We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great service shocking!!”
Review of The Captains Table

The Captains Table
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: CAF'E / RESTAURANT, Serving Breakfasts , Lunches, Light Snack's , Cream tea's and Evening Meals served all day every day,Catering for Families to surfers. Child friendly, Group bookings available.
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

The food was lovely child’s portion is small but they are a child’s portion. The cod special was beautiful and the cream tea scones were the best!!!
We waited a while to be service then about 45 min for our food to come without knives and forks then had to ask two people for them to come. They service not enough cups for our cream tea then no milk. This place is totally disorganised looks as if underpaid staff run to the bone. The outside of the building is worse than the inside. The inside is a lovely sea front quirky place nice a clean. The front doesn’t do it justice.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Having walked passed and seen an attractive menu I filed the Table as a place to visit.

After being let down by another restaurant my wife went back to check it was dog friendly and to see if we could book a table. Yes it was dog friendly but you couldn’t book a table. Not a problem and she said we’d be back in 20-30 mins. Ok was the reply. Arrived 30 mins later to be told they were no longer serving!!!

Won’t be going back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Fantastic service & very tasty food.We had the Surfers Breakfast,Cottage pie with cheesy mash plus Pork Loin steak.Very good value for money,well worth a visit

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank KimRoyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We visited this restaurant yesterday, when we ordered the children’s food we asked for their side dishes to be on a separate plate, the waitress who didn’t smile once brought out the children’s food out with the side salad & peas on the same plate, I kindly asked her if she could either bring me another plate or bring them back on a separate plate, to which point she rolled her eyes and tutted.
I was furious and said to her in the middle of the restaurant do not roll your eyes at me, you are very rude and your customer service skills are atrocious, she didn’t even apologise until we asked her too.
I would definitely not visit this restaurant as we were made to feel very uncomfortable and unwelcome.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Camilla U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Very good food, service is quite slow though, but nice place to eat in general. Good view from restaurant of the sea

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Devonvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Captains Table also viewed

Woolacombe, Devon
Woolacombe, Devon
 
Woolacombe, Devon
Woolacombe, Devon
 

Been to The Captains Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing