We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Cumnock)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Railway Hotel(Auchinleck)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nithsdale Hotel(Sanquhar)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old School(New Cumnock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
40
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan art gallerywarm welcomelarge bathroomalistairlabradorayrshirewedding
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed such a wonderful weekend with Julie and Alistair and dog Anne such fun I had playing with Anne and enjoyed spending quality time socializing with Julie and Alistair such friendly outgoing couple and are for sure my extended family live staying here and can't wait to come back soon

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heather m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Manager at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We certainly enjoyed your company. It is just like looking after family. Here is a link to some of the artwork you loved http://juliewinter.wordpress.com Hope to in September for another lovely weekend. Julie and Ali x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Grazie Julie e Alistair per la bella vacanza! Great place for a family and total relax, beautiful surrounding, the farm animals and the amazing art!!! We will be back soon for more holiday experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Manager at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi there. I sure your beautiful family would love it at the moment with all the little ducklings that we are rearing. It would be great to see you soon. Best wishes for a great family summer, Julie and Ali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

david and lisa would like to thank julie ,alister and annie the puppy for there hospitality as we stayed here for our honeymoon its in a great location just to get away julie picked us at the train station and were soon made to feel part of the family when we arrive at the bed and breakfast i recommend any one want a visit to scotland visit here as the scenery here is breath taking and we are looking forward to visiting next year now

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david1973_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

We will look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that your honeymoon was such a special occasion.Best wishes for a very happy life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at The Doctors House in Afton Water, New Cumnock, for four nights bed and breakfast back in August 2012 Absolutely spot on , you get a good breakfast ,as much tea and toast as you want, and can get an evening meal at very reasonable cost.
Julie and Alistair are lovely people who are very helpful and try to accomadate all your needs. The rooms are nice, clean and tidy with tea/coffee making facilities, and you can come and go as you please.
Anyone who likes Art ,Painting, would love it as Julie is quite a good painter ,or if you like walking or just peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings the place is perfect.
All in all it was very good value for money and I would definitely stay there again.
Bob and Terry Thorne, DONCASTER.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure looking after you. As you mentioned, it is a great place to go walking and it would be great to be a base for small walking groups. We look forward to the next time you take a break in this lovely part of Scotland. Kindest regards Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

stopped here a few nights last august 2012 on a fishing trip,you could not meet two friendlier people than julie and alistair,they let you treat it as your own home,clean and tidy,the views of surrounding hills and countryside are unbelievable,would not hesitate to return,ideal for fising trips ,rambling or just to chill out in peace and quite.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for your wonderfully positive review. Your remarks about the homelyness of Afton Water B&B are very sweet. We are thrilled that your fishing trip was a success and look forward to your fishermen's tales on your return trip. Maybe you could get a fishing permit for Afton Reservoir next time, I know the scenery up there is breathtaking and you would love it. Kindest regards Julie & Ali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews