We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$195
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$90
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$169
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Colessio(Stirling)
US$112
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
90
50
8
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
50
8
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscross keysgastro pubatmospheric barsteak pielog fireitison deallocal walkssmoked fishsticky toffee puddingdelicious mealgreat base for exploringhand cut chipssunday lunchsmall hotelgreat nightexcellent facilitiesmain course
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Can't recommend this highly enough, ticks all the boxes.

Delicious food, reasonably priced, excellent customer service, modern bedrooms with all mod-cons required for an overnight stopover, comfy beds ....all this and yet it retains it's charm, character and style!

I've stayed here twice now, and would definatly return and recommend to others!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Dear Zara B,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It really is appreciated by myself, Debby my partner and the staff to hear that you appreciated so much what we are trying to do here. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Brian & Debby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Visited from Ireland and went for a family meal, very slow service, food not great and staff were unfriendly. Was not happy with the expensive menu, not worth the money!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Dear LE2010,

I am very sorry to hear that your experience at The Cross Keys was seemingly not a good one. It is just a shame that you did not alert us at the time to the various definitive points that you make here on Trip advisor. We take great pride in dealing with any complaints at the point of service and it is of course very difficult for us to comment in retrospect on what you feel was "expensive" , "not worth the money" and the "unfriendly service". We would of course offered either an alternative meal or a refund.

This does seem a bit odd as none of our main courses are above £14 (some as low as £8) apart from daily delivered fresh fish dishes (£15) and prime rib eye steak at £19 (including the sauce). None of our starters are above £5 and our puddings are also all £5. These are all cooked on the premises, to order. We feel, as do the majority of our reviewers on this website that this represents good value for money.

The staff take great pride in their service and feel dissapointed you felt them unfriendly. This again is not something they are used to and in fact have been named personally ( Katie) in one review as being extremely friendly.

It is a shame that you feel your experience was the polar opposite of what the majority of customers experience here at The Cross Keys and we can only apologise for that. I hope that should you return to Kippen we will be able to go some way to rectify your obvious dissapointment.

Regards,

Brian & Debby (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

If you're in the area or fancy a trip out to Kippen; the Cross Keys is by far the best inn/pub in the area.

I recently moved to the area and 1 of my main priorities was to find a great watering hole that served quality food you would find in any major city, a good selection of ale, friendly staff and a place that will take dogs (in the bar area/beer garden)..... Now I've trawled the area and thankfully I found The Cross Keys!

Keep up the good work; you're knocking spots off your competition.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesProgressive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Jamesprogressive,

Thanks for your comments. Both the staff & owners appreciate the time you have taken to write your review. Especially when it is as informed and well researched as yours. Thanks again & we look forward to seeing you in The Keys again soon.

Best

Brian & Debby, The Cross Keys, Kippen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I was already won over with the Cross Keys when I saw they had draft Addletsones Cider (sad, but true). The bar had a lovely relaxed atmosphere, with seating outside, which we took advantage of in the early evening. The room was a good size, clean and modern. Unfortunately the double room was gone so we booked the twin, being told we could push the beds together. It was disappointing that this hadn't been done for us, and with a standard lamp between the beds we decided to leave it because it would have been quite an upheaval. Nice toiletries and a great view over some interesting gardens. Could have done with larger towels and more than 1 coathanger between us, but these were minor things. The food was just superb. A good choice of dishes including vegetarian choices for my hubby and a good wine list. Staff were great and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. A nice touch would have been to have something veggie (sausages etc) as an option for the cooked breakfast, but what we ordered was great. Well worth a visit and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Only 1 double room so book in advance.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chookybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Chookybirdy,

Thanks for your kind words and constructive review. It helps us a great deal to hear about the experience of our customers. It is great to hear that despite some minor glitches overall you were happy on your visit. I can only apologise about the beds and have to hold my hands up and say that was entirley my fault and an honest oversight.

We hope to see you again at The Keys.

Regards,

Brian & Debby, The Cross Keys, Main Street, Kippen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Very dog and people friendly staff (especially Katie),great place if you want to let your dog come to dinner with you. Food is excellent we did overnight stay accommodation modern and very clean again dog felt at home. Plenty of nice walks in the area. The cross keys is a must for dogs who like to take their owners out. Will be regular visitors.

Room Tip: Look out for meal deal specials
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank outandabout2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews