We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
79
15
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
15
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station guest house stayed here home from home arriving by train town centre cereal and toast english breakfast full scottish breakfast quiet street comfortable beds sitting room thank you very much walking distance beans ideal location pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We were attending a wedding in the town and needed a place to stay. We were very lucky to have chosen Tigh-An-Struan. We felt immediately at home owing to the very warm welcome from the lovely lady owner. She showed us to our room which was spotlessly clean with excellent quality towels and crisp white linen. The beds were super comfy, we slept very well. Breakfast in the morning was just cereal and toast for us, but the lovely cooking smells hinted that the full Scottish would have been lovely...maybe next time because we would definitely return. The dining room was again very clean with lovely white linen tablecloths and perfectly set tables. There was a good choice of cereals,fresh fruits and jams for us to choose from on the buffet table. My husband said the tea was great and I enjoyed the coffee. Again, we received lovely service from the owner.
Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome and comfortable. We will recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would offer a lovely view to the burn. Rooms at the rear overlook the garden.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank whitastoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PicaLupu, Owner at Tigh-An-Struan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Tigh An Struan.
Glad you enjoyed my place and hope to have you again for more than one night.
All the best,
Pica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

I had a pleasant stay at the guest house - everyone was friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was great - certainly something that prepared me for my trip through the Clyde Muirshiel Regional Park.

I recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 May 2017

It was a real pleasure to have you at our place.
Hope you had a great time visiting Scotland and you will be willing to comeback.
Kind regards,
Pica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely place with a perfect location close to the station and to the city centre .
Comfortable and cozy excellent breakfast friendly hosts .
Excellent BandB and good alternative to expensive hotels .
Free Wi Fi , fire place , clean accommodation , comfortable beds and delicious breakfast choices

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank ismet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PicaLupu, Owner at Tigh-An-Struan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you very much for the lovely words!
Hope you are coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We have visited Largs with my parents my partner and our litle baby girl this beeing a second visit at Pica . Pica and Marin the owners are lovely and welcoming.
We have spent an amaizing family weekend.
Our baby girl was very happy and slept like home . House had very good sized rooms with ensuite , very plesant TV room games and toys for kids . Breakfast very good sized and very good cooked. Situated very convinient to railway station close to town centre and at the same time walking distance to the sea.
Largs a very good little town to visit with very good restaurants , amaizing Ice cream at Nardinis .
A walk along the sea and a visit to local Castle is also lovely .
First time we have stayed here with my friends while riding our bikes in scotland. Good area to park securely your bike over night in a very quite road .
I can only recomend a very good place to stay Tigh-an-Struan.
Thank you for everything Pica and Marin.
We are coming back.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Florin-Razvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PicaLupu, Owner at Tigh-An-Struan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you very much for your visit!
Hope to have you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

My husband, daughters and myself had a fantastic experience here we enjoyed every minute, we can't fault anything on our stay we were made to feel ever so welcome and comfortable Pika is a lovely lady with a happy & bubbly personality could not do enough & great with our children very friendly and ever so kind, very reasonable priced and a beautiful well kept B&B near the sea front with a very yummy breakfast that sets you up for the day. Would highly recommend- home from home, come as a guest and made to feel like family, my 3 year old keeps asking for her she's unforgettable! - we will definitely be going back in future.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank MrsJHazlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PicaLupu, Owner at Tigh-An-Struan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Dearest Jacklyn and Garry, thank you very much for the lovely words. This is really overwhelming and at the same time reassuring the efforts we put in for our guests here at Tigh An Struan. You are a fantastic family yourselves ; we already miss Victoria and Bethany , please send them our love , we can't wait to see you again soon.
With kindes regards
Pica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews