We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“break with wife”
Review of The Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Heights Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great location but the management doesnt give it justice the room that i had needs a GOOD air as it had a old smell the room was clean
the postcard had NO picture of the hotel and the other products have no NICE picture of the hotel as it is a nice on the hill hotel
the food is very good and staff very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: nice little sitting area out side some of the rooms
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theheightsportland, Guest Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, it was great to meet you. Thanks for staying with us. We certainly hope you'll stay with us again soon. Don't forget - the best rates are always available when booked direct! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for The Heights Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

There always seems to be plenty of parking. I've stayed here a few times now and the staff have always been polite and helpful. However, somehow the name on my booking always seems to be wrong? (Company booked)

The first time I was in a single room that smelt of damp dogs. My most recent visits the rooms have smelt much fresher and been clean. The bed was average if slightly bouncy and lumpy - certainly not Hypnos beds!

Upon arrival it's as case of hunt the kettle and toiletries! See the hiding places in the pictures below! I liked the little sewing kit and a bottle of water in the room but would be better if the water was cold and wasn't £1 for any extras !

The rooms are a fair size with plenty of storage although very tired and dated. It's pot luck on the view front! Some rooms have amazing views out to sea or over a lovely courtyard with artwork. Whilst other rooms have a view of old tires!

I had good internet in my room which was close to the main reception. However I overheard some guests saying they had no wifi so they had to come to the restaurant/bar/bistro to get internet - so I guess they were further away.

There is a gym but I've not managed to try it out so maybe I'll get a chance in the not too distance future and add another review.

The view from the bistro is amazing and the staff have always be friendly and professional. The food is fine and I am have a few combinations of meal and drink that I can get with my £15 food allowance. I'm not a fan of the chip basket thing though!

Breakfast is basically a help yourself no frills buffet which seems to be well managed and kept hot and fresh.

Overall a pleasant stay and I'm happy to return. However the rooms could do with a refresh.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Flossyflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theheightsportland, Guest Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We always encourage guests to notify us of any concerns at the time of stay, to ensure that we have an opportunity to maximise guest comfort. WIFI carries throughout the entire hotel, and any instances in weakness can (usually) be swiftly rectified on notification. Thanks again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Heights soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Everyone will tell you that the views from the restaurant (sorry, bistro) are great. And that the views from the rooms are no (and this is true). But the staff are not particularly friendly and the various managers dress and act like warders from the prison and immigration removal centre up the road....

It is also true that the rooms are dated and expensive. The views from the restaurant are about the only thing worth mentioning about the restaurant (it's not a bistro). Breakfast was good, but wouldn't want to dine there otherwise.

You can get the views from multiple public viewpoints across the road, without staying at the hotel, The hotel itself is still living in the 1980's in so far as style and service is concerned - even though it plays on the 2012 Olympic sailing which was held in and around Portland Harbour. Really and truly, Portland and neighbouring Weymouth , apart from the immediate area of Weymouth Quayside, have absolutely nothing going for them these days. Both relics from the long gone era of traditional family beach holidays on the South coast

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theheightsportland, Guest Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we'd like to respond to some of your comments. Whilst the hotel was built a while ago, we have kept all facilities up to date. In fact, we have an ongoing programme of maintenance which helps ensure that this remains the case. We don't agree with your comments about our staff resembling prison workers, and pride ourselves on a professional appearance which is relevant for the department in which they work. Fortunately, your comments about the area of Weymouth & Portland having 'nothing going for them' are far from true. With so many places to visit on Portland, it is now a destination in its own right. There are three lighthouses, three museums, farms, wildlife centres, exhibitions, beaches, shops, nature reserves, cultural attractions and even a superb selection of Visitor Information available 365 days a year. What's more, with the other attractions coming soon, including Jurassica and MEMO to name just two, Portland will be undoubtedly on the world's stage once more! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We stayed in a deluxe room for two nights on a dinner, bed & breakfast package.
Our room was on the ground floor. There was no view (bit of back car park and another building) - but we were made aware of this on booking from the website, so we were not expecting any view from the room.
However, the views from the restaurant and grounds are stunning, and we enjoyed the day view, sunset view and night view from there!
We thought our deluxe room was excellent. It was spotlessly clean and well-equipped. (Ample wardrobe and storage space, comfortable and huge bed, tea and coffee making facilities, complementary mineral water provided and replenished, powerful shower, ample towels, lovely toiletries provided.) The only additional thing that may have been helpful would be a safe in the room.
Décor is a matter of personal taste, and I have seen some previous reviews ... But we thought it was absolutely fine and very pleasant!
The restaurant is relaxed rather than formal in style, and offers superb views. Dinner was excellent, and we enjoyed our three courses (particularly the seafood - starters with Portland crab, and 'catch of the day' main courses on both nights) and coffee, watching the sun go down.
Breakfast was average. (The coffee - from a machine - could be improved!)
Car parking seems ample. There is a small gift shop selection and a useful information room just off the reception area.
All the staff we encountered - at Reception, in the restaurant, and housekeeping - were always pleasant and helpful.
We would be very pleased to return here next time we want to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theheightsportland, Guest Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you for your comments, we truly appreciate your feedback. At The Heights we strive to exceed our guests' expectations, with your stay being no exception. We are delighted that your recent stay was an enjoyable one, and certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Be sure to call us for the best rates every time! Cheaper than on-line. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

we booked a 2 night stay to visit a friend who lives near to this. We booked a deluxe room with a bath, based on the view from the restaurant photos. Boy could I have been more wrong! The B and B has a large easy to access carpark. Reception was open plan and modern. Staff were helpful.
As soon as we go to the 1st floor corridor, I was concerned as it was dark, and completely devoid of pictures or paintings. The doors were dark brown.
The room was BAD! Small, full of very dark brown furniture, small shower room and no view of the sea.
We were then moved to a room with a bath. See attached photos. We paid for a deluxe room but all we got was a room that was very old, dated, with a terrible bathroom. The furniture was very cheap, flimsy and very dark brown. Old fashioned curtains, a view of a concrete shed and you need bino's to get a glimps of the sea.
The bathroom is a joke! 1970;s. Very old and dated. The bath was small and full of chips and dents. No loo brush. If you need the use of it, you have to phone reception, who then get a cleaner to come in and clean your marks!"
The mugs are small, and we only had 1 packet of biscuits in a "Deluxe" room. There was no lights bulb in one of the bedside lights, sweet wrappers in the bin.
We have stayed in travel lodges, Great western hotels for £90 cheaper and of a much much higher standard. We have stayed in a Laura Ashley hotel for £40 cheaper and it WAS a modern deluxe hotel.
On a plus side the breakfast was good and the view from the restaurant is excellent.
Would I stay there again? NO!!
Would I recommend friends to stay? NO!!
It is a very basic B & B. Which falls very short of having deluxe rooms. I have given the management an email last week before I posted this about our poor stay. They dismissed it and offered us a free meal, if we stayed again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank n0rseman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theheightsportland, Guest Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We'd like to respond to some of your comments.

We are sorry that you felt your email to us was dismissed. We feel that we have certainly answered your complaint, and would like to publish our response that we sent to you, for the benefit of future guests:

Whilst the hotel was indeed constructed a while ago, we are proud to have kept all facilities up to date. We don't agree with your comment about the hotel being a B&B. At The Heights, we strive to exceed our guests' expectations. In order to do this, we rely on guests notifying us of any concerns at the time of stay, to enable a swift resolution.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your first room, but pleased that you offered us an opportunity to rectify this for you, with the offer of an alternative. This is something we couldn't see any mention of in your TripAdvisor review, so thought it important to advise potential guests that this was something we did resolve for you.

Our spectacular view from the first floor (as you experienced) is available for all our guests, but sadly not available from the rooms. Nor do we advertise as having rooms with views.

We appreciate that all tastes in décor and furnishings differ, so striking a balance for this is often difficult. However, we have a constant rolling programme of upgrades and improvements and will consider your comments to accommodate some of your suggestions for the future.

The rates charged for accommodation are always in-line with the local area and season, we believe we offer good value for money on this basis.

We are delighted that you enjoyed breakfast, with the breath-taking view to wake up with, there’s no better place to enjoy it.

Thank you for taking the time to write to us with your concerns, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Thanks again for staying at The Heights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
7.5 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
10.4 km away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
655 reviews
9.2 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
16.6 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
33.5 km away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range: €116 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. 5 miles from the seaside town of Weymouth. 66 en suite bedrooms with a choice of Classic or Deluxe. Family rooms and easy access rooms available. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing