We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house and gardens and so well equipped.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hill Green

Beautiful light kitchen dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful light kitchen dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Beautiful light kitchen dining area
Sitting room
The View of the front of the house
Kitchen
Double Room
Double Room
Twin Room
Bathroom
Shower room
Garden
Top of Garden
View from top of the garden
Woolacombe Beach
View across Woolacombe Beach
Horse riding on Woolacombe beach
Woolacombe Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kentpearl...
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely house and gardens and so well equipped.”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We just spent a week at Hill Green and it was the perfect base for a very comfortable self catering holiday. We were 5 adults and an 11 year old boy and we all said we would love to come back another time. The house was large and homely and so well equipped for a holiday letting, especially in terms of kitchen gadgets and children's entertainment. The garden is brilliant too as it has a lookout house with a great view across the bay and almost an entire children's playground with swings and a slide. It is all very steep though so you won't be able to see most of the garden if you are at all immobile (like my adult son who broke his leg a few weeks before coming!). We loved the whole kitchen/ patio area and the outside seating ( all on the level) and managed three excellent bbqs in the course of the week. The house is close to Woolacombe Bay and the town and is easily accessed by walking down the hill, although a small part of it has no pavement. There is plenty of parking for three cars. This house is ideal for two families with two children each as there are two double bedrooms and two large twin rooms, all with ensuite facilities of varying sorts. The only problem we had during the whole week was getting home! My tip would be to get up early to leave on the Friday morning as it took us over eight hours to get back to Kent when we left at 10am...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, comfortable and well equipped
Liked least: Getting out of the driveway on the bend in the road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princessc...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hillgreen, everything you could want and more from a holiday home from home...”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I would highly recommend this stunning property to any family or group of friends looking for a peaceful, beautifully presented and well equipped base for a holiday in North Devon.

6 adults and a 5 year old boy; each couple and child with their own ensuite double or twin room; spent a wonderful week in July 2013 at Hillgreen. The property provides for comfortable dining whether choosing a BBQ or a candlelit dinner inside and has a very exciting garden to explore, with amazing views for the young and young at heart.

There is an abundance of games and children's toys available as well as a Wii and adequate garden furniture for all.

The property is in close proximity to the stunning Woolacombe Beach and other activities such as horse riding and touring north Devon.

Fantastic holiday, thank you very much Holly. We hope to book again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debswoo
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic House, with amazing views of the bay and surrounding hills”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed there in April, with our two young children and found the house to be very well equiped for children (including high chair) and adults too! The house was very clean and very welcoming and would recommend this rental as a great place to stay in North Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelabel
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious house”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Myself, my partner, our 7 month old baby and my parents stayed here in September. We booked it as a last minute stay so only briefly researched the house and area. Therefore we were not sure totally what to expect but from the pictures the house looked lovely. When we arrived we were not disapointed at all. the house had 4 bedrooms. There was a double and a twin room each with a bathroom. Then another twin room and a double room with an adjoining shared bathroom. We used these two rooms so we could go through to our baby in the adjoining room easily. There were 2 living rooms downstairs, one for sitting, relaxing etc and the other had a TV and wii in it. There was also a dining room. The kitchen is a great size with a lvely wooden table and benches. There was also a seperate utility room with a washing machine in it. There was plently of storage room for everything and also a downstairs toilet.

The house was very clean and when we arrived the owner had left us some biscuits, tea and coffee which was nice. There were plently of plates etc and cooking pans and a big oven to use and a microwave.

We noticed that the shower we were using was dripping a lot and had a leak, we contacted the owner and this was fixed very quickly so that was very good.

The house itself was on a hill (obvious from the name ha ha) and a very short drive up to your parking spaces. Then some steps up to the house. The garden itself was beautiful and had amazing views. There was a lookout mini treehouse in the garden and tables/chairs and also play swings and slide for children. As the house is on a hill, the garden was quite steep though.

Overall the house and location were great and we were all sad to leave! The only thing that I would say to others thinking of staying is that it would probably not be suitable for anyone with walking disabilities or those in a wheelchair due to the steepness and the steps. Also the walk to the local town was down a steep hill on the main road or you could go a longer way down via a footpath/ country walk. This is fine for able bodied people but perhaps not suitable for people with walking problems. We had a pushchair with us and it was a little bit difficult to walk down due to the country paths and steepness but it would be fine if you have a sturdy pushchair or a sling. Or if you just wanted to drive down to the town.

Otherwise lovely house and a great stay! : )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!
Liked least: The steep walk down
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent; comfortable, spacious, great views and good location.”
Reviewed 13 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week with friends who have similar aged children, nine of us in total. There's plenty of living space for adults and kids, the sleeping arrangements worked well too with spacious comfortable bedrooms that are all ensuite. It's really well equipped; games for the kids, the Wii was great when it wasn't an outdoors day and the free WiFi was handy. It has a really well equipped modern kitchen and well thought out furnishing. We loved the views, the garden and the location just out of the town centre worked well for us. We'll definitely be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, home from home
Liked least: Nothing, really good stay.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$124
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing