We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“refreshed, relaxed and ready to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is how we felt after our 24 hours at The Lovat. Our studio room was modern, bright and wonderfully warm with a fantastic wet room but the real highlight of this hotel for us was the food. Good vegetarian food is not easy to find - imaginative vegetarian food that is perfectly cooked and beautifully presented is even more rare - The Lovat provided all 3. There were two dishes that we haven't seen anywhere else that really stood out; vegetarian haggis cannelloni and a dessert intriguingly called carrot, carrot, carrot – a good recommendation by our waitress which was a great surprise and showcases the creativity and skill of the chef at The Lovat. All of the staff with whom we spoke were friendly, hospitable and professional and the handmade cookies we were given on departure meant that we could take a wee bit of The Lovat home - another attentive detail that will ensure a return visit. Hope you enjoy finding the others out for yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gate1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

931 - 935 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

The service here was exceptional - the receptionist even got up early to make sure we had some breakfast before our drive home. Really great stay. Try out the restaurant too - the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

After making the drive from Glasgow airport via Oban, The Lovat provided a warm welcome from the minute we walked through the door.

Customer service was spot on and we were shown to our from by the member of staff that welcomed us.

The room was huge and extremely well maintained and laid out. As a base we drove from The Lovat and explored the local area and Loch Ness. After a long day out and about coming back and met by a roaring log fire made us feel at home.

Highly recommend The Lovat to anyone looking for a great hotel in a fantastic setting.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Really impressed with this hotel. My wife and I managed to escape the kids for a night and checked in here on a DBB package which we felt was very good value. The hotel itself is a blend of traditional old building and sleek modern design and the rooms were the same. Really nice, spacious room. Impeccable service. The food in the restaurant was top notch, as was the atmosphere. Plenty to do in and around Fort Augustus if you're into the outdoors or sightseeing. Overall one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent Hogmanay here this year and it was perfect! Staff are wonderful I could adopt them all especially Neil and the chef who is a great dancer!! The food was delicious and the masked ball was great fun! Rooms comfortable and nothing too much trouble for the wonderful staff! We will return!! :)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fluffygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
1.2 km away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
8.8 km away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
10.1 km away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.2 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
24.8 km away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
24.8 km away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range: €109 - €243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing