We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Park Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A lovely time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Spent 2 great nights at the Sandy Park Inn. This pub has a warm feel and the room we stayed in was perfect for our needs. The location makes Dartmoor really accessible, with a lovely riverside walk just steps from the inn itself.

We stayed in room 4 which has its own en suite bathroom and was on the backside of the establishment. We couldn't hear any pub noise, and while we could hear the nearby road, we weren't bothered by it. Parking was easy and available on and around the inn grounds.

The owners are quite nice. The Rick Steves book mentions that the inn is owned by a "local bigwig", but that's no longer true. It's owned by family who run both the inn and kitchen.

We arrived on a Sunday and the owner made sure there was a dinner saved for us since it was off-season and many places would be closed. She also made a great recommendation for the Ring of Bells for dinner the next night just down the road in North Bovey.

The wifi worked really well and we were happy to see there wasn't a TV in sight, even in the pub. So many pubs have become overrun with noise and sports - Sandy Park retains a friendly, old fashioned pub atmosphere. Locals made us feel at home as we chatted about travel over our pints.

Breakfast was substantial and filled us up for our daily hikes through the moors.

If we're in the area again we'd happily stay at Sandy Park. It's a simple, cozy place and made us feel perfectly at home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LagunaGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    24
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
44
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

My partner and I spent two fantastic nights at Sandy Park over NYE along with some old friends and a springer spaniel!

We were made to feel so welcome from beginning to end by Colin and the team. The pub is very picturesque and in a very idyllic setting. There is plenty of beautiful countryside nearby to explore and Castle Drago is within walking distance and worth a look. There is a great selection of beers and the food was superb. We had breakfast and dinner both days and lunch as well and were never left disappointed. The food was hearty and wholesome and it was obvious that it was all freshly prepared on the day. It really could not be faulted. NYE was great fun and the live acoustic bands were the perfect accompaniment.

We stayed in Room 3 which was very spacious and warm. It has an ensuite bath/shower. No TV which was a welcome surprise but there was a CD/Radio (only two volume settings mind, quiet and loud!). Tea, coffee and biscuits were also in the room. The free Wi-Fi was a bit hit and miss but by and large worked when needed. Not wishing to point out the obvious but the room is above the main bar so cannot be described as "quiet" however this was never an issue for us.

I would highly recommend Sandy Park Inn and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalinJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

After escaping from a bad hotel experience the night before (see review in Dolphin, Beer, Devon), we were at loose ends on our half-term holiday, and stumbled upon this place en route to Castle Drogo (which we never did see). What a find! Doggie was welcome, the room opened onto the garden in back, and the little pub was stuffed full of lovely friendly locals and interesting fellow-travellers. We had an excellent steak meal and yummy draughts from the taps and fell into peaceful slumber. The next morning I had a wonderful walk over fields , woods and streams with the dog, a lovely breakfast and were sent off by the owner who happened by to a local point of interest (Scorhill) on the moors. We shall return.

Room Tip: We only have experience of the dog-friendly rooms, both of which looked fine. Most rooms have privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zimagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Lovely pub, very friendly owners and staff, good food (breakfasts particularly spectacular!!!!), great selection of local beers and cider, comfortable rooms......Ideal for accessing the pleasures of Dartmoor

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here over the August bank holiday, having seen it in a "special places to stay" book about traditional pubs and inns. It certainly lived up to its review! The lady who runs the inn is very friendly and welcoming, the freshly cooked-to-order breakfast is delicious, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are a good size. There are some resident dogs, who are very friendly and who contribute to a lovely homely atmosphere (even for a "cat person" like me!). We didn’t eat dinner here as we had already booked some other local restaurants before we arrived, but the menu looked great; if only we had saved some room to try some!! We had our own bathroom, although it was not an ensuite. This was not a problem for us as we were thoughtfully placed on a corridor that only had our bedroom, our family members' room (an ensuite) and our bathroom on it. The parking on-site is limited, but we invariably managed to find a spot on the road outside.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
0.3 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.8 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
5.5 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
5.5 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.4 km away
Three Crowns Chagford
Three Crowns Chagford
#2 of 15 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Park Inn

Property: Sandy Park Inn
Address: Sandy Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sandy Park Hotel Chagford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing