We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for miles”
Review of The Strath Tavern

The Strath Tavern
Ranked #9 of 62 Restaurants in Cupar
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Scottish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Description: An 18th century coaching inn serving good quality home cooked meals and chargrilled steaks in a traditional beamed ceiling bar or a quieter, family friendly dining room.
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

If in the Strathmiglo/Cupar area don't look for anywhere else to eat the place to go is The Strath Tavern. We've eaten here quite a few times both for lunch and dinner and the meals are terrific. You will genuinely love the food,we do.

Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather M, Owner at The Strath Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your experience and I will pass on your comments to all of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

So, walking in to this place felt a wee bit like the saloon door was swinging behind us and folk were thinking, "you ain't from around these parts" from locals gathered at the bar, but we soon settled in and enjoyed a hearty meal with very good service. Be prepared for a typical pub setup, paisley dark-patterned carpet, dark wood furniture, beer mats on the tables and net curtains at the windows. But the food was great and our kids loved it, and to me, that's all that really matters.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank amost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

Always a very pleasant experience at the Strath Tavern. Great service and superb food. Best to book to ensure a table as it can be quite busy.

Thank LoveLosCristianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

best place for miles around to eat. have eaten there often for years and have never been disappointed yet. Great service friendly staff value for money and excellent food

Thank Vi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather M, Owner at The Strath Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review. These really do mean a great deal to all of us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Ignore the unprepossessing exterior - inside we found a very warm welcome for us and our dog , friendly service and a surprisingly excellent sirloin steak ! The chef (owner?) even brought some fresh chicken out for the dog - a special treat! Very good value and would definitely return if in the area again .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahd209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather M, Owner at The Strath Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your meal and that your furry friend enjoyed the chicken! I hope we see you back again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strath Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Strath Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing