We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$121
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lovat house Bed & Breakfast(Crieff)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fendoch Guest House(Crieff)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Highlandman Station(Crieff)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Braidhaugh Holiday Park(Crieff)(Great Value!)
US$36
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,300)
Filter reviews
4,300 results
Traveller rating
2,013
1,221
582
325
159
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,013
1,221
582
325
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeikle restaurantvictorian spawinter gardenkids clubself cateringchild carefamily hotelsoft playquad bikesexecutive roomhorse ridingoutdoor activitiesfamily breakbunk bedsbouncy castlecrazy golfthe main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3,700 - 3,705 of 4,300 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Been here each January for over ten years. Beautiful location outside town - walking distance. So many things to do, never enough time to do them all. Nice walks above the hotel, large bedrooms, plenty of places to sit and relax. Staff always courteous. Nice meals in Miekle Restaurant. Can't think of many places to compare for an after Christmas break.

Room Tip: All the ones I've ever stayed in have been lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthWalesTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Thanks SouthWales Teapot for such a sterling review! It means so much to us all when a regular guest takes time to post such favourable comments. Here’s hoping we’ll have the chance to ‘wow’ you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We've stayed here as a family a few times and I have to admit the facilities are second to none - there's so much to do within the resort, especially if you're into outdoor activities. It is expensive though - we've been fortunate that our kids are under 5 so we can go for a midweek break outside the school holiday periods. Really helpful with plenty high chairs, microwaves, bottle warmers etc in the cafes and restaurants. We've always used the self catering lodges - the cheaper 3* chalets are a bit basic but the 4* cottages are excellent. Highly recommended, if you can get a deal, and we think this place will be even better when the kids are a bit older.

Room Tip: Midweek outside the school holidays for the best rates
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Hi Greg2302 and glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at the Hydro. We’re constantly updating our range of free activities for all age groups, so you’ll find lots of choice each time you visit. Thanks too for your lovely feedback on our child friendly facilities and 4* cottages, which we really appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

No danger of being bored here. The place has everything. But it all has to be paid for. Not even free WiFi. And a pound for each game of table footy. 25 pounds for hiring a bike for 4 hours makes it more expensive than hiring a car.

To be fair it's an impressive setup and the staff are great. Our rooms were luxurious although I see from earlier reviews that it can't be guaranteed.

Some minor niggles like the poor standard of coffee and pool towels that could be bigger and more absorbant.

Very popular with young families and couples. Great for horse riding.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McWulf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Oh dear McWulf25, we’re sorry if we appeared penny pinching. It seems like you didn’t get to take advantage of the numerous free activities here at the Hydro – or the 30 minutes free Wi-Fi use that we currently offer every guest (soon to be free). We’ll certainly check out our coffee and pool towels, as you sounded pretty disappointed with both. On a positive note, thanks for your great comments on our staff and bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Instead of buying Christmas gifts for each other my boyfriend and I decided we would rather spend the same amount of money and go away for a few days.

We got an excellent dbb deal from Crieff hydro website as part of a romantic couples package. When we arrived we were greeted by a helpful Scottish receptionist who explained or package and checked us in.

Our room was well laid out, pleasantly decorated and spacious. The bathroom had two showers as well as a bath and all the usual soaps ect. The room also had an ironing board and iron and a full size hairdryer.

Crieff hydro itself has hundreds of activities which everyone will enjoy and all of which are reasonably priced. Due to only staying 2 nights and the weather we only managed to go to the driving range. Included in our package was the Victorian spa which is amazing to get away from all the kids and very relaxing however I'm not sure if I would pay £10 for access.

The bars and restaurants are lovely. However we did not enjoy or meal in the Meikle restaurant as much as the brasserie. One tip is:when dining in the brasserie you only get to spend £21.50 per person and anything over you have to pay which is fair enough. However this is not taken off the bill at the time and is only taken off once setteling account at reception when checking out.

Crieff itself is not very big and for young people like us in our 20s not great. But there is enough in the hydro not to get bored also there are a number of towns and attractions not too far away.

As mentioned in other reviews there are a lot of kids around. This is because there is plenty for them to do and I would certainly recommend it for families with children of all ages including teens. However we found that we also enjoyed it very much and would return in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stenny-Physio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

It sounds like you really enjoyed a brilliant alternative to a boring Christmas present Stenny-physio and what a great way to start your year! Sorry about the couple of niggling points, but pleased you had a lovely time overall. Hope you’ll come back soon to take advantage of the other activities on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed in the two bedroom chalet for four nights just after New Year. A bit of a mixed bag. The kitchen is large and well equipped but the dial makings were worn off on the cooker making it tricky to use. The bedrooms were fine and comfortable and there was no noise or disturbance at night. The bathroom was tired and damp, the cheap electric shower was not up to the job producing a poor flow at the required temperature. Overall the living room was fine but the chairs were quite uncomfortable.

The chalet had a distinct smell of vomit which I expect was related to the the New Year celebrations of the occupants before us. The cleaners would have known about this and should have made the management aware.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JimmyBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Public Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Hi JimmyBrooks, we’re so sorry that your chalet was wide of the mark. It would be really helpful to know which chalet you stayed in, so that we can fix all the items you mentioned. Clearly, we don't always get things right but we do ‘though take what you've told us seriously and will take all steps to make sure we don't repeat these failures in service. We are genuinely sorry that these aspects of your stay were disappointing and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews