We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
408
140
30
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
140
30
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boot room the river dog friendly hotel lovely hotel dog towels new owners castle drogo cream tea white company toiletries a ground floor room junior suite monkfish excellent food dog owners comfortable lounge dining room country hotel
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on a Travelzoo voucher which included the taster menu on the first night. We have had a few taster menus at various hotels and we both said that this one came top of our list. We decided on the matching wines which were very reasonably priced at £25 per person. All courses were beautifully cooked and presented and were delicious!
We had a junior suite and it was incredibly spacious with a lovely view over the gardens.
The staff, without exception, were friendly, approachable and efficient and made sure that all our needs were met.
The breakfasts were also great and set us up nicely for the day.
They had a bit of a disaster on our 2nd evening when there was a burst water main further up the road from them which cut off the mains supply to the hotel. Considering that this was a major disaster for a hotel the staff rallied round and kept the impact to guests to a minimum. The water was still off on the following morning so the staff had put bottles of drinking water outside everybody’s doors and were doing there best to supply water for other purposes to all the rooms - even though it had to be served on paper plates with plastic cutlery as they had no access to mains water. I think they all deserved a medal to provide such a good service in such adverse conditions.
Even with the water troubles we would have absolutely no hesitation in returning there again and recommending the hotel to friends and family

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Duffer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for both your kind words and understanding. It was indeed a tricky situation and I am very pleased the staff managed it so well. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

This beautiful boutique hotel is amazing, this is the second time we’ve been here and it does not disappoint. The rooms are amazing and some have recently been overhauled some are on the list. The staff are brilliant and can’t do enough for you. The best best best thing about this hotel is the food OMG it’s amazing and why the chef doesn’t have a Michelin star is tragic. We had a 7 course taster menu, it was superb- highly recommended

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

My wife and I enjoyed two very enjoyable evenings at this very nice hotel. We had the gourmet tasting menu on the first evening which was splendid. Breakfast again was first class with excellent service.
Our room was very well appointed and extremely comfortable.
An excellent location on Dartmoor with many beautiful walks within close proximity.
Certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

You are very kind to leave such kind words thank you and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Mill End Hotel was a delightful surprise! Beautiful setting, well maintained gardens and internally recently refurbed with a mixed selection of high quality comfortable furniture & decor. Log burners a lovely welcome on a cold day but the hotel never felt cold. We'd booked a 2 day b&b deal with taster menu on the first night. We expected a compact room as we were taken up a small staircase towards the attic. As we opened the door to the 'Lemon' room we were blown away with its size, decor and gorgeous bathroom. Super warm but a quiet aircon if you needed it. Lovely views over the rear garden. High quality toiletries & well stocked complimentary teas & coffee...did I mention the yummy cookies too! The taster meal was gourmet standard and each course more than a 'taster'. Their chef & kitchen staff created visually beautiful tasting food. Breakfast was lovely, lots of selection & great quality. All the hotel staff offered a first class service & I can't compliment them highly enough. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rlk18mjk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraMillEndhotel, Front Office Manager at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the food and service we will pass your kind words on to the team. With regards to the room, Lemon is one of my favourite rooms as well! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Had a lovely couple of days here, hotel was absolutely beautiful. Our room was a little bit basic but considering the offer price, was well worth it. The food was exceptional, we had the tasting gourmet dinner on our first evening, heavenly. Breakfast extremely good indeed. We made the mistake of having a cream tea in the afternoon, delicious scones, home-made jam and the biggest bowl of clotted cream ever seen!! Unfortunately that meant that in the evening neither of us could manage more than one course. We were offered an amuse bouche beforehand and then had the best meal we have ever had, monkfish with tempura prawns on a bed of spices puy lentils. I can't speak highly enough of that meal, best we have ever had anywhere in the west country. Our congratulations to the chef. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and we were made to feel so welcome. Looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 102mh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews