We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing chowder and good coffee too”

The Anstruther Boathouse
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Anstruther
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Anstruther Boathouse is a Beer/Wine Bar, Coffee Bar and Restaurant and Beer Garden on the waterfront of Anstruther Shore. Accommodation is also available including The Harbour View Suite, The Craw's Nest deluxe double ensuite room and The Robert Louis Stevenson ensuite triple studio.. We offer a Day Menu, serving locally sourced fresh food from 10.00Am until 8.00Pm.This includes everything from soups, snacks and sandwiches and paninis to daily specials on the blackboard - with a fine preparation of cod loin sittinng alongside a great offer of 'East Neuk Haddock and Hand-Cut Chips'. Other options include Steak and Ale Pie and the Famous Boathouse Burgers (with beef, chicken and vegetarian options). Our new draft and cask offer: Duechars IPA, Guest ales including Eden Ales, Adnams Ales, Orkney Ales, Inveralmond ales and many more, Carlsberg LagerBelhaven Best, Perreti, San Miguel,Blackthorn Cider, fruit ciders,Guinness and Guinness Extra Cold and arrange of world beers. We have a wine list to suit all tastes and delicious chilled Prosecco. Our Whisky, Gin, Rum and spirit menus will tempt you! .
Reviewed 14 March 2018

First time visiting the Boathouse. We found the atmosphere very good. We sat at the window. The chowder was amazing yet seemed light although really filled us up. Good flavoured coffee to.

Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2018

Very interesting place, not large but worth a look round. We spent about an hour looking round and enjoyed it all. Take the kids if you in the area

1  Thank philgriffiths2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda T, Owner at The Anstruther Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you Phil. Family friendly with a sun trap beer garden- perfect! ☀️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Visited the bar/restaurant and went back for Burns' Night Haggis Supper and entertainment. Food was very good and 'Desperate Dan' portions. Very pleasant evening with music and readings. Staff were all really nice and food/drinks good value.

1  Thank KateT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda T, Owner at The Anstruther Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thanks Kate! When will we see you again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Disappointing fish and chips. The fish was ok but the chips were wedges with skin on and seemed like they had been baked in the oven. Didn't complain as it was edible but in a seaside destination I expected great and it just wasn't for us.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Carolle-45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda T, Owner at The Anstruther Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Aww... our hand cut from our kitchen healthier than most chips aren’t everyone’s favourites. Sorry Carole, we don’t do soggy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our snack and cuppa at The Boathouse. Friendly staff , seating area was clean and tidy, however although the toilet was OK it could have benefited from a deep clean , especially the floor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Scottishgran_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda T, Owner at The Anstruther Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thanks for visiting us. Points noted and actioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anstruther Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to The Anstruther Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing