We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Master bedroom ensuite with roll top bath
Built in 1905, the beautiful Hall makes for the perfect holiday in Devon
Built in 1905, the beautiful Hall makes for the perfect holiday in Devon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Alan T
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have stayed in many excellent holiday rentals, but Blachford Hall is one of the best.

What sets it apart is the tremendous attention to detail. The kitchen is well equipped, not just with the headline things like cooker / microwave / dishwasher, but more importantly with all the little things that you need if you're actually cooking things. We appreciated the digital scales, whisks and baking pans, even though we didn't much cooking as there are so many excellent restaurants in the area.

There was a fault with the dishwasher, but instead of simply getting it repaired, we were told that it has been replaced.

All the equipment was of good quality and the beds were especially comfortable.

Ivybridge proved to be a great base for visiting Dartmoor, the South Hams and Cornwall and we enjoyed staying at Blachford Hall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail. Little things mean a lot.
Liked least: TV system was comprehensive, but not easy to understand for Luddites like me. Fortunately we were travelling with a 13 year old and she was able work it out.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you Alan for your comments, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Blachford Hall. There really is everything (and more) you need within the hall, and we agree, the location is great for exploring everything that the area has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really cosy, well equipped and in a perfect location”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Blatchford Hall. The manager was incredibly helpful and thoughtful and sent brilliant information in advance including comprehensive details of what was in the property and directions to get there.

The hall is really cosy, with beautiful original features including an amazing stained glass window in the master bedroom. The kitchen and bathrooms are very modern and really well equipped. The living areas are comfy and cosy with a massive TV, a wood burning stove, and books, games and DVDs to borrow.

It is a really great location - we did two walks up onto the moor direct from the hall with no need to drive. We also visited a lovely national trust property nearby which was just a short drive - and there were several other options we didn't get a chance to check out! There are also lots of places to buy food in Ivybridge, including a number of supermarkets that are open relatively late so self catering was really easy.

We hope to return at some point for longer - we were only there for three days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R N
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect South Devon Retreat”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

All you need is to arrive and enjoy it! Oh! You have to take your own clothes and shampoo! Everything was provided. We visited all the eating places specifically recommended and each venue matched the excellence of Blachford Hall.
No complaints, no negatives.....just wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Parking tight, but we always managed to find a space right in front of the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUG28
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolut wonderful ”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We - a family with two kids - stayed here for one week end July/early August. The one thing we regret the most is: it was only one week. The place is awesome. It is super well equipped, all what you need is here, very modern. There is a lot of space, very good sleeping rooms, bathrooms are super modern. During night time it is very quiet here. At daytimes there is a bit of traffic passing by but not too much.
We can very much recommend the hiking tour into Dartmoor as described in one of the flyers available in the house. There are a lot of ideas for activities in the area provided.
The owners are super helpful, friendly and make you feel very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Blachford Hall and that the property worked well for your access on to the Moor. You'll have to make it two weeks next time! Thank you again, Moor to Sea Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SgtMilsie
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Blanchford Hall has been delightfully and thoroughly renovated in to a wonderful retreat. The wood-burning stove, the open plan living space and modern master bedroom suite made the hall a relaxing and generous space for our whole family to enjoy. All facilities were excellent and the service from MoreToSeaHomes was exceptional. We would thoroughly recommend a visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased the hall worked out so well for your young family, and that you enjoyed everything the hall has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$163
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing