We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Surf lesson with Lil

A big thanks to Lil our instructor today. She tailored the lesson perfectly to each of us (2 adults... read more

Reviewed yesterday
lisalR7579ET
Family surf lesson with Jasmine

Private family surf lesson today with Jasmine. She was amazing, what a great instructor. The surf... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
P2781EBlisal
Read all 155 reviews
  
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
155
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
155
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great kit great teacher photos taken wet suits beach shop family lesson woolacombe beach enrique wetsuits instructor waves session teaching burnie 2hr lockers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2020

Had two surf lessons with Ed and Enrique and had a brilliant time. They demystified surfing for two newbies and were fun and friendly. We'll be back!

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank Vivienne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020 via mobile

A great surf shop with lovely staff who made us feel welcome from the very start. Bucky even managed to find a wet suit that fit my limber 6ft 4 inch frame.

Our surf instructor Jazz (which we later found out was short for Jasmine) was brilliant. She was informative and patient with us and managed to encourage nearly everyone into catching a wave. She was kind and caring with the one member of the group who failed to get up on his feet and allowed him to baptise himself in the waters of Poseidon.

In my eyes as a surf instructor Jazz is second to no one, not even the great Jazzy Jeff.

The group also felt the after care service we received when we arrived back at the shop was fantastic.

I’d throughly recommend using the shop for all your water sporting needs. The sausage rolls opposite the shop are also bangers, pun intended.

Date of experience: September 2020
2  Thank Hindecdool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2020

An awesome surf school with amazing staff, great kit, exceptional teaching and fabulous value. Now an annual event for our family hiring boards and surf lessons as the kids are absolutely hooked (and improving a lot faster than their dad)!

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank goodaswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkB11097, Owner at Hunter Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely comment, we are glad you loved your lesson! Looking forward to seeing you guys again! Team Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020

One word : Awesome. We had a private family session booked with with Hunters on Friday 14 August. We were a group of 5, 2 adults and 3 kids aged 9, 7 and 5. None of us had ever tired surfing.

From the moment we arrived, Buckie and team made us feel fell welcome and at home. There was a friendly atmosphere which added to the experience. We were issued wetsuits and given space to change into them, and a locker to store our items whilst we surfed.

We had Olivia as our instructor, and she was outstanding. The kids were engaged and had fun, and she had us in the water in no time having briefed on the beach. We all managed to catch some waves, and the kids took to it like a duck to water. She had them confident and on their feet on the boards in no time. Hats off to her!

We also had photos taken by George, and we loved them so much, we bought them all! Lasting memory of a truly great day out.

When we booked, we were apprehensive that 2 hours would be too long and the kids would get bored, but nothing was further from the truth. It was a blast from start to finish, and we would highly recommend anyone in the area to give it a go! Come rain or shine, don't worry, you will have a blast!

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Jat_Hanspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2020

These are the good guys. We bought wet suits from the Beach shop and the help and generosity of the business owner was amazing. Support these people we cannot afford to lose them. We will be back soon and make sure we recommend, buy and rent from you again. The boys are looking forward to trying Surfschool as soon as we can come back. We hope you do great you deserve it. Very happy customer.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank 649calvinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkB11097, Manager at Hunter Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Thanks for your comments, means a lot to us! Buckie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews