We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
51
18
4
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
18
4
4
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2019

Crystal House feels like a home away from home. I enjoyed an extended stay in September, and felt incredibly well taken care of during my entire stay. Delicious breakfasts. Comfortable furnishings. Exceptionally warm, generous, and helpful hosts. The garden and grounds are beautiful. The commitment to environmental friendliness is apparent in every way. The entire property exudes an energy of kindness. The location is also excellent and is near plenty of breathtaking hiking trails.

I look forward to returning!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmondhighlandhote, Owner at Crystal House (Richmond Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2019

Karen, Thank you for your kind review and for your extended custom. Happy that you found your stay comfortable and our property and gardens comfortable and beautiful. Our environmental and ethical commitment is key to out business ethos. For 2020 we will have three 7kw EV chargers available for our guest and visitors to Strathpeffer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

Every room is themed after a crystal, your key has that Crystal attached to it. The decor is tasteful, with nature theme photography and wood furniture. But I just woke up from nap here and the beds are amazing. Fluff, but firm, the duvet is big enough for the bed and a person, the sheet are immaculate but do not have the aroma of detergent or dryer sheets. The place is immaculately clean, but I can't smell cleaning products. When I woke from my nap I can see out the window a view of the garden, the adjacent historic buildings and hillside. Quite pleased!

Room tip: I've been here before and with other visitors. Doesn't seem to have a bad room in the whole building.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NicanFhleisdeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmondhighlandhote, Owner at Crystal House (Richmond Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Thank you Heather for your review and for noticing one of our unique selling points.We live our personal lives with the intention of causing the least harm to the biosphere of planet Earth. This was an ethos that we naturally took in business when we started Crystal House we use naturally unfragranced laundry products so that is it is clean but does not have any artificial floral smells ( and all the VOCs and chemical smog that goes along with them). For house cleaning we use Enjo products the micro fibres they have only require water to leave a hygienically clean surface, the cloths themselves are taken back by Enjo for recycling the product has reached the end of its life. A special wash bag prevents any micro plastics from leaching into the environment. This aspect of our accommodation often goes unnoticed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

Central location and on-site parking. Very comfortable place to stay, a little frayed round the edges but the good hosts more than make up for this and the rooms are comfortable, ours had a nice view of the glen. Very helpful owner. We found this a very nice place to stay, excellent location and a modest rate.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GWRfanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmondhighlandhote, Owner at Crystal House (Richmond Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We know we are not corporate slick and do not try to be we always do our best to be good hosts and present a friendly comfortable place to stay and we're happy that you had a positive experience. With the exception of modest charges for extra beds (£10) and pets(£5) the prices you see are what you pay with no hidden fees for cleaning etc. We think we are spoilt by our location too and enjoy the views across the Strath and down the Glen. Happy travels and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2019

I stayed here with my parents for one night. We were tourists in this area so we got some good recommendations from the hotel staff and locals. The owner and his partner are super friendly. Its a very quiet peaceful hotel and town. Overall cleanliness in the room and common area is good! A bit outdated but everything works. The bed was comfortable. We had a lovely Indian dinner here as well, with a wonderful explanation of the spicy Indian pickles and peppers!
Overall good stay with a beautiful view over the area!
was a bit pricey, but we were there in the middle of summer holiday season..

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Iris22794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmondhighlandhote, Manager at Crystal House (Richmond Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and that you recognised that we have a high standard of cleanliness. Most of our guest are like you and appreciate the sense of peace and calm that our establishment is imbued with. The Mauritian food is our speciality so we're happy you enjoyed it. We believe that our prices for the room offer fair value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2019

B&B in very pictoresque Victorian Spa village.
The house is somewhat run down, e.g. no fire alert in the room.
We got a small room on the 2nd floor (servants room) which was pretty cramped with fairly poorle beds. Tiny bath room.
Downstairs there a nice lounge (which one has share with the hotel managers family) and a spacious breakfast room are to be found.
A somewhat strange religeous atmosphere all over the house.
Taking into accout the high hotel prices all over Scotland, reasonably priced.

Room tip: Ask for room on 1st floor
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmondhighlandhote, Manager at Crystal House (Richmond Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Rest assured that we have a fully compliant L2 fire alarm, obviously you did not notice it. Sounders no longer need to be red and the combined detector and sounder in the room you booked is white. You booked via expedia and chose the economy double room, which is economy because of the small bathroom as the info on this room clearly says. We aim to offer value for money and are pleased that you recognised this. Crystal house does also operate as a spiritual retreat but this aspect of our business is not forced on guests. The lounge is available for all guests and when we are not busy elsewhere we relax in the lounge so we are available if our guests want our assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews