We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Needs some attention”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Largs, North Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Road25727...
Jamestown, United Kingdom
1 review
“Needs some attention”
Reviewed 21 January 2019 for a stay in September 2018

Five of us (all ladies) booked this house in Largs for 3 nights in September.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Largs. We spent the Saturday in the town at the Viking festival and had a really enjoyable and interesting day at Dalgarven Mill on the Sunday. I would recommend this little museum and tearoom for a visit.
We also enjoyed our stay at this house.
The Positives were:
It is a beautiful house that is spacious and well laid out with a large kitchen/diner and separate sitting room.
There is ample parking
It is about 1.5 miles from Largs centre so you could walk there, although we used the car to get into town.
It has a large, very private back garden with a table and chairs although we did not use it as the weather was not warm enough.
Once we worked out how to use the heating control, the house was warm and cosy.
There is ample equipment including a freezer, two fridges, dishwasher and washing machine/dryer
The negatives for us were:
There were no comprehensive instructions on how to use any of the equipment so we had to spend quite a bit of time trying to work things out. We finally got the dishwasher, main TV (we gave up on the TV in the kitchen), heating and oven going but it was frustrating that we could not find instructions to help with these.
The mattresses on each of the 4 single beds were lumpy and uncomfortable. We had to use spare quilts underneath us to let us use these beds. These really need to be replaced.
The controls on the cooker are no longer visible and the oven, although not filthy, could have been doing with a clean.
The door on one of the fridges did not close properly, no matter how you tried to close it a gap remained at the top. We stopped using this fridge altogether.
I am sorry to have re-iterate some of the negative comments from previous guests. They did not spoil our stay but if these issues were addressed then this house would be an excellent choice.

Date of stay: September 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephanie...
Dunfermline
2 reviews
“Short and sweet stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Nice property- only stayed one night :) garden needed some tlc although didn’t affect our stay. Would come back.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Thank you for your review. We are a family run operation and value your comments in order to improve and will look into the possibility of hiring a professional gardener, but would also like to keep our prices competitive!
We hope to welcome you back at Kilburn Water in the near future!
Regards
Pamela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Thank you for your review. I am glad you and your family had a pleasant stay and we look forward to welcoming you back at Kilburn Water.
Regards
Pamela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AmelieUK
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great house but........”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the house loved the location and had a great time in Largs. Childhood trips out revisited and sad to see the puggies on the front replace by a Wetherspoons ... And had to pay a visit and have a few glasses for old tines sake!

The only real quibble is that the appliances and mattresses need attention or replacing. Although we got dishwasher and oven to work both appeared to be more art than science. One fridge seemed to be out of order but I missed the conversation with my group on this topic so was only one who ate the pate. And only one with food poisoning. Sort the appliances and beds out and the place would be great.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Hello Amelie,
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of your subsequent food poisoning and hope you have recovered well.
The fridge doors do close but require to be lifted a little and closed due to them being hidden doors and how the closure mechanism works, we will be sure to leave a note regarding this for other guests and hope this did not affect your stay too much.
Regarding the mattresses it maybe the ones in the kids room you are referring to which may not be as comfortable for adults. We will look into a better alternative when replacements are done.
Regards
Pamela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.