We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Cumnock)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Railway Hotel(Auchinleck)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nithsdale Hotel(Sanquhar)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Old School(New Cumnock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
40
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan art gallerywarm welcomelarge bathroomalistairlabradorayrshirewedding
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2016

I stayed here on business for five nights this week. The room was clean, comfortable & spacious and the gardens offered us the opportunity to sit and eat our tea with the chickens and the dog. One evening we saw two deer going passed the end of the garden which was nice to see
The owners, Julie and Alistair made us feel really welcome and couldn't do enough for us. I had a really enjoyable stay and would recommend Afton Water for anyone visiting the area on either business and pleasure

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 58robin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review. The garden in May is a real treat, we love to sit out eating our lunch or just relaxing having a nice cold beverage. It was smashing sharing time with you too, we were so pleased that you could take advantage of the lovely weather. We couldn't believe it was snowing last week, mind you we could have offered you a nice cosy recreational area with the glow of a multi-fuel burner in stead! Hope to see you again in the near future, regards Julie and Alistair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Stayed for a couple of nights while working in the local area. Julie & Alistair are wonderful, friendly hosts and went out of their way to make me feel welcome in their home. Highly recommend a stay here. Hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarolynC_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Hi Carolyn, many thanks for your lovely review. Thanks also for recommending us to your work colleague. Best wishes for a bright future, Julie and Alistair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
39
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights due to visiting for a funeral , Julie and Alistair were extremely welcoming . To seeing us in at 2am after a long drive to making the place a home from home amazing garden and my son and nephew ( both 13) even commented on how nice it was and how Comfy the beds are !
Will defo be returning when we come back to visit family . This place is a real hidden gem - opening your bedroom curtains to the most amazing view is also a bonus !!
Thank you again for our stay :)

Stayed: April 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Please do return. It would be lovely to see you and your family again. Maybe next time the boys can walk our dog down by the burn! Thanks very much for your kind review, love and best wishes Julie and Alistair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Six of us stayed here to attend a wedding closeby, my gf and I and my parents and my sister and her bf. I didn't really know the area and weren't sure what to expect but we were all very pleasantly surprised, with everything really.

The people who run the B&B are very welcoming and accomodating, upon arrival they greeted us and helped us in with our bags and immediately helped us to arrange our day including getting taxis booked to get us to and from the wedding. In the morning again they were very accomodating and gave us an excellent cooked breakfast with toast, teas and coffees.

The rooms were lovely and the beds very comfortable, in the rooms they had free wifi access, tea and coffee making facilities, tv and dvd (which we never had time to use). Our room also had access to a large bathroom with a power shower.

All the rooms are decorated with beautiful paintings, creations of the owner of the B&B. I am not usually an arty person, but I really did love the paintings.

The surroundings are beautiful, just off the Afton Water at the back of New Cummnock. A very quiet spot just beside the caravan site. If you enjoy walking, sight seeing and scenery this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Our daughter was married in the same local hotel and we know how many things have to be considered, so we just try our best to be as helpful as possible to make the experience easy for our guests.
We also fell in love with the area, it is very uplifting and inspirational, I am so please you liked it. My paintings often reflect the local area, glad they added to your experience. Many thanks for the time you have taken to write this lovely and thorough review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Our family stayed at Afton Water B & B as we were attending a wedding nearby. Julie & Alistair are the most perfect hosts and were very welcoming and helpful.
The location is very picturesque and tranquil apart from the odd quack from the ducks who chase each other round the garden.
The 3 rooms we used were clean, tidy and comfortable. Toiletries, towels and hairdryer all provided.
Julie went out of her way to make taxi arrangements for us (a minibus for 6) to get to and from the wedding venue. I would absolutely recommend this place to others.
Breakfast was amazing, cereals, toast and a great cooked breakfast with fresh eggs from their own chickens!
Julies paintings are also on display all over the house and she is a really talented artist.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure looking after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews