We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage- Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Armoury

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathy N
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Cottage- Great Location”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Fantastic cottage - so glad we found it on 'Holiday Lettings' site. Very spacious, clean and full of character. Kids loved their upper floor bedroom with en-suite and the large garden to run around. Sun lounge was marvellous. No need to take any towels, linen etc as all was included. The 'visitors' book was full to the brim with good comments and there was plenty of leaflets/ info in the provided baskets to keep you busy for the week of what was available locally. One thing we would recommend as previous comments have also noted, is to order your shopping from Asda on-line- this was an absolute godsend and saved us a lengthy trip to Perth. Would like to say a big 'THANK YOU' to the owner Rosemary for letting us enjoy your lovely abode :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space and sun lounge
Liked least: No Wifi - but then again it was Scotland!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Ahhh you are so welcome I love that guests enjoy the cottage as we do when we stay. Yes great idea to order from asda although Aberfeldy now has a posh new very large co op :)) hope you can come back again one day. All the best. Rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Quirkly little house”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This little house is ideally situated within easy walking distance of shops and bus stops in Aberfeldy. It is very well equipped throughout, and has a beautiful garden with well maintained garden furniture. There is ample parking space in the driveway. There is a very spacious kitchen, with a large garden room behind it. This allows for enjoyment of the garden if the weather is inclement.
The house is almost hidden behind another property, which may make it hard to find on arrival, but this adds to the sense of peace and quiet. It makes a perfect base for exploring the surrounding countryside, and there is plenty of literature for guidance. We were grateful to Rosemary for her suggestions, which helped us to make the most of the fortnight we spent there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, garden and garden room
Liked least: no wi fi, difficulty in finding property on arrival
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Glad you had an enjoyable holiday in this beautiful part of Scotland . Many thanks
Rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRLRI
1 review
“Blissful stay in beautiful Aberfeldy”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Armoury is set on the outskirts of a small town which has all the facilities and amenities you would need within easy walking distance, without losing the quaint village atmosphere. Due to fantastic communication from the owner prior to our trip and of course the added advantage of google earth, my family and I found the property easily, which is always a bonus when you arrive late in the evening.
The Armoury has everything you would need for a weeks holiday-plenty of dishes,sheets towels ect, even some wash up liquid,soap etc to get you started. The house was warm and cosy with plenty of hot water. The sunroom was so bright and pleasant from morning breakfast to evening meals and chat , that we spent most of our time in the house there.
However due to its perfect location we spent a lot of our time out exploring the wonderful sights on offer-a nature lovers paradise. We did a lot of driving but the kids 13, 11 & 9 never complained such was the variety of our adventures!! A blissful, although busy holiday was had by all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Glad you had a good time haste ye back and thank-you best wishes rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude-T77
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm, cosy, delightful home from home!”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Second visit to this little gem of a cottage in Aberfeldy. We are regular visitors to the area and are delighted to have found The Armoury as it's the perfect base for us! We travelled with our son and his American fiancée who loved the cottage as much as us! Everything is there to ensure a comfortable stay. The cottage warms up very quickly-thank goodness as it was a wee bit nippy outside! Ample parking and great garden for our Golden Retriever! Great communication with Rosemary the owner and we're already looking forward to our next visit! Highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Ahhh thank-you glad you had a good time. We love the area have gone there for 40 years !!! Since a youngster ! Never gets old ! Thanks for kind comments haste ye back ,rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmoouk
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was lovely , everything supplied for a wee home from home - very well equipped. We arrived on a Friday evening and whilst the heating was on at low it took us a while to get the house to warm up. Even with a real fire we could still feel the draft coming from the conservatory which was a shame - a big heavy curtain would be just the job for this. Lovely garden, our dog just loved it - look forward to visiting again when the weather is a bit warmer.
Perfect location for lovely walks - had a great time. Rosemary was very helpful also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Hello thank-you for your feed back - good idea for the winter to get a big heavy type curtain -will action that when next up - it could be tied back in warmer months . Think is has to be tartan in the highlands ! Glad you had a good time. Best to you and yours. Rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing