We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Motherwell
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Food always good..not very warm though...staff could be wee bit more happier at there work...service bit slow but overall good xx

1  Thank fiona330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.
next time we'll try and make it 5 out of 5.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

What can I say apart from completely disappointment!! 8 of us ate & all had a gripe about meat! Poor & fatty and end of joint! Disgusting & I asked for fresh joint to no avail I will not be back

1  Thank Jboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Jboy2, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.
I'll speak to the chefs responsible next time speak to the duty manager who will only be to glad in resolving any issues you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

When Big paddy was in charge. It’s good. The service is good but was hear last week was excellent. Hear today again. It’s crap. Thin slices n scraping the bottoms of the Dixie for veg. Potatoes are over cooked. Not nice

2  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Bill M, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.
Paddy's still here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I was booked in to the Holiday Inn next door, where the menu was very limited. The Sunday roast was excellent, served each day/ all day. Good rotation of food, 4xmeats available

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank moriannabarriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Moriannabarriman, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Toby Carvery Strathclyde Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Just back from this place tonight.I booked a table for four of us to dinner here and mention over the phone that my partner due to healthy issue is on diet eats very limited food .I've asked his veg(potatoes and carrots)no other veg like peas etc. to be just boiled with no glaze.They said won't be a problem. Arrived at 7pm and was "welcomed "by staff that were talking to each other for few min without paying attention to as. Then again, no greetings no smile we were marched to the table. This wasnt all. Having our carvery took us 30 min as we were waiting for my parther veg to be ready,after been ready they bought a plate with little bit carrots,peas,cauliflower,but no potatoes that i have asked for . One of the waitress came and said we can't do potatoes sorry,this particular waitress went to report to her collegues Sharon that we are asking for somethig that they can not do. Anyway at least Sharon came to check on us and after i explaining that over the food the person
i spoke with said that this won't be a problem. Sharon said that they can do the potatoes and would take 10 min.
To add to our night the guy that was cutting the meat was so ruth and impatient with us while we were choosing the meat, i fell so pushed and rushed. The whole eveinig was a terrible experience . Food quality poor,dry meat,veggie were tastless and like were cooked yesterday,not fresh food at all. Unpleasent service and not happy staff.

After we came home both with my parther we rushed to toilet as out stomach was hurting after out Toby carvery food ... Definately won't be back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank georgieva8593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

We're so sad that you had a poor experience with us if you brought any issues you had to the attention of the duty manager they would only be to glad in resolving any issue you had
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 
Stirling, Stirling
Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing