We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to remember!”
Review of The Leaping Salmon

The Leaping Salmon
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Set on the edge of Dartmoor, the Leaping Salmon is a family owned village pub. Simple and carefully sourced food is available for lunch and dinner Tuesday - Sunday, alongside a range of local beers, ciders and spirits. Adjacent to the pub is a cafe, serving freshly baked bread, breakfasts, lunches, pastries, cream teas and coffees. Open Tuesday to Saturday, 10am to 4pm. Above the pub are three self-contained double ensuite rooms with views over the River Walkham, one of which can sleep up to 5 people. Direct walking and cycling access to Dartmoor. Sunday Lunch is served between 12pm and 3pm. Booking is recommended. The menu changes weekly. An upstairs dining room is available for larger parties on request.
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Just occasionally you have an eating experience which you remember for years to come. A 5Franc Relais Routier somewhere in the middle of France, a fish soup at The Fort overlooking Guincho beach. On Sunday at the Leaping Salmon it happened again. Six of us had what was quite simply a superb lunch. I had soused mackerel followed by slow roast shoulder of lamb. My wife started with pheasant terrine and my daughter, a vegan, had a cauliflower dish. I wont go into detail, suffice to say the whole thing was an utter joy. We shall return.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tomeastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Well how lucky are we, where else can you pop out for breakfast with superb coffee and lovely surroundings in this area, then slip through the door into the pub/dining area with a roaring log burner, fine local beers and spirits with a fantastic atmosphere - makes living in Horrabridge all of a sudden a true please again.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank JB5801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

Recently refurbished this is nothing like the old Leaping Salmon which sadly became shall we say a rather tired and grubby pub. It's very different. It's not your olde worlde country pub. The decor is minimalistic and fresh and the new owners have made a substantial investment in the renovation. Although it's now a 21st century pub it feels very comfortable, there is a nice atmosphere about the place.

If you like beer you are going to love the selection. Also the house wines are better than you might expect. Which brings me to the food. I liked their limited selection posted on slate boards. Everything fresh and local.....(and should you arrive later then they may have run out of certain items). It's not typical pub food, this is fine dining in Horrabridge.

Excellent service from the young staff. Got a feeling they are going to do very well.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

This pub has recently reopened, serving first class food, and a great atmosphere. It’s been a while since we enjoyed a meal out so much. Would thoroughly recommend

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank lynnsY8349UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Happened upon this place by chance today and what a find !!!!! Great atmosphere wonderful fresh produce who knew pickled tomatoes were a thing !!!!! Definitely will come back and will stay next time . Good luck with this new venture xxxx

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sallycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Leaping Salmon also viewed

Horrabridge, Dartmoor National Park
Walkhampton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Meavy, Dartmoor National Park
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Buckland Monachorum, Devon
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Leaping Salmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing