We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
90
51
8
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
51
8
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscross keysgastro pubatmospheric barsteak pielog fireitison deallocal walkssticky toffee puddingsmoked fishdelicious mealgreat base for exploringhand cut chipsgreat nightsmall hotelexcellent facilitiesmain coursebed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

My wife and I turned up at the Cross Keys on a Sunday afternoon without booking only to find the place full to bursting with a group of 45 having a Christmas lunch.
We were still made to feel welcome and finding was no problem to the staff who bent over backwards to produce an amazing pub lunch.
I had venison croquettes to start with followed by a salmon & halibut stew fantastic.
They also have a good range of real ales.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kevin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

4 of us had linch in bar area. Very welcoming homely surroundings. Staff very attentative and pleasant. 2 of us had stovies which were really tasty and 2 had bangers and mash again tasty..coice of large or small. My sister in law and i had a lovely chocolate and hazlenut tart. Definatley go back but this time for dinner. Thank you for the great service and food.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank lorrainerobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Popped in for dinner on Halloween and wasn't dissapointed. To be honest I didn't really think about Halloween, and when I walked up was little worried it was going to be really busy! It was but we were shown through to the quieter restaurant with a roaring open fire! Perfect! The menu was impressive and the food didn't disappoint! The waiter was very enthusiastic, nice too see someone so passionate!

Will definitely return

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Delicious meal with family last night. Cooked to perfection as always, very well presented and service great. Roaring fire and Scottish music added to the perfect atmosphere. Very relaxed and cosy, could've stayed all night.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

we stayed one night in the double room which was bright ,spacious.with very comfortable bed and good shower
we dined in the atmospheric old bar in the evening food was outstanding with attentive service
breakfast was freshly prepared using local produce very tasty
we had a great time in this lovely old inn set in a very nice village and would reccomend

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews