We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashioned hydro, a step back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2007

I have stayed at the Crieff hydro on many occasions as it is used for a conference venue by my professional organisation. I love it. It is a typical old hydro (a spa for the rich victorians to retire to for thier health). It has lost none of its charm and is now a modern and well run hotel. The Golf facilities are ok, but next door is the Crieff golf course which is even better.

snooker room , dance floor with live music I have rumba'd and foxtrotted my way across the floor more than once!

always welcoming and a great hotel. Rooms large, but can be a little dark (ask for extra lights - staff accommodate).

I just wish I had time to enjoy the hotel, I am always in a rush for business reasons. I am going back again early december this year.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Luna2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,915 - 3,919 of 4,033 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2007

Just returned from a three night stay at the Hydro, early November.

The hotel is fantastic - check-in very quick and pleasant and the room was huge for two of us.

The hotel is full of nice little extras - snooker room, cinema, nooks and crannies along the corridors where you can sit and read a book and while away a pleasant hour or two.

We had evening dinner included in the Meikle Restaurant and the food was superb - beautifully presented and great service. Breakfast was buffet, but not at all bad and no long wait for tables despite the hotel being very busy.

The grounds are just fantastic - full of autumn coloured leaves, nice quiet walks and stunning views over the hills.

This hotel provides entertainment - sadly for us, they cancelled their quiz night, but the ceilidh on the Friday was fabulous and you would have thought you were at a party with old friends as the atmosphere was so good. There are also two swimming pools - one for adults only which costs extra, and they have a good variety of "well-being" treatments available. I opted for an aromatherapy massage and it was fantastic.

After checking out and arriving home I discovered I had left behind some important belongings and I was very impressed at the effort put in by several staff members to track my bag down and call me to assure me they had found it - I now have it back.

This hotel is a beautiful old building, lovingly restored but still full of character and every member of staff we came across was extremely friendly and helplful.

Despite some of the reviews, please give this hotel a try - I am really quite fussy and I cannot wait to return to this little piece of Scottish Heaven.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maeboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We had a short break here It promises so much and does not fullfill. Dont get me wrong the food was great. The accomation was small we had a double bed and two single beds for our kids and there wasnt room for much else.

It bills its self as Disabled friendly but it is not. It is immpossible for a disabled person to get about without help.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank grievem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in Oct. (sun and mon night) The hotel is in beautiful surroundings and the town of Crieff itself is nice for a wander. We stayed in one of the studio suites which was lovely and spacious... Literally a minutes walk from the main hotel and nice and quiet. A lot of space downstairs in the living area, beautiful bathroom on mezzanine with nice The White company tolietries (alth they werent replaced the next day) and a HUGE comfy bed upstairs. Loads to do or you can chill out and do very little. Swimming pool was nice and clean although too busy during children's times unless you have kids. We also tried out table tennis (£1) archery (£20 and great fun) the gallery (games area open to all during day) and went on a lovely walk around 'the knock' There are a lot of children in this hotel and there seems to be a lot for them to do.. I didnt find it a problem but if you dislike children maybe its not for you! Food was of a very high standard and served by friendly staff. We ate in the brasserie one night and the restaurant the other... Food in the restaurant was delicious, but sevice was a bit too rushed and quick. Breakfast was of very high quality. Loved every minute and felt really relaxed staying here in such lovely surroundings. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sparkly273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We are a family of five (kids now 5, 7 & 10) and have stayed at Crieff Hydro a couple of times and hope to return soon for a weekend. It's pricey, but when you break down what's included it fairs better than other hotels for a large family.

This place is the best we have stayed at as far as family facilities go, especially with three kids, an awkward number for most hotels to accommodate in one room. On both occasions we have had very spacious rooms with bunks and a single and double bed. The rooms were what I expected in an old hotel, old fashioned, but clean and comfortable. There seemed quite a variation in room standards, and a lot of refurbishment going on at the time, but what we had was perfectly acceptable. Included in the cost were 6 hours a day of childcare which my kids thoroughly enjoyed. This enabled us to enjoy dinner, while the kids had tea earlier. The Bistro is by far the best place to eat in the hotel, where we were given an allowance and didn't go too much over it. We found the waiters in the main restaurant a bit miserable and the food there not very exciting, but that is the only negative thing we encountered.

The grounds are enormous, and there are lovely walks to do while the kids are in the various clubs. There is a riding school in the grounds as well as lots of other activities and we have always managed to book a lesson for the two older kids no problem while there.

On our first stay my youngest daughter had an allergic reaction to the bed sheets, her skin was very red and starting to blister. The hotel manager and staff were excellent in dealing with this, completely changing all covers to new ones that had been separately washed and rinsed, and arranging hotel transport to and from the local doctors surgery to have her examined. All was fine after a few hours. On our next visit we rang in advance and specially rinsed sheets were used and ready in our room at no extra charge.

We have stayed at MacDonald Forest Hills Resort and Hilton Coylumbridge in the past, both similar family friendly hotels. Crieff Hydro is by far the best out of these in our opinion and the only UK hotel our children ask to go back to.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stroller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.6 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
22.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.3 km away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
806 reviews
24.9 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,416 reviews
12 km away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: €85 - €234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing