We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, comfy rooms, cosy lounge with fire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great staff, comfy rooms, cosy lounge with fire”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The service here was exceptional - the receptionist even got up early to make sure we had some breakfast before our drive home. Really great stay. Try out the restaurant too - the food was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    215
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
201
696
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

After making the drive from Glasgow airport via Oban, The Lovat provided a warm welcome from the minute we walked through the door.

Customer service was spot on and we were shown to our from by the member of staff that welcomed us.

The room was huge and extremely well maintained and laid out. As a base we drove from The Lovat and explored the local area and Loch Ness. After a long day out and about coming back and met by a roaring log fire made us feel at home.

Highly recommend The Lovat to anyone looking for a great hotel in a fantastic setting.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Really impressed with this hotel. My wife and I managed to escape the kids for a night and checked in here on a DBB package which we felt was very good value. The hotel itself is a blend of traditional old building and sleek modern design and the rooms were the same. Really nice, spacious room. Impeccable service. The food in the restaurant was top notch, as was the atmosphere. Plenty to do in and around Fort Augustus if you're into the outdoors or sightseeing. Overall one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent Hogmanay here this year and it was perfect! Staff are wonderful I could adopt them all especially Neil and the chef who is a great dancer!! The food was delicious and the masked ball was great fun! Rooms comfortable and nothing too much trouble for the wonderful staff! We will return!! :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent 5 nights at this lovely hotel and enjoyed every minute. The food was superb and the Hogmany dinner was one of the best I have every written. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and worked hard to create an atmosphere where guests felt relaxed and well cared for. We had a problem with our water on New Year's Eve and Caroline the owner arrived armed with a spanner to try and fix the problem! I would definitely recommend this as an ideal holiday venue for couples and families.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
1.2 km away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
10.1 km away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
686 reviews
24.8 km away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
371 reviews
40.2 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
22.0 km away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Property: The Lovat, Loch Ness
Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing