We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolute gem - not to be missed!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Willowbarn Rafford

Exterior Willowbarn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior Willowbarn
First Visitors of 2014 Kitchen Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Exterior Willowbarn
First Visitors of 2014
Kitchen Dining Area
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom En-Suite
Twin bedded Room
Main Bathroom
Lounge kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Aerial view of grounds
Especially for taking our younger guests for a cycle in Moray
Bike selection at Willowbarn, free usage for our guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Forres, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
mariemcw
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute gem - not to be missed!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Willowbarn is an amazing place and needs to be seen to be fully appreciated. The location is just superb, so peaceful and tranquil. There is plenty of parking there and an outside seating area if you're lucky enough with the weather. There are also bikes to use although we didn't get a chance to get out on them unfortunately. Inside it is modern, extremely comfortable and can easily sleep 6. Pets are welcome there too, the owners have 2 gorgeous dogs themselves. It has good wi-fi connection but it's nice just to switch off as it is so relaxing there. The barn itself is so light and spacious with absolutely everything you require (even a hairdryer) and I'm sure that even if you had forgotten something, the owners Carlo and Fiona would be on hand to sort you out! They really have thought of everything and cannot do enough to ensure your stay is as perfect as can be. They are amazing hosts and super people. We got married there a week ago and it was absolutely thanks to them that it was such an amazing day - we are so lucky that they allowed us to use their fabulous place for the day. We loved our time there and it will always hold very special memories - we just can't wait to go back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, it is so peaceful and relaxing
Liked least: Having to leave :-(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so delighted that we were able to be a small part of your very special day; for us it was a real privilege that you chose our garden to be married in, as we love to share our garden with our guests.
We are looking forward to seeing your photographs of your special day!
We are sure we will meet you all again.......
Carlo and Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus S
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A perfect home for our Speyside visit”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We have wonderful memories of Willowbarn Rafford and of hosts, Carlo and Fiona for being so kind and welcoming.

The barn is a newly renovated upstairs space situated in very pretty countryside. It’s everything the website says it is – beautiful, spacious and contemporary!

We began every day with our own personal wake-up call from the resident pheasant, visited nearby favourite Whisky distilleries and castles, walked the breathtaking Findhorn bay, enjoyed shopping in the historical burgh of Forres, and ended every day back at the barn, with a hot bath under the stars! Needless to say, we were exhausted and exhilarated from having had such a great time exploring all the Scottish offerings that Willowbarn is so favourably situated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Carlo and Fiona are lovely people and offer such a great space in the countryside.
Liked least: We stayed for too short a time! We didn't have a chance to ride the bikes that Carlo fitted to us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2013
We loved having you as our guests at Willowbarn and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do hope that if you ever return to Bonny Scotland we will be able to welcome you again - I'm sure there are a few distilleries you have yet to conquer!
Thank you for your wonderful comments, they are much appreciated.

Carlo and Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faithcant...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Willowbarn is a stunning property, very spacious and in a stunning location. Beautifully decorated, well maintained, dogs allowed, lovely grounds, lovely hosts, close to Forres and beautiful Findhorn, great walks near by, what more could you want?
Very pleased all round =0)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property & the surroundings
Liked least: There was honestly nothing I liked least
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful holiday and enjoyed Willowbarn. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crwood87
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect short stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Some of my friends and I spent a very enjoyable stay for a couple of nights. The accommodation was finished to a very high standard and set in a very peaceful location. The rooms and bathrooms are lovely and comfortable and the kitchen living room is very spacious and light. I would definitely recommend Willowbarn for any groups wanting somewhere nice to stay up near Forres and Inverness etc.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_1199
Heswall, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb!”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed for four nights at Willowbarn and the place was fantastic. Ideal for us as a base for the local Salmon Fishing as well as everything else on offer in the area. Fiona and Carlo couldn't do enough for you to make sure the stay was perfect. And it was. Its very rare that some thing actually exceeds your expectations when you finally arrive but this does. Fab location, fab hosts, fab barn. Couldn't have been happier with it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quality of the interior in the barn and the superb location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We love it when our guests enjoy our little corner of the world as much as we do! It really is a little gem. We were delighted to have met you both and were bowled over with your beautiful dogs, Jake and Bella. We do hope to meet you all again

Carlo and Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing