We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Monty's Cottage

Dores Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dores Beach
Monty's Cottage Cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Dores Beach
Monty's Cottage
Cosy lounge
Wood burner
Cosy lounge
Hall
Main Bedroom - Double Bed
Main bedroom
Twin Room - beds can be zipped up
Twin Room - beds can be zipped up
Fully equipped kitchen
Shower
Bathroom
The walk to the Falls - 2 mins from the cottage
Falls of Foyers
View from the local pub
Loch Ness September 2013
The Dores Inn
Sunset on Loch Ness March 2013
Sunset on Loch Ness 2013
Village Green children's playpark
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Foyers, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Vanessa C
London, England, United Kingdomd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We loved our stay at Montys. The local scenery is stunning and the 3 of us were very cosy in the cottage. We had the perfect, quiet Christmas that we wanted. Montys has everything we needed including really thick, warm duvets with fleecy blankets and hot water bottles if needed. The shower and bath were both luxurious and the log burning fire topped it off. The nearest pub was a 10 min picturesque walk and the torches provided came in handy for the walk home! We loved our stay and hope to come back again one day.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathwatto
Perthshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful arranged bolt hole spitting distance from Loch Ness”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed in this cottage during the October half term and found it very central to lots of day trips. The walk to the falls is pleasant and lunch at The Dores Inn is a must. We really enjoyed visiting Fort George, Erquhart Castle and Culloden Battlefield. The cottage itself is small but incredibly well thought out and decorated. A lot of trouble has been gone to in order to make this as cosy and easy to use as possible. There were games, DVDs, very comfortable beds and lots of snuggly blankets to sit under. We had our dog with us and the lack of fence around the garden was a bit of a problem but it just forced us to get out and walk her a bit more. I would recommend this place highly although be prepared that with a family of four, it is quite a tight space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the beds
Liked least: the lack of fence around the garden
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey M
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

1st visit to Scotland. Stayed for 5 nights the cottage was lovely, has everything you need, beds were lovely!. Location is great lovely and peaceful, the falls 5 mins walk are well worth a visit. Good base for Inverness. Ate at the Dores inn food was delicious. Would stay here again.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare C
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and cosy cottage, perfect”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Montys cottage. We arrived to a clean cosy and very homely cottage. There was a nice little plate of shortbread and some complimentary whisky. The decor is gorgeous and the cottage is extremely well equipped. The kitchen had absolutely everything you could think to need including cooking oil, salt, vinegar and complimentary tea coffee and sugar. The falls of foyers are a short beautiful walk away and walk to the shores of Loch Ness are also within walking distance. Loved the location and loved the cottage.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey D
1 review
“The perfect escape”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our stay at Monty's cottage was perfect and we were really sorry to leave. The shortbread and whisky on arrival was just what was needed after a long journey. The cottage was truly a home from home. Having WiFi was a real bonus allowing everyone back home to see all our pictures and get jealous about how beautiful loch ness is. I don't think we did one journey without stopping somewhere to admire the amazing views. The walk from the cottage to the falls of foyers then down to the shore of loch ness was lovely (if a little hard work on the way back). Cameron's tea room which was a couple of minutes walk from the cottage was also a favourite spot of ours to while away an afternoon watching the highland cows, the food there is very good and they also sell fruit and veg and some other bits. Visiting The Dores Inn is also a must, the views from there are incredible and the food is amazing. I could go on and on but in a nutshell Monty's is the perfect spot to explore loch ness and was so comfortable and had everything you could need for your getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like home - wood burner, WiFi, washing machine etc
Liked least: The bed was too soft for me
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing