We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We have holidayed at Crieff Hydro for many many years staying in various different self catering and room options. This year we decided to book a lodge again as the previous lodges we had stayed (March 2011) in had been spacious, beautifully furnished and luxurious.

When we arrived we were given our lodge allocation. It was not a lodge we had previously stayed in. The lodge was spacious but was needing major modernisation and refurbishment. The sofa had a burn down the back of it and everything looked old and tired, it was certainly not the luxury we were expecting and had previously experienced. It seems to be chance which lodge you get. However as they are described as luxury and the beautifully modernised lodges are shown by the photos on the website, expectations were high. Therefore we were disappointed to stay in this lodge, especially as the price difference between this and a chalet was more than double. We did get extra space and en suite bathrooms with the lodge but it wasn't worth the extra we had paid as it was not luxury. However we were only there for 3 nights and did not want to make a fuss so we cut our losses and continued with our weekend.

The hotel and facilities were great. We thoroughly enjoyed use of the swimming pool and outdoor centre - I would recommend the Segways. The staff were generally friendly and helpful. The beds in the lodges were very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had by all.

We checked out and headed home. I received a phonecall that evening from the hotel asking if I knew anything about a burnt sofa. I explained the sofa had been burnt when we arrived but we hadn't mentioned it as we had assumed the hotel knew. The sofa had obviously been burnt but this had been noticed as it had been moved away from the electric heater, When I explained this I was told the same cleaners clean the room every week and had not noticed this when they had cleaned the lodge before our visit. The phonecall felt rather accusatory. They did take my word for it but they did not have much option. I find it hard to believe the cleaners would have not seen the burn on the sofa - it was the first thing we noticed as we walked into the room. I wish we had mentioned the burnt sofa now but at the time we fully believed the hotel would have been aware as the damage was done before we had arrived and the sofa had been moved away from the heater. The damaged sofa was yet another niggle we had regarding the 'luxury lodge'. However this incident has left us with a bit of bad feeling.

We enjoyed our weekend despite the accommodation but I would not pay the premium to stay in a lodge without a guarantee that you will experience the luxury shown and described when booking. You do have the option to pay an extra £25 a night to choose the particular lodge you want so you could choose one you had previously stayed in but I feel that you shouldn't have to pay extra on top of the original room cost. If the rooms are described as luxury and photos of beautifully decorated lodges are shown then that is what you should receive for the room rate.

Room Tip: If you are prepared to pay extra for a lodge then ask to stay in a modernised one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

JRM 14, how disappointing to hear that your latest stay at the Hydro wasn’t perfect. We’ll always try our best to find alternative accommodation if a guest lets us know that they’re not completely happy for any reason. Sorry to have caused any upset over the burnt sofa. We were just trying to establish how the damage occurred, but clearly we could have done a little better. Hope to welcome you back soon when we’ll make sure you love your Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,438 - 3,442 of 4,035 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

Been here each January for over ten years. Beautiful location outside town - walking distance. So many things to do, never enough time to do them all. Nice walks above the hotel, large bedrooms, plenty of places to sit and relax. Staff always courteous. Nice meals in Miekle Restaurant. Can't think of many places to compare for an after Christmas break.

Room Tip: All the ones I've ever stayed in have been lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthWalesTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Thanks SouthWales Teapot for such a sterling review! It means so much to us all when a regular guest takes time to post such favourable comments. Here’s hoping we’ll have the chance to ‘wow’ you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We've stayed here as a family a few times and I have to admit the facilities are second to none - there's so much to do within the resort, especially if you're into outdoor activities. It is expensive though - we've been fortunate that our kids are under 5 so we can go for a midweek break outside the school holiday periods. Really helpful with plenty high chairs, microwaves, bottle warmers etc in the cafes and restaurants. We've always used the self catering lodges - the cheaper 3* chalets are a bit basic but the 4* cottages are excellent. Highly recommended, if you can get a deal, and we think this place will be even better when the kids are a bit older.

Room Tip: Midweek outside the school holidays for the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Hi Greg2302 and glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at the Hydro. We’re constantly updating our range of free activities for all age groups, so you’ll find lots of choice each time you visit. Thanks too for your lovely feedback on our child friendly facilities and 4* cottages, which we really appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

No danger of being bored here. The place has everything. But it all has to be paid for. Not even free WiFi. And a pound for each game of table footy. 25 pounds for hiring a bike for 4 hours makes it more expensive than hiring a car.

To be fair it's an impressive setup and the staff are great. Our rooms were luxurious although I see from earlier reviews that it can't be guaranteed.

Some minor niggles like the poor standard of coffee and pool towels that could be bigger and more absorbant.

Very popular with young families and couples. Great for horse riding.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McWulf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Oh dear McWulf25, we’re sorry if we appeared penny pinching. It seems like you didn’t get to take advantage of the numerous free activities here at the Hydro – or the 30 minutes free Wi-Fi use that we currently offer every guest (soon to be free). We’ll certainly check out our coffee and pool towels, as you sounded pretty disappointed with both. On a positive note, thanks for your great comments on our staff and bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Instead of buying Christmas gifts for each other my boyfriend and I decided we would rather spend the same amount of money and go away for a few days.

We got an excellent dbb deal from Crieff hydro website as part of a romantic couples package. When we arrived we were greeted by a helpful Scottish receptionist who explained or package and checked us in.

Our room was well laid out, pleasantly decorated and spacious. The bathroom had two showers as well as a bath and all the usual soaps ect. The room also had an ironing board and iron and a full size hairdryer.

Crieff hydro itself has hundreds of activities which everyone will enjoy and all of which are reasonably priced. Due to only staying 2 nights and the weather we only managed to go to the driving range. Included in our package was the Victorian spa which is amazing to get away from all the kids and very relaxing however I'm not sure if I would pay £10 for access.

The bars and restaurants are lovely. However we did not enjoy or meal in the Meikle restaurant as much as the brasserie. One tip is:when dining in the brasserie you only get to spend £21.50 per person and anything over you have to pay which is fair enough. However this is not taken off the bill at the time and is only taken off once setteling account at reception when checking out.

Crieff itself is not very big and for young people like us in our 20s not great. But there is enough in the hydro not to get bored also there are a number of towns and attractions not too far away.

As mentioned in other reviews there are a lot of kids around. This is because there is plenty for them to do and I would certainly recommend it for families with children of all ages including teens. However we found that we also enjoyed it very much and would return in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stenny-Physio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

It sounds like you really enjoyed a brilliant alternative to a boring Christmas present Stenny-physio and what a great way to start your year! Sorry about the couple of niggling points, but pleased you had a lovely time overall. Hope you’ll come back soon to take advantage of the other activities on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.6 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
22.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.3 km away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
806 reviews
24.9 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,416 reviews
12 km away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: €86 - €235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing