We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Feature fireplace and countryside views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feature fireplace and countryside views
Victorian Terrace - 1st and 2nd floor apartment Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Feature fireplace and countryside views
Victorian Terrace - 1st and 2nd floor apartment
Master bedroom
Dining area
Countryside  views from the lounge
Family bathroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Family bedroom
Family bedroom
A wide  selection of board games for the whole family
Family bedroom
Daybed in family bedroom
View of the bay 2 minutes walk from Stones Throw
Another glorious view of the bay
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Breakfast bar in Kitchen
Kitchen with breakfast bar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pete w
Corsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great apartment”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a lovely big apartment with plenty of room and close to the beach. Good facilities and two toilets come in handy with kids. Thoroughly recommended!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MomDawn
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Warm, comfortable and cosy. A good base for discovering North Devon.”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This is a very comfortable and cosy property. As we arrived in the dark we had to walk along the road to identify the property as it is hard to identify but unloading wasn't a problem even with the stairs! The owners are one step ahead and supply a parking permit a nice surprise. The place is immaculate and there was an excellent small welcome pack to get us through the first day. The kitchen is well equipped and user friendly for family cooking, the beds are very comfortable as is the lounge. There is always a supply of hot water in the shower as it is electric - which really helps when you have a couple of teenagers in tow!! Where Stones Throw really shines is the amount of games in situ and also the information supplied about the surrounding area. Lastly, it was nice looking over the fields/hills opposite and watch pheasants, squirrels and foxes. I would recommend this as a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable.
Liked least: Getting confused by the location of the kitchen on above the lounge, near the bedrooms.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stones Throw is a superb place to stay, I can't wait to go back! It is extremely well cared for, tastefully furnished, cosy and very well equipped. It really does have that comfortable homely feel to it. All the rooms are very spacious, and even if you are a large group, because of the split levels there is plenty of space, as you never feel on top of each other.
The location of it is ideal as the picturesque village of Combe Martin is only a couple of minutes walk, and it is ideally located for exploring the rest of this beautiful part of North Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cream teas in Woolacombe
Liked least: Leaving to go home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alievans8...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We look forward to going bac next year!”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We went to Combe Martin for Oct half term and had a great time. The house was lovely, very clean, comfortable, plenty of space and perfect for us as a family with all the equipment you would need. The house is set within a lovely little village with convenient parking near by. The children loved exploring the caves and there is a great fish and chip shop! There is so much to do close by that we barely scratched the surface so we look forward to returning next year to explore some more.

The owner was very quick to respond to questions in a friendly manner and all information provided was just what we needed. The house does contain lots of stairs but our 2 year old had no problem negotiating them all! Thank you for providing a lovely place for us to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Stones Throw.

We have enjoyed many great holidays and long weekends , exploring the North Devon coastline ,surrounding countryside and attractions, we love the area. It is an ideal holiday destination with something to suit all ages.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future should you decide to book with us again. Best Wishes Clare F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobie O
St. John's, Canada
1 review
“Impersonal Legalastic approach”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We booked this let at short notice, wishing to stay specificly in a property by the sea in this particular village, so the choice was limited.

I have acted as both a lessor and lesse of similar properties both in the UK and Canada I have never before been confroted by two five page documents, deliniating my responsibilitys including the nature of my travel insurance as a condition of booking.
Nevertheless owing to the time constraints I agreed to book the accomadation.

Linens were advertised as being provided, it was therefore somewhat off-putting to be informed after payment in full had been made that it was necessary to carry bath towels, Bath mat! and dish towels 4500 kilometers, by plane train, and bus to the accomadation, and of course back.
I enquired about bus services and was assured these were good, however one route had been discontinued for the year, the other does not run on our booked date of departure.

The property has been recently restored and is as depicted in the advertisment, however anyone with physical limitations should be aware that multilevel is not an understatement, there is a flight of stairs between every part of the flat you might want to go to.
Those with a sensitivity to perfumes, should be aware of the 'deodorant' dispensers in every room.
D Openshaw

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Thank you for your feedback , we have no control over the booking process, this is organised and is standard for the agent through whom you booked.
I did recommend you check the bus service prior to booking to ensure it met your requirements.
If you had requested towels we could have arranged this for you.
Thank you for confirming the property is as depicted despite your poor review. In our description we clearly state bed linen is provided and the property is over 2 floors and not suitable for people who are unable to manage stairs.
Regarding the air fresheners - we have 7 rooms in the property and a large hallway of which only 3 rooms have a form of air freshener - both the bathroom and cloakroom and a reed diffuser in the lounge . All of which can be removed to a cupboard if they are not to our guests liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing