We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Meal at the Fraoch”
Review of Fraoch Restaurant

Fraoch Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Freuchie
Price range: US$4 - US$31
Description: Fraoch Restaurant, set within The Lomond Hills Hotel, welcomes you to enjoy traditional Scottish Fayre in newly refurbished candlelit surroundings. Offering luscious dishes using locally sourced produce. The chefs take great pride in combining ingredients which compliment each other to create delicious dining experiences. There is something for everyone on the menu, including children, and dietary requirements can easily be catered for. Larger parties of more than 12 guests are welcomed and can dine privately in our Middle Restaurant and Breakfasting Room. We look forward to welcoming you soon...
Restaurant details
Description: Fraoch Restaurant, set within The Lomond Hills Hotel, welcomes you to enjoy traditional Scottish Fayre in newly refurbished candlelit surroundings. Offering luscious dishes using locally sourced produce. The chefs take great pride in combining ingredients which compliment each other to create delicious dining experiences. There is something for everyone on the menu, including children, and dietary requirements can easily be catered for. Larger parties of more than 12 guests are welcomed and can dine privately in our Middle Restaurant and Breakfasting Room. We look forward to welcoming you soon...
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We moved into the village in July and the Lomond Hills Hotel has become our favourite place to go. Both the staff and Ronnie the owner are very attentive and in our view provide a first class service. The restaurant has recently been refurbished and is a lovely place to eat, the changes they've made really give it a warm cosy feeling and the addition of some lovely pieces of local art really finish the new look off. There's also a new menu which provides lots of choice, my husband had the Pork Belly Cheeks which don't sound particularly appetising but they were delicious as was the Moroccan Mushrooms with Apricot Cous Cous that I had. If you like good wholesome food in lovely relaxed surroundings then you must come to the Lomond Hills Hotel. We've booked up for Christmas Day and New Year which we're really looking forward too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pam_Drummmond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Fraoch Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Many thanks indeed Pam_Drummond1 for posting such a lovely review after your "Fabulous Meal" in our newly refurbished restaurant.
I'm so pleased that we have helped you settle into your new surroundings in the beautiful town of Freuchie.
I know that you have now become regulars and it's always great to see you both.
Best wishes and thanks again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Had 2 evening meals during our short break, and it was pretty amazing food. First night Barnsley lamb chop and rib of beef with veg, and the vanilla ice cream was beautiful. Second night steak pie and lemon sole goujons - the latter I particularly enjoyed, really fresh and tasty. My husband hasn't got a big appetite, but he finished every last bit of the pie. Don't know who the chef is, but he does a great job!!

Thoroughly recommend and thank you!

Thank valeriew740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Fraoch Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Many thanks indeed Valerie W for such a kind review after your recent TWO meals in our newly refurbished FRAOCH RESTAURANT.
We are very lucky to have such a talented team in the kitchen.
I hope you find the time to visit us again soon to enjoy our ever changing menus.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed an excellent meal with friends the night before Valentine's Day. Although we could have chosen from the special Valentine's menu, we opted for dishes from the regular menu. The charcuterie platter to share is to be recommended as was the lamb chops, venison stroganoff and the monkfish. Together with an excellent wine and strawberry cheesecake for dessert, it all added up to a wonderful evening.

Thank MelC1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Fraoch Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thanks so much Mel C (ex Spice Girl?) for taking the time to post such a positive review.
I'm delighted to read that you (and your friends) enjoyed the choice we now have on offer since we introduced our new dinner menu.
I hope you had a safe trip home to South Africa and that you find the time to fit in another trip to Bonnie Scotland soon.
Best wishes to all.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Very impressed with newly refurbished restaurant and new menu. We were a party of 19 and were looked after by the friendly and professional staff from the moment we arrived-nothing was too much trouble for Ronnie,Faye and their team. The menu had something to suit all tastes and indeed most of us had trouble making choices. The food was tasty and plentiful and of excellent quality of produce. The only suggestion I would make would be the addition of a pasta dish on the kids menu(always a good stand-by). Our golden wedding celebration was made all the more special by the ambience of the hotel and the attention given to our party most of whom will certainly be up for a return visit.
Thanks again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wemysser2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Fraoch Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thanks a million wemysser2016 for taking the time to post such a kind review.
It's great to read that Golden Wedding celebration dinner (congratulations again) was such a success and that your private room in our new FRAOCH Restaurant was enjoyed by all your family and friends. It certainly was a pleasure looking after you all.
Best wishes and thanks again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are just back from eating here and staying at the hotel and we've got nothing but great things to say about our experience. The food was amazing and it took some negotiation to have a taste of each others starters as they were just so good!
Can't recommend the haggis parcels enough, my only wish is that there were more than two served as they were gone in a flash (and difficult to pinch from the plate)
We both ordered steak pie which was a huge portion with lovely fresh veg (the carrots were a treat!). Unfortunately we didn't have room for a dessert but judging from the starter and main I can only imagine how lovely it would have been.
The staff were amazing and very attentive. They had great knowledge of the food and were very helpful when I discussed my allergies with them.
Can't wait for our next visit! :)

Thank ThatChattygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Fraoch Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Hello hatChattygirl and many thanks for posting such a nice review after your recent visit to our new Fraoch Restaurant.
As you say that you will be back soon we look forward to welcoming you.......perhaps to round off your dinner next time with a dessert!
Best wishes.
Ronnie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fraoch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing