We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissful stay in beautiful Aberfeldy”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Armoury

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KRLRI
1 review
“Blissful stay in beautiful Aberfeldy”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Armoury is set on the outskirts of a small town which has all the facilities and amenities you would need within easy walking distance, without losing the quaint village atmosphere. Due to fantastic communication from the owner prior to our trip and of course the added advantage of google earth, my family and I found the property easily, which is always a bonus when you arrive late in the evening.
The Armoury has everything you would need for a weeks holiday-plenty of dishes,sheets towels ect, even some wash up liquid,soap etc to get you started. The house was warm and cosy with plenty of hot water. The sunroom was so bright and pleasant from morning breakfast to evening meals and chat , that we spent most of our time in the house there.
However due to its perfect location we spent a lot of our time out exploring the wonderful sights on offer-a nature lovers paradise. We did a lot of driving but the kids 13, 11 & 9 never complained such was the variety of our adventures!! A blissful, although busy holiday was had by all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Glad you had a good time haste ye back and thank-you best wishes rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude-T77
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm, cosy, delightful home from home!”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Second visit to this little gem of a cottage in Aberfeldy. We are regular visitors to the area and are delighted to have found The Armoury as it's the perfect base for us! We travelled with our son and his American fiancée who loved the cottage as much as us! Everything is there to ensure a comfortable stay. The cottage warms up very quickly-thank goodness as it was a wee bit nippy outside! Ample parking and great garden for our Golden Retriever! Great communication with Rosemary the owner and we're already looking forward to our next visit! Highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Ahhh thank-you glad you had a good time. We love the area have gone there for 40 years !!! Since a youngster ! Never gets old ! Thanks for kind comments haste ye back ,rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmoouk
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was lovely , everything supplied for a wee home from home - very well equipped. We arrived on a Friday evening and whilst the heating was on at low it took us a while to get the house to warm up. Even with a real fire we could still feel the draft coming from the conservatory which was a shame - a big heavy curtain would be just the job for this. Lovely garden, our dog just loved it - look forward to visiting again when the weather is a bit warmer.
Perfect location for lovely walks - had a great time. Rosemary was very helpful also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Hello thank-you for your feed back - good idea for the winter to get a big heavy type curtain -will action that when next up - it could be tied back in warmer months . Think is has to be tartan in the highlands ! Glad you had a good time. Best to you and yours. Rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackisle...
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fairly comfortable once warmed up.”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The weather had been very cold -8 deg and we were looking forward to a warm cottage. Unfortunately it was freezing inside when we arrived and as we had young grandchildren with us, all we could do was put heating on full and go away again for an hour or so and find a warm café till it warmed up. After a couple of hours all was fine although the kitchen area and floor were never what you would call comfortable. A disappointing start to our stay although everything tuned out well in the end.
All Aberfeldy amenities are close at hand and the cinema is particularly good for food and entertainment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nearby amenites
Liked least: Cold cottage on arrival
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Ah dear ,sorry to read that it was cold on arrival. ( I know it does heat up quite quickly. ) -8 was a pretty cold snap. We leave the heating on frost when unoccupied but take on board your comments and have a lovely neighbour along the road who would pop along a few hours before guests arrive and turn it up.:)) Obviously conscious of trying to give value for money we try not to run the heating full blast when the property is empty as we don't have an extra charge for ever increasing utilities but don't want our guest to arrive to a cool cottage either and have to wait an hour to heat up so apologies for that. We have found the place very cozy on winter visits. Glad you enjoyed your vacation though in this beautiful part of Bonnie Scotland. Kind regards rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiveFamil...
Borders, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spacious cottage”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Great spacious cottage within walking distance of the town and shops. Large kitchen area, lots of sofas, real fire and an enclosed garden so adults, children and dog all happy! Aberfeldy is lovely and there is so much to see in the area, we hope to return here soon.
Tip: We arrived on the dark so it was a bit tricky to find so make sure and get directions if you are doing the same!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Ahhhh my hidden treasure!!
Sorry I didn't give you better directions think i hopefully do better now :) glad you had a good time and many thanks for kind comments. Haste ye back, all the best rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$88
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing