We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afton water review”

Afton Water B&B / Art Experience
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afton Water B&B / Art Experience
Ranked #2 of 3 New Cumnock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed at afton water veiw for 4 nights un like a run of the mill hotel you are not confined to your room it's like staying with family it's probably 1 of the best places I have stayed we left to early for breakfast so we were supplied with packed lunch everything about it was good I couldn't fault it if I tried from the views to the owners to the dog Annie a must stay for anyone business or pleasure

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Reece H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Thanks for your glowing review Reece, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Afton Water B&B. It was a pleasure looking after you. As they say in Scotland Haste Ye Back! Kindest regards Julie and Alistair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2016

I stayed here on business for five nights this week. The room was clean, comfortable & spacious and the gardens offered us the opportunity to sit and eat our tea with the chickens and the dog. One evening we saw two deer going passed the end of the garden which was nice to see
The owners, Julie and Alistair made us feel really welcome and couldn't do enough for us. I had a really enjoyable stay and would recommend Afton Water for anyone visiting the area on either business and pleasure

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 58robin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review. The garden in May is a real treat, we love to sit out eating our lunch or just relaxing having a nice cold beverage. It was smashing sharing time with you too, we were so pleased that you could take advantage of the lovely weather. We couldn't believe it was snowing last week, mind you we could have offered you a nice cosy recreational area with the glow of a multi-fuel burner in stead! Hope to see you again in the near future, regards Julie and Alistair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Stayed for a couple of nights while working in the local area. Julie & Alistair are wonderful, friendly hosts and went out of their way to make me feel welcome in their home. Highly recommend a stay here. Hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarolynC_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Hi Carolyn, many thanks for your lovely review. Thanks also for recommending us to your work colleague. Best wishes for a bright future, Julie and Alistair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
39
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights due to visiting for a funeral , Julie and Alistair were extremely welcoming . To seeing us in at 2am after a long drive to making the place a home from home amazing garden and my son and nephew ( both 13) even commented on how nice it was and how Comfy the beds are !
Will defo be returning when we come back to visit family . This place is a real hidden gem - opening your bedroom curtains to the most amazing view is also a bonus !!
Thank you again for our stay :)

Stayed: April 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Please do return. It would be lovely to see you and your family again. Maybe next time the boys can walk our dog down by the burn! Thanks very much for your kind review, love and best wishes Julie and Alistair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Six of us stayed here to attend a wedding closeby, my gf and I and my parents and my sister and her bf. I didn't really know the area and weren't sure what to expect but we were all very pleasantly surprised, with everything really.

The people who run the B&B are very welcoming and accomodating, upon arrival they greeted us and helped us in with our bags and immediately helped us to arrange our day including getting taxis booked to get us to and from the wedding. In the morning again they were very accomodating and gave us an excellent cooked breakfast with toast, teas and coffees.

The rooms were lovely and the beds very comfortable, in the rooms they had free wifi access, tea and coffee making facilities, tv and dvd (which we never had time to use). Our room also had access to a large bathroom with a power shower.

All the rooms are decorated with beautiful paintings, creations of the owner of the B&B. I am not usually an arty person, but I really did love the paintings.

The surroundings are beautiful, just off the Afton Water at the back of New Cummnock. A very quiet spot just beside the caravan site. If you enjoy walking, sight seeing and scenery this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Our daughter was married in the same local hotel and we know how many things have to be considered, so we just try our best to be as helpful as possible to make the experience easy for our guests.
We also fell in love with the area, it is very uplifting and inspirational, I am so please you liked it. My paintings often reflect the local area, glad they added to your experience. Many thanks for the time you have taken to write this lovely and thorough review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Afton Water B&B / Art Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Water B&B / Art Experience

Address: Afton Road, New Cumnock KA18 4PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Cumnock
Price Range: €64 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julie and Alistair Winter offer you a warm welcome to this idyllic detached villa, which is set within half an acre of its own grounds with ample parking. Every guest room is dressed with original paintings and boasts beautiful views of rolling hills. Both the guest lounge and breakfast room also boast original paintings. We are well placed for attractions inc. Burns Corridor, the Ayrshire coast and Glasgow is only an hour away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing