We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem.”

Afton Water B&B / Art Experience
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afton Water B&B / Art Experience
Ranked #2 of 3 New Cumnock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This B&B deserves to be visited again and again, with the warm friendly welcome on arrival and to the warmth shown to all visitors its a must stay, I have visited New Cumnock for many years, for personal and family ties, now I have found a room with a view, actually several views.. Not to mention the secret gallery. Julie,
is a very talented artist, and displays beautiful, oils, water colours of local views of
the amazing landscape in and around ayrshire. Again this should not be missed. I personally would recommend this for everyone. You will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: double en suite. beautiful, spacious, and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 595helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Awww, thanks Helen your comments are are so lovely. It was great having you stay with us for four nights, we really enjoyed the conversation and meeting your Mum, Dad and Auntie. We are looking forward to your return visit with your grandchildren. So nice to have met you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed such a wonderful weekend with Julie and Alistair and dog Anne such fun I had playing with Anne and enjoyed spending quality time socializing with Julie and Alistair such friendly outgoing couple and are for sure my extended family live staying here and can't wait to come back soon

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heather m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Manager at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We certainly enjoyed your company. It is just like looking after family. Here is a link to some of the artwork you loved http://juliewinter.wordpress.com Hope to in September for another lovely weekend. Julie and Ali x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Grazie Julie e Alistair per la bella vacanza! Great place for a family and total relax, beautiful surrounding, the farm animals and the amazing art!!! We will be back soon for more holiday experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Manager at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi there. I sure your beautiful family would love it at the moment with all the little ducklings that we are rearing. It would be great to see you soon. Best wishes for a great family summer, Julie and Ali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

david and lisa would like to thank julie ,alister and annie the puppy for there hospitality as we stayed here for our honeymoon its in a great location just to get away julie picked us at the train station and were soon made to feel part of the family when we arrive at the bed and breakfast i recommend any one want a visit to scotland visit here as the scenery here is breath taking and we are looking forward to visiting next year now

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david1973_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

We will look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that your honeymoon was such a special occasion.Best wishes for a very happy life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at The Doctors House in Afton Water, New Cumnock, for four nights bed and breakfast back in August 2012 Absolutely spot on , you get a good breakfast ,as much tea and toast as you want, and can get an evening meal at very reasonable cost.
Julie and Alistair are lovely people who are very helpful and try to accomadate all your needs. The rooms are nice, clean and tidy with tea/coffee making facilities, and you can come and go as you please.
Anyone who likes Art ,Painting, would love it as Julie is quite a good painter ,or if you like walking or just peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings the place is perfect.
All in all it was very good value for money and I would definitely stay there again.
Bob and Terry Thorne, DONCASTER.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure looking after you. As you mentioned, it is a great place to go walking and it would be great to be a base for small walking groups. We look forward to the next time you take a break in this lovely part of Scotland. Kindest regards Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Afton Water B&B / Art Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Water B&B / Art Experience

Address: Afton Road, New Cumnock KA18 4PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Cumnock
Price Range: €59 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julie and Alistair Winter offer you a warm welcome to this idyllic detached villa, which is set within half an acre of its own grounds with ample parking. Every guest room is dressed with original paintings and boasts beautiful views of rolling hills. Both the guest lounge and breakfast room also boast original paintings. We are well placed for attractions inc. Burns Corridor, the Ayrshire coast and Glasgow is only an hour away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing