We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
253
48
24
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
253
48
24
0
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gidleigh park tasting menu michael caines exe estuary wine flight petit fours dining rooms new venture homemade biscuits fire pit estuary suite junior suite duck liver an aperitif amuse bouche a la carte menu faultless service
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment we entered the hotel the staff could not be more attentive. We were warmly greeted by the General Manager and staff. Our bags were swiftly taken to our Master Estuary Suite whilst we checked-in. We were personally shown the hotel facilities and taken to our room.There is a pantry for guests to help themselves to cake, biscuits and hot drinks, which was appreciated after a long journey. The gin tray in the room was a fantastic touch consisting of 2 different types of Williams gin - very nice. The rooms were beautiful and the bed was superbly comfortable. The view over the estuary was stunning. The dining was exceptional. We had the signature menu which ended with a theatrical chocolate white candle dessert - just fabulous. Our stay ended with a visit to the kitchen and the icing on the cake was to meet with Michael Caines himself -making our stay truly exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAP102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Joined friends for lunch here to celebrate a major birthday.
The hotel stands in a commanding position with stunning southwest views over the Exe Estuary towards Starcross.
This revue may seem over critical but for the prices charged I think that the experience should be as near perfection as possible.
It is obvious from driving in through the gate that one is entering an exceptional property. It’s a pity then that the drive has some big ruts in it (needs sorting before the winter!).
The main car park is some 70 yards walk from the hotel and the signposting is there but so discreet that one can miss it.
When one arrived at the hotel entrance, the welcome was warm and punctilious. We decided to forgo an aperitif and go straight to the dining room. There are 3 dining rooms at the property and today we were in one of the smaller rooms with 8 round tables in circular booths. 4 of these faced the window with lovely views and 4 faced the wall. Ours unfortunately faced the wall as the others were occupied. The room was decorated with a beautiful mural.
The winter lunch menu covers 3 options. There was a 2 course lunch at £39 pp, a 3 course at £49 pp or the signature a la carte at £125 pp. 3 of us chose the 3 course option and 1 the 2 course option.
We were served with an tasty amuse Bouche beautifully presented followed by a cup of an outstanding bisque. A high quality start to the proceedings. There was also an excellent basket of various home made breads which was left upon the table.
There was a choice of 3 starters - a terrine of Autumn Vegetables, Loch Duart Salmon and Quail Ravioli. The 3 main course choices were Wild Mushroom Risotto, Cornish Sea Bream and Dart Farm Rump of Beef. One chose the Salmon, one the Vegetable Terrine and 2 of asked if we could have the Main course risotto as a starter. This was agreed with no problem. All the starters were excellent particularly the risotto.
For mains, one of us chose the Sea Bream and three chose the beef which was served medium/ rare. We all thought the food was very good and of high quality. My criticism and the main reason why I deducted half a point was that in my opinion the dish was served warm and not hot. One other beef eater agreed with me and the other was happy so I appreciate that people have differing views on this subject.
Deserts offered were a Raspberry Soufflé, a chocolate tart and a Lemon Polenta Cake.
All three sweet eaters chose the Raspberry Soufflé which was judged a triumph.
The comprehensive wine list was very pricey so we chose wine by the glass at £13 for a 125 ml glass of a very nice Pouilly Fume, together with sparkling water.
Service was very ‘ fussy’ and traditional. The constituents of each dish were repeated upon arrival - surely as one ordered it one can remember what is in it? However they were very attentive and at no time did we feel rushed despite that fact that we were still at the table at 4.15 pm.
Tea and coffee and a selection of delicious petit fours at £8 pp ( with a chocolate Square with Happy Birthday printed on it) were served in the lounge by the fire.
A slight disappointment was that the establishment had been advised that this was a celebration of a very important birthday and we felt that a better table could have offered and maybe some other benefit? Nevertheless we all thought that it was a very high quality lunch well served in a beautiful setting - but it was not quite perfection. Lunch for 4 was in the region of £300 and for that price in South Devon it should be !

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mick B

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post a review, we do take all feedback seriously and in our strive for perfection we do indeed take all your points on board.

We are re-tarmacking the drive as and when we can to avoid disruption so hopefully this will be carried out in our closure during January, we never seem to have a quiet time to do these jobs!

We are pleased the for the most you enjoyed the whole experience but do be rest assured we desire the full 5 points next time so are always looking to be better where we can.

Kindest Regards Scott Andrews General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a family Sunday lunch at Limestone Manor.

We were warmly welcome on arrival, although early as the weather was terrible.
We thought we would enjoy the cosy lounge prior to lunch, and so we did.

The welcome, the service, the decor, was only surpassed by the nice flavours and presentation of the preparations.

The attention to detail in every aspect is enjoyable without being pompous.
A special place for precious happy moments.
Thank you to Mr Caines & his superb team.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Isabelle D

On behalf of Michael and all the team here at Lympstone Manor thank you so much for your extremely kind words, we are thrilled you enjoyed the whole experience.

We hope the memories will be with you for a long time but of course we would love to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards Scott Andrews General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having experienced Michael’s cooking at Gidleigh Park we were very excited to be visiting his hotel and eating his food again. We were not disappointed in anyway. The hotel is a delight with fantastic views and subtle, classy accommodation. Our evening meal was a delight, not over complicated but quality ingredients made prepared and cooked with excellence.
We had a great time and look forward to returning in the future

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear John Sr

We absolutely agree our location is stunning and we clearly know how lucky we are .

The great comments on our cuisine is also much appreciated, the team will take immense pride in reading your review.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post a review.


Kindest Regards Scott Andrews General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

As recipients of a Luncheon Gift Voucher, we enjoyed an excellent lunch in such stylish surroundings. The staff were attentive and professional and the food absolutely delicious - meticulously presented.
A first-class, memorable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Modigli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Modigli

It is always lovely to receive a gift voucher but more importantly we are so pleased to hear you had such a memorable experience with us.

Your kind comments are much appreciated.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Andrews General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews