner. Thank you for the great service and food.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank lorrainerobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Popped in for dinner on Halloween and wasn't dissapointed. To be honest I didn't really think about Halloween, and when I walked up was little worried it was going to be really busy! It was but we were shown through to the quieter restaurant with a roaring open fire! Perfect! The menu was impressive and the food didn't disappoint! The waiter was very enthusiastic, nice too see someone so passionate!

Will definitely return

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Delicious meal with family last night. Cooked to perfection as always, very well presented and service great. Roaring fire and Scottish music added to the perfect atmosphere. Very relaxed and cosy, could've stayed all night.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys

Address: Main Street, Kippen FK8 3DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Kippen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kippen
Price Range: €65 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys is a traditional and comfortable Inn nestled in the village of Kippen between the Loch lomond and trossachs national park and the ancient city of Stirling, Scotland. There are three contemporary en suite rooms with heated floors, excellent beds and fresh white linen. The pub has log fires in winter and the beer garden has great view in the summer. Food at the Cross Keys is traditional modern with standards and specials side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Keys Hotel Kippen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing