We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mandy W
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in Stoney Creek Cottage in July 2015 for three nights. The cottage is in a great location and is a good size for 2 people. We were disappointed with the level of cleanliness in the cottage. It did appear that the cottage had not been cleaned for us, there were stains on sofas and rugs, dust and hair in the bathroom and the shower curtain and shower head were mouldy, so it was not the most welcoming! I advised the owner and they apologised so hopefully it was a one off but the experience has meant I wouldn't stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The cottage was dirty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
We appreciate your candid review of your recent stay. We have raised the issues outlined with the cleaners and will be monitoring it going forwards. Normally the feedback for the cleaners is very good so it is disappointing that you didn't find things right during your recent stay. We do ask all guests to let us know straight away (while at the property) if anything isn't right as it then gives us a chance to resolve problems and ensure your holiday isn't spoiled. It's just a shame we didn't hear from you until afterwards as we were then unable to arrange for it to be fixed (albeit it should have been right from the start). Once again, thank you for your feedback, it truly is invaluable. We hope we will get the chance to prove this is not the normal standard of any of our properties sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly1201...
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quaint Cottage”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Crail is a small quaint seaside village; Stoney Creek is in the heart of the village and a few minutes walk to the seaside. Close drive to St Andrew, Elie, Crail and other golf courses in the area. There is a grocery literally within a two minute walk. There is plenty of parking and it is across the street about a block away. I would recommend this rental if you want peace and quiet in a small village with a slow pace in a pleasant setting

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: In heart of village and Co-op (grocery) right around the corner
Liked least: No Wi-Fi and difficult to find Wi-Fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cangother...
Cangothere
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“North facing cottage”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Well, equipped and clean, this cottage was very comfortable. The only down side was the sitting room was north facing and did not get any sun which meant it was cold and we had to put the heater on, also unfortunately there was nowhere to sit outside. The bedroom was light and sunny so we sat up there when we wanted to read. Otherwise it was convenient for shops and bus stop to St Andrews and Anstruther.
Getting the key out of the security box was a terrible fiddle, thought we weren't going to be able to get in!
No wifi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Not getting any sun in the sitting room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
We're glad that you found the cottage to be well equipped, clean and very comfortable. Like you say, there is no outside space, however there's a good range of places locally to wander and enjoy the coast, as well as a beer garden at the Golf Hotel just 1 minutes walk from the property - a good excuse for a relaxing drink where free WiFi is also offered! We hope you will return again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing