We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend away with wonderful food”
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is mine and my partners favourite hotel, we have been back a few times & have been lucky enough to find deals on travel zoo for a few great value Romantic weekends away. We have had the taster menu, afternoon tea, hotel evening meals & breakfasts & it is one of our favourite places we have ever eaten, the food is delicious, the staff are very attentive and friendly & special touches in the rooms such as homemade biscuits, tea & coffee making facilities have added to extra special stays. We have also made us of the communal sitting room space with a lovely wood burner, bottle of wine and low lighting. The renovated rooms are lovely & every time we have been more and more upgrades to the building have been happening. We look forward to our next stay soon.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HLSiegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are very proud to be your favourite place to stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on a Travelzoo voucher which included the taster menu on the first night. We have had a few taster menus at various hotels and we both said that this one came top of our list. We decided on the matching wines which were very reasonably priced at £25 per person. All courses were beautifully cooked and presented and were delicious!
We had a junior suite and it was incredibly spacious with a lovely view over the gardens.
The staff, without exception, were friendly, approachable and efficient and made sure that all our needs were met.
The breakfasts were also great and set us up nicely for the day.
They had a bit of a disaster on our 2nd evening when there was a burst water main further up the road from them which cut off the mains supply to the hotel. Considering that this was a major disaster for a hotel the staff rallied round and kept the impact to guests to a minimum. The water was still off on the following morning so the staff had put bottles of drinking water outside everybody’s doors and were doing there best to supply water for other purposes to all the rooms - even though it had to be served on paper plates with plastic cutlery as they had no access to mains water. I think they all deserved a medal to provide such a good service in such adverse conditions.
Even with the water troubles we would have absolutely no hesitation in returning there again and recommending the hotel to friends and family

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Duffer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for both your kind words and understanding. It was indeed a tricky situation and I am very pleased the staff managed it so well. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This beautiful boutique hotel is amazing, this is the second time we’ve been here and it does not disappoint. The rooms are amazing and some have recently been overhauled some are on the list. The staff are brilliant and can’t do enough for you. The best best best thing about this hotel is the food OMG it’s amazing and why the chef doesn’t have a Michelin star is tragic. We had a 7 course taster menu, it was superb- highly recommended

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I enjoyed two very enjoyable evenings at this very nice hotel. We had the gourmet tasting menu on the first evening which was splendid. Breakfast again was first class with excellent service.
Our room was very well appointed and extremely comfortable.
An excellent location on Dartmoor with many beautiful walks within close proximity.
Certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sartom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You are very kind to leave such kind words thank you and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Mill End Hotel was a delightful surprise! Beautiful setting, well maintained gardens and internally recently refurbed with a mixed selection of high quality comfortable furniture & decor. Log burners a lovely welcome on a cold day but the hotel never felt cold. We'd booked a 2 day b&b deal with taster menu on the first night. We expected a compact room as we were taken up a small staircase towards the attic. As we opened the door to the 'Lemon' room we were blown away with its size, decor and gorgeous bathroom. Super warm but a quiet aircon if you needed it. Lovely views over the rear garden. High quality toiletries & well stocked complimentary teas & coffee...did I mention the yummy cookies too! The taster meal was gourmet standard and each course more than a 'taster'. Their chef & kitchen staff created visually beautiful tasting food. Breakfast was lovely, lots of selection & great quality. All the hotel staff offered a first class service & I can't compliment them highly enough. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rlk18mjk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraMillEndhotel, Front Office Manager at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the food and service we will pass your kind words on to the team. With regards to the room, Lemon is one of my favourite rooms as well! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
3.8 km away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,160 reviews
5.2 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,438 reviews
14.8 km away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 km away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
25.6 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
409 reviews
7.4 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: €113 - €264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing