We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST GASTRO PUB FOR MILES”
Review of The Cross Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cross Keys
Ranked #2 of 2 Kippen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Great food, welcoming, friendly staff and dog friendly. Ticks all the boxes for me! I've just moved to the area and love the Cross Keys.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear angusroberts,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is very important for us and the staff to hear the views of our customers and appreciate the time and effort it takes for you to post your thoughts.

We take great pride in hearing that you appreciate what we are doing here and look forward to welcoming you again at The Cross Keys..

regards,

Brian & Debby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

Can't recommend this highly enough, ticks all the boxes.

Delicious food, reasonably priced, excellent customer service, modern bedrooms with all mod-cons required for an overnight stopover, comfy beds ....all this and yet it retains it's charm, character and style!

I've stayed here twice now, and would definatly return and recommend to others!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Dear Zara B,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It really is appreciated by myself, Debby my partner and the staff to hear that you appreciated so much what we are trying to do here. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Brian & Debby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Visited from Ireland and went for a family meal, very slow service, food not great and staff were unfriendly. Was not happy with the expensive menu, not worth the money!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Dear LE2010,

I am very sorry to hear that your experience at The Cross Keys was seemingly not a good one. It is just a shame that you did not alert us at the time to the various definitive points that you make here on Trip advisor. We take great pride in dealing with any complaints at the point of service and it is of course very difficult for us to comment in retrospect on what you feel was "expensive" , "not worth the money" and the "unfriendly service". We would of course offered either an alternative meal or a refund.

This does seem a bit odd as none of our main courses are above £14 (some as low as £8) apart from daily delivered fresh fish dishes (£15) and prime rib eye steak at £19 (including the sauce). None of our starters are above £5 and our puddings are also all £5. These are all cooked on the premises, to order. We feel, as do the majority of our reviewers on this website that this represents good value for money.

The staff take great pride in their service and feel dissapointed you felt them unfriendly. This again is not something they are used to and in fact have been named personally ( Katie) in one review as being extremely friendly.

It is a shame that you feel your experience was the polar opposite of what the majority of customers experience here at The Cross Keys and we can only apologise for that. I hope that should you return to Kippen we will be able to go some way to rectify your obvious dissapointment.

Regards,

Brian & Debby (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

If you're in the area or fancy a trip out to Kippen; the Cross Keys is by far the best inn/pub in the area.

I recently moved to the area and 1 of my main priorities was to find a great watering hole that served quality food you would find in any major city, a good selection of ale, friendly staff and a place that will take dogs (in the bar area/beer garden)..... Now I've trawled the area and thankfully I found The Cross Keys!

Keep up the good work; you're knocking spots off your competition.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesProgressive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Jamesprogressive,

Thanks for your comments. Both the staff & owners appreciate the time you have taken to write your review. Especially when it is as informed and well researched as yours. Thanks again & we look forward to seeing you in The Keys again soon.

Best

Brian & Debby, The Cross Keys, Kippen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I was already won over with the Cross Keys when I saw they had draft Addletsones Cider (sad, but true). The bar had a lovely relaxed atmosphere, with seating outside, which we took advantage of in the early evening. The room was a good size, clean and modern. Unfortunately the double room was gone so we booked the twin, being told we could push the beds together. It was disappointing that this hadn't been done for us, and with a standard lamp between the beds we decided to leave it because it would have been quite an upheaval. Nice toiletries and a great view over some interesting gardens. Could have done with larger towels and more than 1 coathanger between us, but these were minor things. The food was just superb. A good choice of dishes including vegetarian choices for my hubby and a good wine list. Staff were great and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. A nice touch would have been to have something veggie (sausages etc) as an option for the cooked breakfast, but what we ordered was great. Well worth a visit and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Only 1 double room so book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chookybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Chookybirdy,

Thanks for your kind words and constructive review. It helps us a great deal to hear about the experience of our customers. It is great to hear that despite some minor glitches overall you were happy on your visit. I can only apologise about the beds and have to hold my hands up and say that was entirley my fault and an honest oversight.

We hope to see you again at The Keys.

Regards,

Brian & Debby, The Cross Keys, Main Street, Kippen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys

Address: Main Street, Kippen FK8 3DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Kippen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kippen
Price Range: €53 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys is a traditional and comfortable Inn nestled in the village of Kippen between the Loch lomond and trossachs national park and the ancient city of Stirling, Scotland. There are three contemporary en suite rooms with heated floors, excellent beds and fresh white linen. The pub has log fires in winter and the beer garden has great view in the summer. Food at the Cross Keys is traditional modern with standards and specials side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Keys Hotel Kippen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing