We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely idillic cottage, surrounded by countryside”

Review of Eagles Nest

Eagles Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eagles Nest
Entrance Hall Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Eagles Nest
Entrance Hall
Sitting Room
Sitting Room with inglenook fireplace and wood burner
Kitchen & Dining Area
Dining Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom with ensuite
Bathroom
Bedroom
Eagles Nest
Hot tub and patio area
Eagles Nest
Games Room
Well
Outside dining area with hot tub
Eagles Nest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
simon f
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely idillic cottage, surrounded by countryside”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Had an excellent stay at Eagles Nest. All of the rooms are really nice. It was great to find a house that had 2 en-suites, and a family bathroom.
The cottage is exactly what comes to mind when you think of a cottage in the country, thatched roof etc. Yet it is light and airy inside, unlike some that can be a little dark and dingy. The hot tub and games room really push this cottage above the competition as there is always something to do if the weather isnt so good. The surrounding walks are great, plenty of places to explore without using the car. But a 10 minute drive brings you to Eype which is well worth a visit.
We stayed at Eagles Nest for a week, but easily could have stayed for 2. There is so much to see and do in the local area, but it is hard to drag yourself away from such a well equiped cottage.
We were all very sad to leave, and Eagles Nest is one of the few places that we will return to.

Particular plus points over other places we have stayed are:
No deposit to pay (so no chasing to get this paid back to you at the end)
Key code at door (you turn up and let yourself in - truly feels like arriving at your own house).
Best mattresses ever stayed on away from home.
Easy online booking system.
Hot Tub & games room

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: countryside location, beautiful cottage.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3Duckling...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in stunning secluded location.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This cottage was the perfect property for a peaceful, relaxing holiday for our extended family. It is spacious and tastefully finished to a high specification. We had glorious weather, so appreciated the beautiful garden with unbroken views of the surrounding countryside. We enjoyed having BBQs and eating outdoors and our children (9,13 & 15 years old) were happy and entertained with the table tennis, outdoor games and the hot tub.
During out stay we visited several of the local beaches and liked the close proximity of the property to all the amenities we needed.
A wonderful holiday for us, our children and their Grandparents!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion, privacy and views.
Liked least: Not enough sandy beaches.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend:-)”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We all had another fantastic weekend at 'Eagles Nest'. The weather was perfect, the cottage was stunning, so relaxing. A weekend filled with fun, relaxation and laughter. Ideal for our dog too as it is so safe:-) Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: need parasol in garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REYNOLNH
uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful country treat for walking and chilling out”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Eagles Nest is a lovey country cottage, well renovated to a high standard, the Kitchen recently so id well fitted and good to cook in. Beds were very large and comfortable. The wood burner a great boon even in May! Generally a good standard, one or two touches short with some furnishings a little tried but it fits in with the cottage feel. The en-suit and bath rooms nice, even if the basins are small, and in our en-suit, the lights had been wired so you could not switch off the fan separately and the mirror light on without the fan and main light! a small thing but irritating. We had a lovely stay with all the family, plenty of room for 3 couples and a 3 month old baby. We stayed in most nights and the garden, hot tub and the large HD TV were great for watching DVD’s. It Cottage is fairly isolated down very narrow roads and a good 30 minute walk on the across the hills on the footpaths to Symondsbury and a 15 minute by cycle on the road again a very big hill to climb both ways, fine with the car and only about 10 minutes to Bridport which is a very nice county town and close to all the fantastic coast and beaches in the nearby West bay, Seatown, and Hive Beach. We also spent a happy morning on the Brewery tour at Palmers in Bridport.
We also used the extra’s the Holistic Massage services, from Belinda Silcox, which was very good, also the come-in caterers one night, Dorset Fine Dining, for a Birthday Party, superb food and service. Thanks to Nick Holt and his assistant Georgia who setup and waited brilliantly, it made my Wife’s 60th birthday perfect with no hassle and washing up (that is for the rest of the party, to be clear).
We would recommend the Eagles Nest, and the estate have other properties closer to Symondsbury and Bridport and if they match the Eagles Nest then will be very good

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The who;e place is special!
Liked least: Walking over the hill to the Pub
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful secluded cottage perfect for a relaxing getaway with friends and family”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

A group of six friends joined for a reunion at this beautiful thatched cottage. We were greeted by an 'arrival pack' with thoughtful items such as milk, bread, eggs, cereal. The accommodation was clean, well equipt and beautifully furnished to a high standard. The hot tub was fantastic and a great addition to the stay as was the log fire, trampoline and games room. All the staff made organising this trip very straightforward and I will be looking to stay at this or another Symondsbury estate holiday let in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, high standard of accommodation, hot tub and outside space!
Liked least: The mattresses were very soft
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing